{SOLVED} HELP flashing a bricked ASUS/American Megatrends BIOS. - Overclock.net - An Overclocking Community

Forum Jump: 

{SOLVED} HELP flashing a bricked ASUS/American Megatrends BIOS.

Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 11 (permalink) Old 05-07-2012, 08:38 AM - Thread Starter
New to Overclock.net
 
oo0 Sm0k3 0oo's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2012
Posts: 3
Rep: 0
I have an Asus M5A97 mobo. I flashed to the newest 1102 bios through EZflash and it bricked my BIOS. I ordered a replacement chip on eBay and I received one for a M5A97 EVO board. The EVO chip will let me boot with memOK while the original will not POST at all nor reach the BIOS screen. I tried reflashing with EZflash and because the one is EVO and I'm flashing the nonEVO BIOS it fails. I got to the BIOS, pulled my EVO chip and put the original bricked chip back in and it verifies that the versions match but then it throws an error at me stating that there is not boot information included in the file. I'm guessing it is checking my bricked chip for something that apparently isn't there, hence why it’s bricked. I tried BUPDATER from DOS with both chips to no success. I also tried AMIFLASH which doesn’t work with the BIOS version. I tried AFUDOS also and it gave me another error that the BIOS does not support afu. I’m stuck ordering another chip because I need my computer back, but I do not wanna have a couple of extra worthless chips lying around. Does anyone know of something that will allow me to flash any BIOS to any MOBO?
oo0 Sm0k3 0oo is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 11 (permalink) Old 05-07-2012, 10:26 AM
New to Overclock.net
 
Dopamin3's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: PA
Posts: 10,821
Rep: 1357
Quote:
Originally Posted by oo0 Sm0k3 0oo View Post

Does anyone know of something that will allow me to flash any BIOS to any MOBO?

Yea, they sell bios programmers. Just search ebay or Google Shopping for bios programmer.

Ryzen Reborn
(15 items)
Alura :)
(11 items)
FreeNAS
(9 items)
CPU
2700X
Motherboard
ROG CROSSHAIR VII HERO (WI-FI)
GPU
SAPPHIRE NITRO+ Radeon RX Vega 64
RAM
G.Skill TridentZ RGB F4-3200C14D-32GTZR
Hard Drive
Plextor PX-1TM8SeG
Hard Drive
2 x Samsung HD103SJ in RAID1
Hard Drive
Micron 1100 2TB SSD
Power Supply
SeaSonic Platinum SS-860XP2
Cooling
Corsair H100i v2
Case
Fractal Define C TG
Operating System
Windows 10 Pro x64
Monitor
Pixio PX277
Keyboard
Logitech G510
Mouse
Logitech G5
Mousepad
XTRAC Ripper
CPU
i7 2700k
Motherboard
Asus P8Z68-V Pro
GPU
Gigabyte GTX 780 Windforce OC
RAM
4 x 4GB G.Skill Sniper 1866mhz
Hard Drive
Mushkin Enhanced Chronos 240GB and WD Black 1TB
Optical Drive
Asus DRW-24B1ST
Power Supply
Thermaltake Tough Power TP-750P 750W Gold
Cooling
Cooler Master Hyper 212 EVO
Case
Cooler Master HAF 932
Operating System
Windows 7 Ultimate x64
Monitor
2 x Acer 24 inch IPS
CPU
Intel Xeon E3-1245 v5
Motherboard
SuperMicro X11SSM-F-O C236
GPU
Integrated
RAM
2 x 16GB Kingston ValueRAM ECC KVR21E15D8/16
Hard Drive
5 x 8TB Seagate IronWolf Pro in ZF2 Array
Power Supply
EVGA SuperNOVA G2 550W Gold
Cooling
CoolerMaster Hyper 212 Evo
Case
Fractal Design Node 804
Operating System
FreeNAS 11
▲ hide details ▲


Dopamin3 is offline  
post #3 of 11 (permalink) Old 05-07-2012, 11:16 AM - Thread Starter
New to Overclock.net
 
oo0 Sm0k3 0oo's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2012
Posts: 3
Rep: 0
Thank you Dopamin3. I more or less am trying to find out if there is a DOS/LINUX/UNIX tool that can be used to flash the BIOS of a motherboard with out checks. I found this but am currently at work and am unable to test yet. http://www.flashrom.org/Flashrom "Flashrom is a utility for identifying, reading, writing, verifying and erasing flash chips. It is designed to flash BIOS/EFI/coreboot/firmware/optionROM images on mainboards, network/graphics/storage controller cards, and various other programmer devices. Crossflashing and hotflashing is possible as long as the flash chips are electrically and logically compatible (same protocol)". Do you think something like this would work.
oo0 Sm0k3 0oo is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #4 of 11 (permalink) Old 05-07-2012, 06:42 PM - Thread Starter
New to Overclock.net
 
oo0 Sm0k3 0oo's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2012
Posts: 3
Rep: 0
So I got home from work today and threw in the latest Hiren's Boot Disk because I found that FLASHROM was included in the disc. I entered Partition Magic, then the Linux shell. I entered "flashrom -w (filename.rom)".......and boom bam it flashed the the BIOS. It Allowed me to flash to both chips.
oo0 Sm0k3 0oo is offline  
post #5 of 11 (permalink) Old 06-24-2012, 09:52 PM
New to Overclock.net
 
tokoam's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: FT.Lauderdale , FL
Posts: 157
Rep: 8
Quote:
Originally Posted by oo0 Sm0k3 0oo View Post

So I got home from work today and threw in the latest Hiren's Boot Disk because I found that FLASHROM was included in the disc. I entered Partition Magic, then the Linux shell. I entered "flashrom -w (filename.rom)".......and boom bam it flashed the the BIOS. It Allowed me to flash to both chips.


this post saved my board im glad i stumbled across it thank you .thumb.gif

tokoam is offline  
post #6 of 11 (permalink) Old 12-10-2012, 10:07 PM
New to Overclock.net
 
arfaad's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Posts: 528
Rep: 21
Trying to use the AMIFlash utility yields this error upon selection of the desired BIOS:

a1 - Error: BIOS does not support ME Entire Firmware Update

I was also using this guide:
http://hardforum.com/showthread.php?t=1726429

But it is hard to understand

My problem is integrated graphics has stopped working. i know for a fact that the ME block on the bios is corrupt as I have seen the error upon reset before. the board does not boot without a graphics card.

This guide says you have to create a bootable usb, which I did. It also said you put the desired BIOS file in the same folder as FTK (I take this to mean put the file on the bootable flash) and rename it to bios.bin

Then from what i understand, it says i have to boot into DOS and enter the command merefl

I typed that in and it gives an error saying bad command or something.

Please help me to understand this guide, I'm totally new to this but i need to fix my BIOS so I can downgrade and get my integrated graphics back.
arfaad is offline  
post #7 of 11 (permalink) Old 12-13-2012, 09:07 AM
New to Overclock.net
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Germany
Posts: 80
Rep: 14
@arfaad, what files do you have on the root folder of USB-flash now. There must be all files from FTK archive and bios.bin, no directories, just files. If merefl command don't work then file merefl.bat isn't in root directory.
CodeRush is offline  
post #8 of 11 (permalink) Old 12-24-2012, 12:06 PM
New to Overclock.net
 
arfaad's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Posts: 528
Rep: 21
all the files are there.

I just tried to reflash the ME region. It kept saying "bad command or file name" then in next line "Preparing backup"

Then after it says something like "This program does not work in DOS mode" "Press any Key to Continue"

All the files are on the flash




none of the other commands work. is it an error of syntax

I just type in the command 'merefl' and nothing else, no slashes, no file names.
arfaad is offline  
post #9 of 11 (permalink) Old 12-24-2012, 03:55 PM
New to Overclock.net
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Germany
Posts: 80
Rep: 14
@arfaad, you are downloaded a version for Windows and tries to launch it from DOS, that is why nothing works. smile.gif
CodeRush is offline  
post #10 of 11 (permalink) Old 12-24-2012, 05:58 PM
New to Overclock.net
 
arfaad's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Posts: 528
Rep: 21
Yes sir,

I ran it in windows and it worked. My onboard graphics now work again but I am wondering if this has fixed my random reset issue.

Is the ME region of the BIOS likely to cause random resets if it is corrupted? The system has been running for 5hrs 22min so far without incident.
arfaad is offline  
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the Overclock.net - An Overclocking Community forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.
User Name:
If you do not want to register, fill this field only and the name will be used as user name for your post.
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.
Password:
Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.
Email Address:

Log-in



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off