Is possible to override Maximum Manufacture Memory - Overclock.net - An Overclocking Community
Forum Jump: 

Is possible to override Maximum Manufacture Memory

 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 8 (permalink) Old 02-21-2020, 12:52 AM - Thread Starter
New to Overclock.net
 
kooljeetsinngh's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Posts: 33
Rep: 0
Is possible to override Maximum Manufacture Memory

I own HP n208tx Laptop (Intel 4200U CPU ) with 4Gigs of Ram (DDR3 1600MHz) pre-Installed. I want to upgrade the memory to 16Gb (i.e 8x8 gb) as it has 1 unused slot.

On Intel's official website 4200U can support 16GB of max memory, but on HP's official site, n208tx can support 12gb of max manufactured memory.

So, I want to know if i can update to 16Gb or i should stick to 8GB for dual channel mode rather than 12Gb.

What would be the best RAM update configuration for this Laptop?
kooljeetsinngh is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 8 (permalink) Old 02-21-2020, 02:12 AM
Graphics Junkie
 
UltraMega's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2017
Location: USA
Posts: 1,850
Rep: 49 (Unique: 44)
I think if you put 16Gbs in there, it will still work with dual channel but probably only be able to use 12gbs.

4K Rig
(7 items)
CPU
Intel 7700k @4.2ghz
GPU
Zotec 1080 Ti
RAM
16GB 3200mhz DDR4
Hard Drive
250GB nvme + 500GB SSD + 4TB HDD
Monitor
Samsung 4K 65 inch TV
Monitor
Pixio PX276 27inch 144Hz 1ms 1440p
Audio
Sound Blaster z
▲ hide details ▲
UltraMega is offline  
post #3 of 8 (permalink) Old 02-21-2020, 02:58 AM - Thread Starter
New to Overclock.net
 
kooljeetsinngh's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Posts: 33
Rep: 0
I need to be sure before investing
kooljeetsinngh is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #4 of 8 (permalink) Old 02-21-2020, 12:12 PM
Graphics Junkie
 
UltraMega's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2017
Location: USA
Posts: 1,850
Rep: 49 (Unique: 44)
Quote: Originally Posted by kooljeetsinngh View Post
I need to be sure before investing
No one will be able to give you a concrete answer to this, it's too specific.

4K Rig
(7 items)
CPU
Intel 7700k @4.2ghz
GPU
Zotec 1080 Ti
RAM
16GB 3200mhz DDR4
Hard Drive
250GB nvme + 500GB SSD + 4TB HDD
Monitor
Samsung 4K 65 inch TV
Monitor
Pixio PX276 27inch 144Hz 1ms 1440p
Audio
Sound Blaster z
▲ hide details ▲
UltraMega is offline  
post #5 of 8 (permalink) Old 02-21-2020, 12:14 PM
What goes here?
 
speed_demon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Wisconsin
Posts: 2,248
Rep: 120 (Unique: 88)
Like ultra said above it's too specific to get the information you are looking for.

Are you willing to learn how to modify your own BIOS in the event only 12gb ends up being supported by default? It's no guarantee but you may be able to modify the firmware to allow for more memory to be usable.

Desktop
(11 items)
CPU
Celeron G3930 eXtra Slow Edition
Motherboard
Gigabyte Z270 Gaming K5
GPU
MSI R9 390
RAM
12GB DDR4-3000
Hard Drive
120GB HP M700 SSD
Hard Drive
Samsung Spintpoint M9T 2TB
Hard Drive
Seagate Barracuda 750GB
Power Supply
Corsair CX750M
Case
Fractal Define S
Keyboard
Alienware W/Cherry MX Switches
Mouse
Logitech G5 Gen.1
▲ hide details ▲


speed_demon is offline  
post #6 of 8 (permalink) Old 02-21-2020, 09:36 PM - Thread Starter
New to Overclock.net
 
kooljeetsinngh's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Posts: 33
Rep: 0
it is not stated in the BIOS, 12GB max memory is mentioned by the manufacture only. But Intel 4200U supports 16GB of max Memory.
I want to know what exactly is Maximum Manufacture memory vs the maximum supported memory? So that i can max it up to 16GB.
kooljeetsinngh is offline  
post #7 of 8 (permalink) Old 02-24-2020, 06:03 PM
New to Overclock.net
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: µcode
Posts: 755
Rep: 59 (Unique: 48)
ucode is offline  
post #8 of 8 (permalink) Old 02-24-2020, 06:34 PM
u broke 666 rep :(
 
skupples's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: Fort Lauderdale
Posts: 23,560
Rep: 682 (Unique: 362)
sure, if you're a l33t bios hacker.

for your situation, 12200025324% dual channel 8x8 for total of 16, to meet max. running in single channel would reduce potential max perf.

R.I.P. Zawarudo, may you OC angels' wings in heaven.
If something appears too good to be true, it probably is.
Best R0ach Quote of all time : TLDR: Haswell might be the last legit gaming platform unless mice get their own non-USB interface on some newer architecture.
KAIHL Switches < CHERRY Switches, 10/10, blind taste test @ work.
skupples is offline  
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the Overclock.net - An Overclocking Community forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.
User Name:
If you do not want to register, fill this field only and the name will be used as user name for your post.
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.
Password:
Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.
Email Address:

Log-in



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off