The Official Silverstone Case Owners Club - Page 651 - Overclock.net - An Overclocking Community

Forum Jump: 

The Official Silverstone Case Owners Club

post #6501 of 6503 (permalink) Old 09-06-2019, 02:18 PM
New to Overclock.net

Rep: 0
TJ11 newbee question

Hi guys,

I am in a continuing process of doing my first build in a TJ11 case. Great case, love the air flow, design, space. But I have a newbee question, which if any one could help me with would be greatly appreciated. I have never built a pc before.

I have my main system built, thats all great, super quiet and low temps etc. Now I want to install all of my library and back up drives in the bottom of the case but I want to isolate them. To not have them powered on when I don't need them, as I only run secondary back ups once per week and don't often need things from my library. Also I like the extra protection from ransom wear etc of having them powered off most of the time.

My question is can I just run my "occasional use" hard drives in the bottom of the case from a second power supply ie I will just buy and install a second power supply that is only used to power my "occasional use" hard drives ? I would get one with an external switch so I could just flick it to on before powering on the computer. I would also leave all of the drives permanently plugged into my raid controller card. I know there are other ways of doing it, small power switcher units that fit in the 5.25" bays but I don't trust them, I don't want any electronics between my power supply and raid card if I can avoid it.

One other question while I am here. Has any one used the Silverstone AP183 PWM fans ? While the original 3 pin 180s are fine I ponder on running, controling one 180mm PWM AP183 fan from the GPU and one from my CPU, the ones that sit under each of them. Is there any real benefit or is it so negligible its just not worth it.