[Phanteks] - Phanteks EVOLV X introduced - Page 2 - Overclock.net - An Overclocking Community

Forum Jump: 

[Phanteks] - Phanteks EVOLV X introduced

 
Thread Tools
Old 08-27-2018, 05:32 PM
2 Easy
 
nyk20z3's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: Westchester NY
Posts: 3,350
Rep: 70 (Unique: 52)
Quote: Originally Posted by crpcookie View Post
Expected release date is August 28th. Tomorrow.
Ive become a big Phanteks lover the past year or so, ive had the Shift, Shift X and now the Luxe including all there fans,water blocks etc so ive been waiting for this release. All my water cooling hardware should transfer right over so i am definitely excited.
nyk20z3 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 08-27-2018, 07:55 PM
New to Overclock.net
 
smithydan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2013
Posts: 2,129
Rep: 94 (Unique: 84)
Phanteks just makes me cry tears of joy. This is a really good evolution... really living up to its name.

Nice to see good spacing between the glass vertical gpu.
An update to the whole line would be great, especially with an aluminum itx.
smithydan is offline  
Old 08-27-2018, 08:03 PM
Linux Lobbyist
 
Fritzz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Location: Idaho
Posts: 170
Rep: 17 (Unique: 16)
For those that might be interested. Phanteks said there is not enough space on the front intake for fans/radiator and still be able to use the HDD mounts. I had hoped to move my mini-itx server with it's 6 HDDs and still be able to mount an AIO or go for a full loop. I will wait and see what the reviews have to say, might be a way to modify the case to get it to work.

Read on the Phanteks site is it will go on sale/pre-sale tomorrow and won't ship till around the 10th.

Fritzz is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 08-27-2018, 10:22 PM
Linux Lobbyist
 
crpcookie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Posts: 172
Rep: 3 (Unique: 3)
https://www.phanteksusa.com/products/phanteks-evolv-x

Preorders sold out in an instant.
crpcookie is offline  
Old 08-28-2018, 04:47 AM - Thread Starter
New to Overclock.net
 
RXWX's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2016
Posts: 330
Rep: 5 (Unique: 5)
Specs
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	specs_1024x1024.jpg
Views:	64
Size:	82.0 KB
ID:	214946  

RXWX is offline  
Old 08-28-2018, 05:59 AM
New to Overclock.net
 
Scotty99's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Posts: 6,276
Rep: 72 (Unique: 56)
Ive yet to understand why some manufacturers put TG on the backside of the case. Someone spending this amount on a case does not have rgb ssd's, they have high end m.2's stuck on their boards.

Gaming pc
(9 items)
HTPC
(8 items)
CPU
Intel Core i7 8700k
Motherboard
Rog Strix z370-F
GPU
Nvidia Founders Edition RTX 2060
RAM
Gskill Trident-z RGB 3000
Hard Drive
Samsung 960 evo 1tb
Power Supply
EVGA 750 G3
Cooling
NZXT Kraken x62
Case
NZXT S340 elite
Monitor
Dell S2417DG
CPU
AMD Athlon 5350
Motherboard
Asrock AM1B-ITX
RAM
4GB crucial 1600mhz
Hard Drive
OCZ Agility 3 60gb
Case
Linkworld 920-01
Monitor
Vizio Smartcast E55
Keyboard
Logitech K400
Audio
Vizio 3.1 Soundbar
▲ hide details ▲
Scotty99 is offline  
Old 08-28-2018, 06:06 AM
New to Overclock.net
 
prjindigo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Posts: 1,662
Rep: 152 (Unique: 89)
companies need to stop putting the IO at the top if it's going to face directly out of the case.
prjindigo is offline  
Old 08-28-2018, 06:27 AM
Hey I get one of these!
 
KyadCK's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Chicago
Posts: 7,186
Rep: 299 (Unique: 212)
Quote: Originally Posted by Fritzz View Post
For those that might be interested. Phanteks said there is not enough space on the front intake for fans/radiator and still be able to use the HDD mounts. I had hoped to move my mini-itx server with it's 6 HDDs and still be able to mount an AIO or go for a full loop. I will wait and see what the reviews have to say, might be a way to modify the case to get it to work.

Read on the Phanteks site is it will go on sale/pre-sale tomorrow and won't ship till around the 10th.
So mount the AIO to the top or back? It doesn't have to be on the front, there's plenty of space.

Forge
(18 items)
Forge-LT
(7 items)
CPU
AMD Threadripper 1950X
Motherboard
Gigabyte X399 Designare
GPU
EVGA 1080ti SC2 Hybrid
GPU
EVGA 1080ti SC2 Hybrid
RAM
32GB G.Skill TridentZ RGB (4x8GB 3200Mhz 14-14-14)
Hard Drive
Intel 900P 480GB
Hard Drive
Samsung 950 Pro 512GB
Power Supply
Corsair AX1200
Cooling
EK Predator 240
Case
Corsair Graphite 780T
Operating System
Windows 10 Enterprise x64
Monitor
2x Acer XR341CK
Keyboard
Corsair Vengeance K70 RGB
Mouse
Corsair Vengeance M65 RGB
Audio
Sennheiser HD700
Audio
Sound Blaster AE-5
Audio
Audio Technica AT4040
Audio
30ART Mic Tube Amp
CPU
i7-4720HQ
Motherboard
UX501JW-UB71T
GPU
GTX 960m
RAM
16GB 1600 9-9-9-27
Hard Drive
512GB PCI-e SSD
Operating System
Windows 10 Pro
Monitor
4k IPS
▲ hide details ▲
KyadCK is offline  
Old 08-28-2018, 06:39 AM
Linux Lobbyist
 
Fritzz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Location: Idaho
Posts: 170
Rep: 17 (Unique: 16)
Quote: Originally Posted by KyadCK View Post
So mount the AIO to the top or back? It doesn't have to be on the front, there's plenty of space.
Was thinking more along the lines of a full custom loop with dual rads. Or even dual system with dual AIOs. Figured since I had asked, someone else might have wondered the same thing.

Fritzz is offline  
Old 08-28-2018, 06:47 AM
Hey I get one of these!
 
KyadCK's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Chicago
Posts: 7,186
Rep: 299 (Unique: 212)
Quote: Originally Posted by Fritzz View Post
Was thinking more along the lines of a full custom loop with dual rads. Or even dual system with dual AIOs. Figured since I had asked, someone else might have wondered the same thing.
Then this probably isn't the case for you unless you can move to 2.5" drives, you are correct. Those extra drive mounts are sold separately anyway.

On the other hand, a real loop on a server is just going to be a huge no, at least in my opinion. The point of a server is to "just work" and be easy to maintain when it stops working. That means there should be no overclocking, and since even TR2 can be cooled on air stock, there's no reason for water at all anyway. It's more maintenance for no gain.

Can do what you want to, obviously, but putting water in a server, especially data storage where you probably care about it, is stupid. At least to me.

Forge
(18 items)
Forge-LT
(7 items)
CPU
AMD Threadripper 1950X
Motherboard
Gigabyte X399 Designare
GPU
EVGA 1080ti SC2 Hybrid
GPU
EVGA 1080ti SC2 Hybrid
RAM
32GB G.Skill TridentZ RGB (4x8GB 3200Mhz 14-14-14)
Hard Drive
Intel 900P 480GB
Hard Drive
Samsung 950 Pro 512GB
Power Supply
Corsair AX1200
Cooling
EK Predator 240
Case
Corsair Graphite 780T
Operating System
Windows 10 Enterprise x64
Monitor
2x Acer XR341CK
Keyboard
Corsair Vengeance K70 RGB
Mouse
Corsair Vengeance M65 RGB
Audio
Sennheiser HD700
Audio
Sound Blaster AE-5
Audio
Audio Technica AT4040
Audio
30ART Mic Tube Amp
CPU
i7-4720HQ
Motherboard
UX501JW-UB71T
GPU
GTX 960m
RAM
16GB 1600 9-9-9-27
Hard Drive
512GB PCI-e SSD
Operating System
Windows 10 Pro
Monitor
4k IPS
▲ hide details ▲
KyadCK is offline  
 

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the Overclock.net - An Overclocking Community forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.
User Name:
If you do not want to register, fill this field only and the name will be used as user name for your post.
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.
Password:
Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.
Email Address:

Log-in

Thread Tools


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off