Need Help Upgrading FIL's Asus Laptop - Overclock.net - An Overclocking Community

Forum Jump: 

Need Help Upgrading FIL's Asus Laptop

 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 5 (permalink) Old 04-20-2019, 08:42 AM - Thread Starter
Filthy Casual
 
bajer29's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: Round on the End and High in the Middle
Posts: 2,923
Rep: 107 (Unique: 92)
Need Help Upgrading FIL's Asus Laptop

Hi all! I've been tasked with figuring out why my FIL's laptop is so slow. Long story short it's come down to CPU (i3 - can't really do anything about that), 4GB memory (want to upgrade to 8GB), and a crappy mech HDD (will upgrade to SSD).

His laptop is a X556UAM.

What I need help with is how do I clone the existing 1TB hard drive to a 240GB SSD? He's currently using only 48GB of his 1TB. What program (least expensive or free is preferred) should I use? Is it possible to clone storage from a larger drive to a smaller drive?

I'm fairly comfortable with upgrading laptops, but I've never cloned a drive before.

Any pointers or tips are appreciated. Thinks!

Xeno Storm V 1.2
(17 items)
CPU
i7 4790K (delidded)
Motherboard
GIGABYTE|GA-Z87X-D3H
GPU
EVGA 1080TI FTW3
RAM
4x4GB GSKILL @ 2133MHz
Hard Drive
WD 1002FAEX
Hard Drive
KINGSTON V300 120GB
Hard Drive
SanDisk Ultra Plus 128GB
Hard Drive
Samsung 850 EVO 500GB
Hard Drive
WD Green WD5000AADS
Power Supply
Corsair AX850
Cooling
Cryorig R1 Ultimate
Case
Phanteks Enthoo Pro M SE
Operating System
Windows 10 Enterprise
Monitor
Acer XB270HU Predator
Keyboard
E-Element Z-88 RGB
Mouse
Corsair M65
Audio
Logitech X230 2.1
▲ hide details ▲


bajer29 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 5 (permalink) Old 04-20-2019, 09:12 AM
Kill Confirmed
 
speed_demon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 1,118
Rep: 65 (Unique: 55)
You can use this free program to clone the 1TB drive onto a 240GB SSD - https://www.partitionwizard.com/

You will need either a free drive bay or a USB to SATA adapter.

I did the same thing on an ASUS K53TA. Worked great and was a breath of new life for an old laptop.


speed_demon is offline  
post #3 of 5 (permalink) Old 04-21-2019, 07:30 AM - Thread Starter
Filthy Casual
 
bajer29's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: Round on the End and High in the Middle
Posts: 2,923
Rep: 107 (Unique: 92)
Quote: Originally Posted by speed_demon View Post
You can use this free program to clone the 1TB drive onto a 240GB SSD - https://www.partitionwizard.com/

You will need either a free drive bay or a USB to SATA adapter.

I did the same thing on an ASUS K53TA. Worked great and was a breath of new life for an old laptop.
Awesome, thanks for the link! I do have a external SATA enclosure, so I should be golden. I just need to find it first...

Xeno Storm V 1.2
(17 items)
CPU
i7 4790K (delidded)
Motherboard
GIGABYTE|GA-Z87X-D3H
GPU
EVGA 1080TI FTW3
RAM
4x4GB GSKILL @ 2133MHz
Hard Drive
WD 1002FAEX
Hard Drive
KINGSTON V300 120GB
Hard Drive
SanDisk Ultra Plus 128GB
Hard Drive
Samsung 850 EVO 500GB
Hard Drive
WD Green WD5000AADS
Power Supply
Corsair AX850
Cooling
Cryorig R1 Ultimate
Case
Phanteks Enthoo Pro M SE
Operating System
Windows 10 Enterprise
Monitor
Acer XB270HU Predator
Keyboard
E-Element Z-88 RGB
Mouse
Corsair M65
Audio
Logitech X230 2.1
▲ hide details ▲


bajer29 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #4 of 5 (permalink) Old 04-21-2019, 08:41 AM
Overclocking Enthusiast
 
ozlay's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: USA
Posts: 5,415
Rep: 268 (Unique: 215)
Some ssd's come with software or have software you can download for doing that.

In Loving Memory Of Kassandra

Kaby
Rikka
(11 items)
CPU
Intel I5-7600k
Motherboard
Asrock Z270M Extreme 4
GPU
Titan X
GPU
Titan X
RAM
Galax HOF
Hard Drive
850 pro
Hard Drive
960 Pro
Hard Drive
970 Evo
Power Supply
Seasonic Prime Snow
Case
enthoo evolv matx tempered glass
Operating System
windows 10 pro
▲ hide details ▲
ozlay is offline  
post #5 of 5 (permalink) Old 04-25-2019, 04:48 PM - Thread Starter
Filthy Casual
 
bajer29's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: Round on the End and High in the Middle
Posts: 2,923
Rep: 107 (Unique: 92)
Alright, so I started cloning the HDD to SDD with with Partition Wizard like suggested, following all the steps correctly, but I get a "Failed to transfer a file" error and it stops at like 94%. My question is, do I need to run this in Safe Mode or anything? I didn't see anything anywhere on their support page about this error...

Xeno Storm V 1.2
(17 items)
CPU
i7 4790K (delidded)
Motherboard
GIGABYTE|GA-Z87X-D3H
GPU
EVGA 1080TI FTW3
RAM
4x4GB GSKILL @ 2133MHz
Hard Drive
WD 1002FAEX
Hard Drive
KINGSTON V300 120GB
Hard Drive
SanDisk Ultra Plus 128GB
Hard Drive
Samsung 850 EVO 500GB
Hard Drive
WD Green WD5000AADS
Power Supply
Corsair AX850
Cooling
Cryorig R1 Ultimate
Case
Phanteks Enthoo Pro M SE
Operating System
Windows 10 Enterprise
Monitor
Acer XB270HU Predator
Keyboard
E-Element Z-88 RGB
Mouse
Corsair M65
Audio
Logitech X230 2.1
▲ hide details ▲


bajer29 is offline  
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the Overclock.net - An Overclocking Community forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.
User Name:
If you do not want to register, fill this field only and the name will be used as user name for your post.
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.
Password:
Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.
Email Address:

Log-in



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off