AUTOEXEC.BAT file? - Overclock.net - An Overclocking Community

Forum Jump: 

AUTOEXEC.BAT file?

 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 8 (permalink) Old 12-04-2005, 11:18 AM - Thread Starter
New to Overclock.net
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 1,555
Rep: 67 (Unique: 55)
im trying to write something in python, but the command prompt doesnt recognize "python" to be a vaild command, which i need it to. i know what i have to do to make it work, which is add a line of code to the autoexec.bat file. but i dont know where this file is located. any help?

Mental is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 8 (permalink) Old 12-04-2005, 12:03 PM
New to Overclock.net
 
Ch13f121's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Columbus, OH
Posts: 4,063
Rep: 210 (Unique: 169)
well autoexec.bat is on old windows...I haven't seen one on xp. are you workin with 98 or 95 or something?

After all these years I still haven't come up with something worthwhile to put in this area.
Ch13f121 is offline  
post #3 of 8 (permalink) Old 12-04-2005, 12:11 PM
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Kansas City
Posts: 2,069
autoexec.bat is a DOS file on the root directory of the disk. C:\\> It's probably not there if you're running 2000 or XP. DOS won't accept anything as a "command" unless the file has an .exe .com or .bat extension.
Pinhead-227 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #4 of 8 (permalink) Old 12-04-2005, 02:09 PM - Thread Starter
New to Overclock.net
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 1,555
Rep: 67 (Unique: 55)
alright thanks. well i was using this little tutorial thing online to help me learn python. if you have the time could you take a look at it and help me out. from what i understand i should be able to type "python" into DOS and it will know to open the python interpreter, how am i supposed to be able to get it to do that then, or am i just completely wrong

Mental is offline  
post #5 of 8 (permalink) Old 12-04-2005, 02:48 PM - Thread Starter
New to Overclock.net
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 1,555
Rep: 67 (Unique: 55)
ok i kinda figured it out. but ive got another question. im using programmers notepad2 and im not completely sure how to save a program in it then go to python and execute it, any help?

Mental is offline  
post #6 of 8 (permalink) Old 12-05-2005, 04:47 AM
New to Overclock.net
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: @ home
Posts: 956
Rep: 40 (Unique: 33)
you realy need to use the regular notepad. or better yet go to run and type in Sysedit.exe

nayo_450 is offline  
post #7 of 8 (permalink) Old 12-05-2005, 01:06 PM - Thread Starter
New to Overclock.net
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 1,555
Rep: 67 (Unique: 55)
ok well how do i do that then?

Mental is offline  
post #8 of 8 (permalink) Old 12-06-2005, 08:33 AM
Retired Staff
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 573
Rep: 85 (Unique: 64)
You would open a command line, navigate to the directory you saved your script, and then run "python".

Xaimus is offline  
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the Overclock.net - An Overclocking Community forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.
User Name:
If you do not want to register, fill this field only and the name will be used as user name for your post.
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.
Password:
Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.
Email Address:

Log-in



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off