Silverstone Grandia GD0X Owner's Club - Page 44 - Overclock.net - An Overclocking Community

Forum Jump: 

Silverstone Grandia GD0X Owner's Club

Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #431 of 467 (permalink) Old 05-04-2018, 02:38 AM
New to Overclock.net
 
bonomork's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Posts: 113
Rep: 5 (Unique: 4)
Question RX 580 vs GD06

Will a Sapphire RX 580 Pulse fit in a GD06 case? VGA Dimension 230X125X40

GD06 Expansion card Compatible up to 11" (279mm) long, width restriction-4.92" (124mm)

Bono2018
(12 items)
CPU
R7 2700X
Motherboard
ASUS Crosshair VII
GPU
ASUS Strix 1080Ti OC
RAM
G. Skill Tridentz RGB Series - AMD Edition F4-3200c14d-16gtzrx
Hard Drive
Samsung MZ-V7P512BW SSD 970 PRO 512 GB, M.2, NVMe
Hard Drive
Samsung MZ-76E1T0B SSD 860 EVO, 1 TB , 2.5" SATA III
Hard Drive
Samsung MZ-76E1T0B SSD 860 EVO, 1 TB , 2.5" SATA III
Power Supply
Seasonic 850W Prime Platinum
Cooling
CORSAIR H150i Pro RGB
Case
Phanteks Evolv X
Monitor
LG 34UC88
Audio
Mackie CR3
▲ hide details ▲

Last edited by bonomork; 05-07-2018 at 12:42 AM.
bonomork is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #432 of 467 (permalink) Old 08-06-2018, 08:51 PM
New to Overclock.net
 
Join Date: Aug 2018
Posts: 6
Rep: 0
Just wanted to add that the DeepCool captain 120ex aio will fit (GD09b)- the tubes are long enough to reach the cpu without issue as I know this is a concern with a lot of the 120mm aios. I went aio as the stock cooler was loud under load and I had to modify the drive cage to fit it, so I figured an aio would be better than trying to find a good air cooler that would fit, plus it can draw cool air directly from outside the case where an air cooler would be pulling in warm air.

My antec modular psu would not allow the fan to be mounted in a push configuration as the psu connectors would hit the rad tank, but it fits in pull configuration with the rad against the side of the case. I have it cooling an r7 2700x in an asus crosshair vi hero. With pbod set to level 4oc and a negative voltage offset of -.05, I get around 4.2ghz all core and 4.325ghz single core with peak temps around 78C. With 0 offset it will run 4.275ghz all core and 4.35 single, but temps hit 84C so I backed it down slightly. 4.2ghz is a healthy 225mhz higher than the stock cooler could do all core and with significantly less noise. With 2 120mm fans blowing directly on ram and vrms, the rest of the system stays cool and has plenty of air moving around. The system is quiet unless it sees a multi core load, then you can hear the rad fan spin up, but it's not loud, and it doesn't spin up enough to be audible under lightly threaded loads (like some games).

Running 2x8gb corsair LPX3000c15, zotac gtx1080, bd writer and intel 600p 512gb nvme with a 1TB spinner. It's a great, compact system that runs my man cave - drives an Optoma hd27 projector and oculus rift and serves up media to other devices. I also do some streaming, data analysis, ml etc, so a lot more than just htpc duty.
Bobzdar is offline  
post #433 of 467 (permalink) Old 08-14-2018, 05:44 AM
Linux Lobbyist
 
Join Date: Aug 2018
Posts: 1
Rep: 0
Hi, I have a GD09 that I'm using as an HTPC, no gaming, so I'm guessing that I need not worry about overheating. I've been running 2 x 120mm intake fans on the CPU side ever since I built my box. I've had reason to take it out of the cabinet because one of the fans started buzzing a bit. Getting the lid off I'm a little perturbed about the amount of dust inside, so I'm looking to revisit the airflow situation to resolve that. How do I best get dust bearing air out of the case? I do clean the filters occasionally, but I always notice that there is rather more dust on the bars of the case than there is on the filter itself, which just goes to show how much is getting through the mesh and into the works.

My first thought was to take off the filter on the PSU side and have a fan on there blowing out. However I have a centre speaker next to the PC box and there's not a lot of clearance on that side - 1-2 cm - will this carry any dust out? I would have thought that certainly makes it useless as in intake, but what about outward? I thought about the 80mm slots on the back as well, the thing is with them they are right next to one of the intakes, isn't that carrying the same air in and then out?

So how many fans, and where - given that dust prevention is a bigger factor than heat dissipation?
Gumley_Slats is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #434 of 467 (permalink) Old 08-29-2018, 05:01 AM
New to Overclock.net
 
Join Date: Aug 2018
Posts: 6
Rep: 0
Quote: Originally Posted by Gumley_Slats View Post
Hi, I have a GD09 that I'm using as an HTPC, no gaming, so I'm guessing that I need not worry about overheating. I've been running 2 x 120mm intake fans on the CPU side ever since I built my box. I've had reason to take it out of the cabinet because one of the fans started buzzing a bit. Getting the lid off I'm a little perturbed about the amount of dust inside, so I'm looking to revisit the airflow situation to resolve that. How do I best get dust bearing air out of the case? I do clean the filters occasionally, but I always notice that there is rather more dust on the bars of the case than there is on the filter itself, which just goes to show how much is getting through the mesh and into the works.

My first thought was to take off the filter on the PSU side and have a fan on there blowing out. However I have a centre speaker next to the PC box and there's not a lot of clearance on that side - 1-2 cm - will this carry any dust out? I would have thought that certainly makes it useless as in intake, but what about outward? I thought about the 80mm slots on the back as well, the thing is with them they are right next to one of the intakes, isn't that carrying the same air in and then out?

So how many fans, and where - given that dust prevention is a bigger factor than heat dissipation?
I would move one intake fan to the other side of the case and add 2 80mm fans for exhaust out the back.

I did notice there was a lot of dust on my filters when I opened mine up, but very little dust inside - are you sure your filters are snapped all the way in place? Maybe you just need to clean them more often, mine get pretty full every 3 months or so.
Bobzdar is offline  
post #435 of 467 (permalink) Old 08-29-2018, 05:58 AM
New to Overclock.net
 
Shadowarez's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2014
Location: Arctic Canada
Posts: 1,885
Rep: 25 (Unique: 22)
I'll post my server update today in the GD08.

Shadowarez is offline  
post #436 of 467 (permalink) Old 09-03-2018, 03:25 AM
Linux Lobbyist
 
Join Date: Sep 2018
Posts: 1
Rep: 0
MSI GTX 1080 Gaming

Quote: Originally Posted by ovDarkness View Post
<div class="quote-container" data-huddler-embed="/t/1395186/silverstone-grandia-gd0x-owners-club/400#post_26086609" data-huddler-embed-placeholder="false"><span>Quote:</span>
<div class="quote-block">Originally Posted by <strong>shawlyx</strong> <a href="/t/1395186/silverstone-grandia-gd0x-owners-club/400#post_26086609"><img alt="View Post" class="inlineimg" src="/img/forum/go_quote.gif"></a><br><br>
Hi guys,<br><br>
I'm looking for a GTX 1080 to replace my GTX 770, but I'm not sure if it can fit any graphics card that is wider than 125mm..<br>
Has anyone been able to fit a non-reference Zotac or an MSI GTX 1080 into their Grandia case?<br><br>
Thanks</div>
</div>
<br>
I've got MSI RX480 Gaming X in my GD09 and it fits. It's 140mm high.
I'm very curious about what you said : I'm looking for a case I can put my MSI GTX 1080 Gaming (14cm high), and you say it fits in (the GD09).

Yet I found this review, with pics, where the guy could bearly fit its GTX 980 (supposedly 13.44cm high) :
http://www.silentpcreview.com/article1466-page4.html
See the 5th picture, with the pipe.

So : will my GTX 1080 Gaming fit in ?
flochy is offline  
post #437 of 467 (permalink) Old 05-02-2019, 11:51 PM
New to Overclock.net
 
Join Date: May 2019
Posts: 2
Rep: 0
strix temps

del duplicate

Last edited by oddstan; 05-03-2019 at 01:16 PM. Reason: del duplicate
oddstan is offline  
post #438 of 467 (permalink) Old 05-02-2019, 11:56 PM
New to Overclock.net
 
Join Date: May 2019
Posts: 2
Rep: 0
Quote: Originally Posted by atopiques View Post
@kyiatl,

I've recently put together a new build in the GD09. I got the Asus Strix GTX 1080 Ti OC which is 5.28" (13.4cm) and it fits with about 1-1.5cm of clearance to the top panel (just an estimate as I didn't measure).
Hi @kyiatl,
and what are temps of strix in gd09?
thnx
oddstan is offline  
post #439 of 467 (permalink) Old 05-07-2019, 12:35 PM
New to Overclock.net
 
Join Date: Aug 2018
Posts: 6
Rep: 0
Threadripper build

Did a bit of an upgrade, swapped out my crosshair VI hero and 2700X for an Asrock 399m and Threadripper 1920X, along with another 16gb of ram. I went matx to provide some more room as I figured it'd be very likely my 2nd 3.5" hdd would interfere with the HSF - a Noctua nh-u9, pretty much the only threadripper hsf that'd fit. I was correct, but with the matx board I now have room to add drives next to or behind the psu. I haven't put the 2nd drive back in yet, I'm looking at getting a cage that'd allow adding 3 or 4 3.5" drives in the space behind the psu.

I originally went with a laptop BD drive along with an adapter that adds a 2.5" hot swap bay and 2 more usb 3.0 ports in the 5.25" bay which turned out to be the only way this would all work as this makes the drive shorter so it doesn't interfere with the HSF. A full size drive might be too long and interfere, though you could remove the 2nd fan on the heatsink and it'd fit (including the 3.5" hdd) if you didn't care about the last 200mhz of boost speed under load. It can hold 3.7ghz on all 12 cores, but is right at the 67C temp limit for maximum boost, so removing the 2nd fan would probably cause it to drop 50-100mhz under all core loads. Still plenty fast, so might be worth it to not have to do any modifications and run all of your hardware if you're not trying to eek out every last bit of performance.

Any of the X chips should work fine in this setup at full boost speeds, but the WX chips pump out 70W more under full boost conditions so would either need a radical rethink cooling wise, or to live with only getting base clocks. I'm not sure what else could be done for cooling - there's not room for a 240mm AIO and other Threadripper coolers are too tall for the case, so the only thing I can think of is adding a 240mm rad or AIO where the 120mm intake fans are on the motherboard side of the case with the fans mounted to the outside of the case (otherwise it'd be too thick and hit the motherboard). This would actually work but increase footprint - I think I'd have to run slim 120mm fans to get it to fit in my server rack, but if zen2 comes with 64 core threadrippers next year I might not be able to resist.
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	20190504_145747.jpg
Views:	49
Size:	3.64 MB
ID:	268620  

Click image for larger version

Name:	20190504_191226.jpg
Views:	86
Size:	3.36 MB
ID:	268622  

Bobzdar is offline  
post #440 of 467 (permalink) Old 06-05-2019, 02:16 PM
New to Overclock.net
 
Hemingway's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Tulsa, Oklahoma
Posts: 28
Rep: 1 (Unique: 1)
..


Last edited by Hemingway; 06-06-2019 at 01:20 PM.
Hemingway is offline  
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the Overclock.net - An Overclocking Community forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.
User Name:
If you do not want to register, fill this field only and the name will be used as user name for your post.
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.
Password:
Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.
Email Address:

Log-in



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off