Tip on CMOS reset for most ASUS boards - Overclock.net - An Overclocking Community

Forum Jump: 

Tip on CMOS reset for most ASUS boards

Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 30 (permalink) Old 01-06-2007, 08:17 PM - Thread Starter
New to Overclock.net
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Elmira, NY
Posts: 1,822
Rep: 185 (Unique: 144)
I recently encountered a useful tip regarding most ASUS boards. When overclocking, you will often find yourself in a position where you will need to reset your CMOS as a result of pushing your system too far. As a lot of times, it can be less than simple to get to the battery and jumper, you may fidn this useful.

On a unsuccessful try at POSTing, restart your computer. As soon as power is following, start tapping the Ctrl key. It will revert your BIOS to stock settings without any need of even taking the side of your case off. You can then enter your BIOS (by pressing Delete or whichever key your particular BIOS uses) and change your settings again.

What makes this exceptionally great, is that it doesn't reset the settings you have changed in your BIOS. Just makes your computer boot on default settings. So you can continue to tweak without spending the time changing everything back.

It is by far my favorite feature on ASUS boards. I'm not sure if it works on others, as I have only tried it on the following boards:

M2N32-Sli Deluxe
A8N32-Sli Deluxe
A8RMVP-Deluxe

CWell1337 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 30 (permalink) Old 01-07-2007, 01:10 AM
New to Overclock.net
 
beret9987's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Orinda, CA
Posts: 3,119
Rep: 188 (Unique: 146)
I'll give it a shot tomorrow morning and get back to you to see if it works on my system.

Quote:
Quote:
Originally Posted by DuckieHo go_quote.gif
I just read the title... Is this thread about trading your GF for a video card? Are you willing to trade her for a 7950GT? smile.gif
ALL men see in only 16 colors, like Windows default settings. Peach, for example, is a fruit, not a color. Pumpkin is also a fruit. We have no idea what mauve is.
beret9987 is offline  
post #3 of 30 (permalink) Old 01-07-2007, 01:24 AM - Thread Starter
New to Overclock.net
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Elmira, NY
Posts: 1,822
Rep: 185 (Unique: 144)
Cool. Thanks.

CWell1337 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #4 of 30 (permalink) Old 01-07-2007, 04:21 AM
New to Overclock.net
 
PoisonTail's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: (757)
Posts: 457
Rep: 18 (Unique: 16)
nice thanks

Glock models 19,27,32,38...Bang Bang

PoisonTail is offline  
post #5 of 30 (permalink) Old 01-07-2007, 04:34 AM
New to Overclock.net
 
Shawn156's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Posts: 325
Rep: 14 (Unique: 13)
I will have to try that.I have had that happen when I don't even OC my stuff. I restart and it acts like it has a brain fart or shall I say computer fart and won't boot up until I reset cmos.




Aumotocnic"An unfortunate member of the overclock.net insomnia club"


I am 61% addicted to Counterstrike. What about you?

http://valid.x86-secret.com/show_oc?id=178793
Shawn156 is offline  
post #6 of 30 (permalink) Old 01-07-2007, 04:36 AM
Retired Staff
 
prosser13's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: South Wales / Bristol
Posts: 12,296
Rep: 497 (Unique: 295)
Anyone know if you can do something similar with DFI boards - I think you might be able to press Insert or something? :s

Have a question? Feel free to PM.
prosser13 is offline  
post #7 of 30 (permalink) Old 01-08-2007, 06:20 AM
New to Overclock.net
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: 2640mhz
Posts: 485
Rep: 29 (Unique: 26)
Didn't know about the CTRL thing thanks.

With most boards, including ASUS, you can shut down the computer (sometimes you also have to turn off the PSU for a minute) and holding down the insert key right after powering it on. Like the CTRL method, it won't clear your settings but boot the system at stock settings. Yet i don't think it works for DFI, i'll give the ctrl method a shot next time it won't boot.

Folding for - Team Ascension.
SHaCK is offline  
post #8 of 30 (permalink) Old 01-08-2007, 06:24 AM
Retired Staff
 
adam144's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Castleford
Posts: 2,847
Rep: 213 (Unique: 173)
Heh, I don't even need to press any keys to get mine to boot up. I just have to restart it if it doesn't POST - Gigabyte's safe overclocking thing just turns off User Clock Control, so the FSB goes back down to 266. It leaves all other settings as they are! Awesome! I haven't had to touch any jumpers yet

[center][FONT="Verdana"]Upgrades
- Team Elite 4GB PC-6400 - installed!
- Sapphire HD4850 512mb - installed!
- 500gb 7200.10 - installed!

adam144 is offline  
post #9 of 30 (permalink) Old 01-10-2007, 07:53 AM
New to Overclock.net
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Tampa
Posts: 1,133
Rep: 115 (Unique: 81)
Just a Noob chiming in...but the CTRL key tap is a slick trick for ASUS clocking noobs like myself (especially when trying to lock down max speeds for board, Fsb and mem...)

muchas gracias

HOLY CRAP!!!eek.gif
Its my first build/mod log...thumb.gif
***DELIDDING: A HOW NOT TO***
***DELIDDING pt2: A How to after how not to-ing***
pɐǝɥ ǝɥʇ uı ʎʞuoʍ sı ɹǝǝuoıd ...ʇsɐısnɥʇuǝ 939 ʇǝʞɔos
Poser is offline  
post #10 of 30 (permalink) Old 01-10-2007, 07:55 AM
New to Overclock.net
 
mashersmasher's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Posts: 1,086
Rep: 156 (Unique: 101)
unless you have crash free bios. but that stunts your ocing a bit

i want to crush you all in a colossal robot
mashersmasher might!
but before that. if you need to oc a 478 cpu on a crappy mobo click here
and if you need gas masks look here
and if you need a place to hide something here

BUY MY STUFF!!!

you know you want to!

mashersmasher is offline  
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the Overclock.net - An Overclocking Community forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.
User Name:
If you do not want to register, fill this field only and the name will be used as user name for your post.
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.
Password:
Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.
Email Address:

Log-in



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off