Any programmers on a mac, here? - Overclock.net - An Overclocking Community

Forum Jump: 

Any programmers on a mac, here?

post #1 of 6 (permalink) Old 11-28-2016, 08:02 PM - Thread Starter
New to Overclock.net

Rep: 1 (Unique: 1)
Right now I'm trying to learn some PHP, then back to html, CSS... maybe some others. But my main goal is to get into web dev, by being self taught, only on a hobby level for now.

Is a mac... more specifically a macbook air, a good computer for web developing? I'm thinking that I can get a used one for $400 off ebay, I found this one: http://www.ebay.com/itm/Apple-Macbook-Air-11-6-1-3-GHz-Core-i5-128-GB-SSD-4GB-RAM-Yosemite-MD711LL-A-/152233530373?hash=item2371d35405:g:Tw8AAOSwxg5X0HBg
Maybe have to replace the battery, maybe update to latest osx if I have to. But if the battery life is good enough and light enough to carry around, that's what I'm looking for. (Take it to work, to learn on, on breaks for now)

I've tried looking for new windows computers around this price, but I didn't really like any of them. I've also never really used a mac either. But have used a few different Linux and windows OS. I'm guessing I could also use it for school/college.

Do you think osx would be a good OS to learn PHP and other languages on? I've been doing a little bit of codecademy and TheNewBoston's youtube channel and have been wanting to get a book.

Thanks,
Higgins909
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 6 (permalink) Old 11-28-2016, 08:16 PM
New to Overclock.net

Rep: 36 (Unique: 35)
I don't really think it matters which platform you code on, especially simple web development. I suggest checking out Brackets, if you haven't already discovered it.

Existence is Resistance
The Ryzenator
(17 items)
Surface Book
(0 items)
CPU
ryzen 1800x
Motherboard
MSI Arctic Mortar b350
GPU
Gigabyte 1080 TI AORUS
RAM
G.Skill Trident Z RGB 3466 8GB x 2
Hard Drive
Samsung Evo 850 500GB
Hard Drive
Western Digital Black 3TB
Power Supply
Corsair RM850x
Cooling