The Definitive Super Pi Thread - Overclock.net - An Overclocking Community

Forum Jump: 

The Definitive Super Pi Thread

Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 30 (permalink) Old 06-06-2005, 10:54 PM - Thread Starter
Retired Staff
 
[PWN]Schubie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Ottawa, ON
Posts: 7,645
Rep: 266 (Unique: 199)
How many versions of Super Pi are there and what are the differences?

I've come across a few versions of Super Pi on the net and thought I'd share the answer that was bugging me till recently. Well there's a several modified versions out there that affect your score, usually in a good way. Many say (myself included) that there should only be one standardized version that way we can all bench our rigs at the same, fair level. I thought I'd share the different versions anyway so you guys can see how it affects your times. With the same settings at 2.8GHz I could not get under 30 seconds with the original version. With the SSE2 version I hit 29s and the SSE3 version I hit 28s both on the first try.

These are the five most common versions that I've come across:

1. Super Pi the original, standard version 1.1
2. Super Pi with the "1.4 mod" that displays your time in milliseconds
3. Super Pi with the "1.4 mod" that displays your time in milliseconds and checksum validation
4. Super Pi with SSE2 optimized patch
5. Super Pi with SSE3 optimized patch
6. Super Pi 1.5 mod with checksum validation here <-- Newest Official Version

Your best bet for a confirmed accurate score is if you use the v1.5 mod xs. This is the one used as a competitive standard.


Thank you to Transonic for the description of the differences between each.

post-flame-small.gifOverclock.net Downloads Sectionpost-flame-small.gif

Overclock.net Outdoors Thread



[PWN]Schubie is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 30 (permalink) Old 06-06-2005, 10:58 PM
Retired Staff
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Texas
Posts: 11,430
Rep: 1130 (Unique: 519)
Interesting... didn't know there were difference versions that used different instruction extensions. Bet the SSE3 versions works well on Prescotts too.

Heh, Computers... sozo.gif
I'm back, yo! Be gentle! biggrin.gif
YiffyGriffy is offline  
post #3 of 30 (permalink) Old 06-06-2005, 11:01 PM
New to Overclock.net
 
PCNerd's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Washington, DC
Posts: 3,855
Rep: 430 (Unique: 256)
I will try the SSE3 one now.

Here is a modded one so it displays "xx.xxx" seconds.

EDiT: Darn, you beat me to it Trans

PCNerd is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #4 of 30 (permalink) Old 06-06-2005, 11:10 PM
Retired Staff
 
Transonic's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: City of Angels
Posts: 8,207
Rep: 429 (Unique: 250)
Quote:
Originally Posted by YiffyGriffy
Interesting... didn't know there were difference versions that used different instruction extensions. Bet the SSE3 versions works well on Prescotts too.
Yeah I read something about Prescotts & Northwoods working better with whatever versions but I don't know my way around those processors.

btw, PCnerd that version you have was already included. xx.xxx = milliseconds ^


Transonic is offline  
post #5 of 30 (permalink) Old 06-06-2005, 11:10 PM
New to Overclock.net
 
PCNerd's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Washington, DC
Posts: 3,855
Rep: 430 (Unique: 256)
At 4.0Ghz with SSE3 SuperPI


PCNerd is offline  
post #6 of 30 (permalink) Old 06-06-2005, 11:12 PM
Retired Staff
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Texas
Posts: 11,430
Rep: 1130 (Unique: 519)
Quote:
Originally Posted by PCnerd
At 4.0Ghz with SSE3 SuperPI

Get an AMD

Heh, Computers... sozo.gif
I'm back, yo! Be gentle! biggrin.gif
YiffyGriffy is offline  
post #7 of 30 (permalink) Old 06-06-2005, 11:13 PM
New to Overclock.net
 
PCNerd's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Washington, DC
Posts: 3,855
Rep: 430 (Unique: 256)
Quote:
Originally Posted by YiffyGriffy
Get an AMD
Errm...I am still thinking about getting a 3500+ Venice

With normal SuperPI at 4.3Ghz, I got 30 seconds

PCNerd is offline  
post #8 of 30 (permalink) Old 06-06-2005, 11:15 PM
Retired Staff
 
Transonic's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: City of Angels
Posts: 8,207
Rep: 429 (Unique: 250)
Quote:
Originally Posted by YiffyGriffy
Get an AMD
PWN3D!!!!

2.8GHz = 28s
LL


Transonic is offline  
post #9 of 30 (permalink) Old 06-06-2005, 11:25 PM
Retired Staff
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Texas
Posts: 11,430
Rep: 1130 (Unique: 519)
I'd run mine (turned a 30s at 2750MHz), but I'm at stock and on stock heatsink, and I'm too lazy to switch back (My XP-120 seems to suck monkeys anyway..).

Heh, Computers... sozo.gif
I'm back, yo! Be gentle! biggrin.gif
YiffyGriffy is offline  
post #10 of 30 (permalink) Old 06-06-2005, 11:26 PM
New to Overclock.net
 
PCNerd's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Washington, DC
Posts: 3,855
Rep: 430 (Unique: 256)
If my TDX wasnt broken, you would have your arse own3d by now



Taken at 4.1Ghz on stock cooling

PCNerd is offline  
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the Overclock.net - An Overclocking Community forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.
User Name:
If you do not want to register, fill this field only and the name will be used as user name for your post.
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.
Password:
Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.
Email Address:

Log-in



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off