Freelancer for a decade, first fulltime dev job and need alot of advice! - Overclock.net - An Overclocking Community

Forum Jump: 

Freelancer for a decade, first fulltime dev job and need alot of advice!

post #1 of 7 (permalink) Old 09-21-2015, 12:33 AM - Thread Starter
New to Overclock.net

Rep: 317 (Unique: 244)
I have been a (mostly) website and graphic designer for a decade now freelance for clients I found and onboarded and all that. I am self taught and have had an incredible journey with my freelancing career, but now I have just finished my first week as a fulltime front end dev for a nice studio out of Vermont! Its an awesome and totally foreign feeling, for sure. So I need some help!

I more or less just have my PC, dying monitor, and a makeshift desk and some notebooks. Due to a fire that was a total loss a year or so ago, I need a whole new setup. From reference charts and books to my desk and keyboard/mouse and I need a double or triple monitor setup going asap. So I really need a whole new everything from top to bottom! I know this is alot of stuff to ask about and I dont really have an overall price or price for any of these, but they are all more or less need asap on some real level and I need to start sorting options and choosing things and planning prices and all that! biggrin.gif

-Desk [L shaped is all I desire, aside from decent price to quality.
-Chair
-Lighting
-Monitor mounts?
-Safe [to pile all the loots! FIRE RESISTANT!]
-Battery backup
-desk/office organization/structuring related

-2-3 monitors [For main PC set up]
-Laptop and/or tablet [for mobile coding/work]
-Network attached storage? [for backups of my clients,projects,work,etc]
-Portable hotspot or similar options [for net on the go from (almost) anywhere. current cell plan is capped at 10gb/month]
-keyboard(s)
-mice to try,
-cheap printer [with decent ratio of output black and white prints for the cost/ink?]