A newbie with a x5650 - Overclock.net - An Overclocking Community

Forum Jump: 

A newbie with a x5650

 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 10 (permalink) Old 09-16-2019, 09:53 AM - Thread Starter
New to Overclock.net
 
Join Date: Sep 2019
Posts: 4
Rep: 0
A newbie with a x5650

Hello yall,

i must say i am completley new to the OC stuff so bare with me here please.

Basically im tired of my CPU running on base clock of 2.67Ghz, because that bottlenecks me in some games (for example gta online) and would love to do something about it. I´ve tried to follow some online tutorials but i am just too scared to try out for myself (not like it`s a expensive CPU or anything its just that i would rather have someone that knows what he is doing help me)


Sooo specs would be:

Intel Xenon x5650 (bios sais unlocked)
MSI x58 Pro Motherboard
16 GB (mixed, all slots used)
Radeon RX 560 (running 2 monitors atm)
Sharkoon WPM Bronze (400 Watts,modular)

Running an air cooler i got of amazon, idling at 30 ish degrees

I think i am runnig an old CMOS Bios (sais trademark from 19somethingsomething to 2005)


Any help would be very, very appreciated ! !
scuub is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 10 (permalink) Old 09-16-2019, 10:39 AM
9 Cans of Ravioli
 
The Pook's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Posts: 16,715
Rep: 1094 (Unique: 634)
you can't be bothered to read a guide and ask questions about the things you're confused about?

Intel i9 9900K Coffee Lake @ X8 5309mhz (+47.5%)
AMD FX-8320 Vishera @ X4 5022mhz (+43.5%)
Intel i5 4690K Haswell @ X4 5013mhz (+43.2%)
AMD X4 960T Zosma @ X6 4870mhz (+62.3%)
Intel i7 6700 Skylake @ X4 4709mhz (+38.5%)
Intel i5 6400 Skylake @ X4 4588mhz (+69.9%)
2 OP pls nerf
(24 items)
NUC U
(10 items)
CPU
i9 9900K
Motherboard
AsRock Z390 Taichi
GPU
MSI GTX 1080 Ti
RAM
G.Skill DDR4 4133 32GB
Hard Drive
Mushkin Pilot NVMe 1TB
Hard Drive
HP EX950 NVMe 2TB
Hard Drive
Samsung 860 Evo 1TB
Hard Drive
Sandisk Ultra II 480GB SSD
Hard Drive
Toshiba X300 5TB
Hard Drive
Western Digital EZRZ 3TB
Power Supply
Seasonic Focus Plus Gold 750w
Cooling
Corsair H115i Pro
Case
Fractal Design Meshify S2
Operating System
Windows 10 Education x64
Monitor
Acer XF270HU
Monitor
Dell E2311H
Keyboard
CoolerMaster MasterKeys Pro S
Mouse
Logitech G502
Audio
SMSL SA50 + FiiO E10K
Audio
Micca RB42
Audio
Polk Audio PSW111
Audio
Philips Fidelio X2
Audio
Philips SHP9500S
Audio
Audio Technica ATH-M50X
CPU
i3 8109U
Motherboard
Intel NUC8i3BEH
GPU
Iris Plus 655
RAM
Kingston 8GB DDR4 2400
Hard Drive
Dierka K1 120GB
Hard Drive
ADATA SU800 128GB M.2
Operating System
Windows 10 Professional
Operating System
MX Linux
Keyboard
Rii RKM709 Wireless
Mouse
Logitech M510
CPU
i7 860
Motherboard
Advantech AIMB 280 ITX
GPU
EVGA GTX 950 2GB
RAM
Kingston 2GB DDR3 1333
Hard Drive
Seagate Momentus 2.5" 500GB
Hard Drive
Western Digital Blue 2.5" 320GB
Power Supply
Silverstone SFX-L Gold 500w
Cooling
Arctic Alpine 11 GT 2
Case
Silverstone Milo Z ML07B
Operating System
Windows XP x86 SP3
Keyboard
Velocifire TKL01 Outemu Browns
Mouse
Logitech M512
▲ hide details ▲


The Pook is offline  
post #3 of 10 (permalink) Old 09-16-2019, 11:14 AM
Programmer
 
trendy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: New Hampshire, United States
Posts: 2,865
Rep: 150 (Unique: 121)
If you're following a guide, you should stick to what it says unless you feel comfortable venturing outside the guidelines yourself. What guide have you tried to follow?
trendy is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #4 of 10 (permalink) Old 09-17-2019, 01:40 AM - Thread Starter
New to Overclock.net
 
Join Date: Sep 2019
Posts: 4
Rep: 0
Quote: Originally Posted by The Pook View Post
you can't be bothered to read a guide and ask questions about the things you're confused about?
Its not that i dont read gueds, i just couldnt find the right guide for my speciffic build, and when i tred to follow them, i doscovered i have an completley different bios than the most of the guides do, so the settings are different, and some even renamed/missing

Quote: Originally Posted by trendy View Post
If you're following a guide, you should stick to what it says unless you feel comfortable venturing outside the guidelines yourself. What guide have you tried to follow?
I tried to stick to a guide that was about well the x5650 in generall but the problem is that the cpu does not keep the base clock that i edit ( couldnt find the multiplier setting, so i couldnt change it(read above))

I´ve tried a couple of stuff yesterday, but nothing has worked, that´s why i reffered to forums and you guys.
scuub is offline  
post #5 of 10 (permalink) Old 09-17-2019, 02:59 AM
What should be here ?
 
huzzug's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Posts: 5,283
Rep: 358 (Unique: 256)
Quote: Originally Posted by scuub View Post
Hello yall,

i must say i am completley new to the OC stuff so bare with me here please.

Basically im tired of my CPU running on base clock of 2.67Ghz, because that bottlenecks me in some games (for example gta online) and would love to do something about it. I´ve tried to follow some online tutorials but i am just too scared to try out for myself (not like it`s a expensive CPU or anything its just that i would rather have someone that knows what he is doing help me)


Sooo specs would be:

Intel Xenon x5650 (bios sais unlocked)
MSI x58 Pro Motherboard
16 GB (mixed, all slots used)
Radeon RX 560 (running 2 monitors atm)
Sharkoon WPM Bronze (400 Watts,modular)

Running an air cooler i got of amazon, idling at 30 ish degrees

I think i am runnig an old CMOS Bios (sais trademark from 19somethingsomething to 2005)


Any help would be very, very appreciated ! !
You're going to have one hell of a headache from getting your system stable with that memory config and the power supply.

#2 their debt is insane, even for a "diverse field" company. They cannot even afford to service the debt maintenance let alone make an actual dent in the debt itself. - Internet Stranger
huzzug is online now  
post #6 of 10 (permalink) Old 09-17-2019, 04:25 AM
New to Overclock.net
 
Cloudforever's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: Kentucky
Posts: 1,263
Rep: 60 (Unique: 46)
Quote: Originally Posted by huzzug View Post
You're going to have one hell of a headache from getting your system stable with that memory config and the power supply.
this right there.

you're gonna need to swap a couple components before OCing. that's why they make kits lol.

you'll need to swap out that PSU with a 650W just on the safe side and get a Seasonic PSU gold standard at least

Cloudforever is offline  
post #7 of 10 (permalink) Old 09-17-2019, 10:01 AM - Thread Starter
New to Overclock.net
 
Join Date: Sep 2019
Posts: 4
Rep: 0
Quote: Originally Posted by huzzug View Post
You're going to have one hell of a headache from getting your system stable with that memory config and the power supply.
Well you might be right, but i am willing to try, atleast to get it to 3.~+ and i will be mega happy


Quote: Originally Posted by Cloudforever View Post
this right there.

you're gonna need to swap a couple components before OCing. that's why they make kits lol.

you'll need to swap out that PSU with a 650W just on the safe side and get a Seasonic PSU gold standard at least
yeah i might have to look into those (didn't know something like this existed), but as i mentioned above im not going for like a perfect OC, just a slight boost, with what i got right now, but judging by my trial and error, the one time i think it worked for me to actually get the base clock up, it didnt even post, so yeah i already can tell that huzzug over here is, unfortunately, right
scuub is offline  
post #8 of 10 (permalink) Old 09-22-2019, 04:35 AM
New to Overclock.net
 
Cloudforever's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: Kentucky
Posts: 1,263
Rep: 60 (Unique: 46)
Quote: Originally Posted by scuub View Post
Well you might be right, but i am willing to try, atleast to get it to 3.~+ and i will be mega happy




yeah i might have to look into those (didn't know something like this existed), but as i mentioned above im not going for like a perfect OC, just a slight boost, with what i got right now, but judging by my trial and error, the one time i think it worked for me to actually get the base clock up, it didnt even post, so yeah i already can tell that huzzug over here is, unfortunately, right
yeah, you'll see alot of instabilities that'll drive you nuts. aka headaches that'll make you go bonkers

Cloudforever is offline  
post #9 of 10 (permalink) Old 09-24-2019, 07:28 PM
RIP OCN
 
Join Date: Dec 2014
Posts: 599
Rep: 25 (Unique: 19)
Quick and dirty with that chip. If below does not run, try multiplier of 20.

set bclk to 200
set multiplier to 21
set vcore to 1.4
set qpi/vccio to 1.375

set ram to rated voltage
set ram freq to 1600mhz
set primary timings to ram specs.
anti-clockwize is offline  
post #10 of 10 (permalink) Old 09-28-2019, 03:09 AM - Thread Starter
New to Overclock.net
 
Join Date: Sep 2019
Posts: 4
Rep: 0
Quote: Originally Posted by anti-clockwize View Post
Quick and dirty with that chip. If below does not run, try multiplier of 20.

set bclk to 200
set multiplier to 21
set vcore to 1.4
set qpi/vccio to 1.375

set ram to rated voltage
set ram freq to 1600mhz
set primary timings to ram specs.
First of all I'm sorry I was gone for so long, just other stuff and I haven't had the time to try anything.


Unfortunate not I'm afraid, as I said I'm a complete noob and even by googling every option I had in my "cell menu" I couldn't find some of the things you said.


Now some new things I tried this morning:

Googled about those "OC switches" and tried them nothing worked plus a lot of people are hating on them and saying that it's not worth the hassle.

Tried removing some of my ram, that was just some random one ( removed 4 sticks, left 2 hyperx fury in there that should be running at base 1666 (appetantly they should be self boosting aswell) I think but the post and bios say they are at 1066??) (went from 16 to 8 gb now, not really a problem for me if I get the CPU to oc)




Attached is the post screen, paused, aswell as the whole "cell menu" in the bios" (the cpu vcore is changing on its own, which i would guess is **** for oc?

As the title said I'm a complete noob with this and just want to save some bucks from having to buy a newer cpu just so I could have some more speed
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	9FE5EB45-74C2-426A-98B0-04882A1A1EAA_1569665360077.jpeg
Views:	1
Size:	1.78 MB
ID:	298050  

Click image for larger version

Name:	9DA11A16-03E9-4AF8-8E43-DFEE400B6582_1569665371272.jpeg
Views:	1
Size:	2.39 MB
ID:	298052  

Click image for larger version

Name:	3342B340-AA26-4DD8-A68E-4D0E9DDB9A21_1569665383863.jpeg
Views:	1
Size:	2.61 MB
ID:	298054  

Click image for larger version

Name:	DA58311D-2E6F-4054-9302-73C7BECCB009_1569665407672.jpeg
Views:	1
Size:	2.68 MB
ID:	298058  

Click image for larger version

Name:	6A0D5DA1-C236-44DF-BB6B-7AA678CC60E1_1569665424302.jpeg
Views:	1
Size:	2.02 MB
ID:	298060  

scuub is offline  
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the Overclock.net - An Overclocking Community forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.
User Name:
If you do not want to register, fill this field only and the name will be used as user name for your post.
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.
Password:
Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.
Email Address:

Log-in



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off