Does installing Office 2013 affect Visual Studio 2010 with Windows 8.1? - Overclock.net - An Overclocking Community

Forum Jump: 

Does installing Office 2013 affect Visual Studio 2010 with Windows 8.1?

 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 7 (permalink) Old 08-11-2016, 12:55 AM - Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Dec 2013
Posts: 1,986
This is for office development works and most of the programs we have created were done by Visual Studio 2010, we don't not have plan and man power to update the coding for latest Visual Studio. Thank you.
espn is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 7 (permalink) Old 08-11-2016, 01:05 AM
Not new to Overclock.net
 
TwoCables's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Minnesota
Posts: 77,823
Rep: 6214 (Unique: 3521)

I doubt you'll have problems. If you do, then you should be able to find compatibility downloads. Y'know?



Loneliness is a good thing to share with someone.

The virtuous spirit has no need for thankful approval, owning a certain conviction that what has been done is right.
CPU
i5-2500K @ 4.5GHz (1.368-1.384V fixed voltage)
Motherboard
ASUS P8P67 EVO B3 (UEFI ver. 1850)
GPU
MSI GTX 1070 Ti Gaming Titanium 8G
RAM
G.SKILL Ripjaws X 8GB (2 x 4GB) 1866MHz, CL9
Hard Drive
250 GB Samsung 840 EVO (OS)
Hard Drive
3 TB Toshiba P300 (D: drive)
Optical Drive
Samsung SH-S243N 24x DVD Burner
Optical Drive
Samsung SH-S203N 20X DVD Burner
Power Supply
Corsair RM550x
Cooling
Thermaltake Frio
Case
CM 690
Operating System
Windows 10 Home
Monitor
AOC G2460PG (24" 1920 x 1080 144Hz G-SYNC)
Keyboard
Filco Majestouch 104-key Cherry MX Blues w/NKRO
Mouse
Intellimouse Optical (1.1A) 1000Hz polling rate
Mousepad
It's just a mousepad
Audio
X-Fi Titanium HD
Audio
Klipsch ProMedia 2.1 (with 16 AWG Monster Cable speaker wires)
▲ hide details ▲
TwoCables is offline  
post #3 of 7 (permalink) Old 08-11-2016, 04:29 AM
New to Overclock.net
 
Mrzev's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Texas
Posts: 2,258
Rep: 96 (Unique: 76)
THis is the kinda stuff i had to do when i was at HP. I was in charge of the build systems and processes, and depending on how you define your libraries and such and change things. I strongly recomend testing it out obviously. Things to watch out for is installing a new .net framework on the system. If you install .net 4.5, it will actually overwrite some of the 4.0 libraries to 4.5. Its considered an in place upgrade.



Mrzev is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #4 of 7 (permalink) Old 08-11-2016, 06:12 AM - Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Dec 2013
Posts: 1,986
Quote:
Originally Posted by Mrzev View Post

THis is the kinda stuff i had to do when i was at HP. I was in charge of the build systems and processes, and depending on how you define your libraries and such and change things. I strongly recomend testing it out obviously. Things to watch out for is installing a new .net framework on the system. If you install .net 4.5, it will actually overwrite some of the 4.0 libraries to 4.5. Its considered an in place upgrade.

office 2013 may install latest .net and screw everything up?!
espn is offline  
post #5 of 7 (permalink) Old 08-13-2016, 07:30 PM
Linux Lobbyist
 
NeeqOne's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2015
Location: Buffalo Grove, IL
Posts: 624
Rep: 52 (Unique: 34)
Why don't you test the scenario in a virtual machine if possible?
NeeqOne is offline  
post #6 of 7 (permalink) Old 08-13-2016, 07:56 PM - Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Dec 2013
Posts: 1,986
Quote:
Originally Posted by NeeqOne View Post

Why don't you test the scenario in a virtual machine if possible?

many projects on hand and no vm under my control at all.
espn is offline  
post #7 of 7 (permalink) Old 08-17-2016, 04:50 AM
New to Overclock.net
 
Mrzev's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Texas
Posts: 2,258
Rep: 96 (Unique: 76)
Really, your best bet is to give it a shot and test it out. We had something like 30 projects with several releases for each one. I ended up having a server with several VMs on it. 3 Where the latest and greatest version of Visual Studio and .Net, and 1 with older versions because we did have older projects and branches that would have issues with the newer configs. When something new comes out, I create another VM and test it out. If everything builds and the code seems to run fine, I upgrade the 3 other VMs and delete my test VM.



Mrzev is offline  
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the Overclock.net - An Overclocking Community forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.
User Name:
If you do not want to register, fill this field only and the name will be used as user name for your post.
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.
Password:
Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.
Email Address:

Log-in



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off