gigabyte b450 boards dual bios synchronize - Overclock.net - An Overclocking Community

Forum Jump: 

gigabyte b450 boards dual bios synchronize

 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 3 (permalink) Old 08-28-2019, 02:50 PM - Thread Starter
New to Overclock.net
 
wmunn's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2017
Posts: 109
Rep: 4 (Unique: 4)
gigabyte b450 boards dual bios synchronize

Anyone know how to synchronize the backup bios with the main bios? Reason I ask, many of us will be running these boards with a 3rd gen chip, and it requires bios version F40 or higher to recognize and boot these chips.

Well, if it falls to backup bios, that is F30 or older, and won't work.

I have seen reference to pressing ALT + F10 or F12 during post to enter a screen that allows synchronizing bios, but this doesn't work on my b450 Aorus Pro Wifi.

CPU
AMD Ryzen 7 3700X
Motherboard
Gigabyte B450 Aorus Pro Wifi
GPU
Gigabyte GTX 1660 OC
RAM
G.Skill Trident Z RGB 3200 8GB x 2
Hard Drive
Intel P600 1TB Nvme
Power Supply
Corsair RM750i
Cooling
Phanteks PH-TC14PE_ 140mm UFB CPU Cooler
Case
Fractal Design Define R5
▲ hide details ▲
wmunn is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 3 (permalink) Old 09-29-2019, 04:16 PM - Thread Starter
New to Overclock.net
 
wmunn's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2017
Posts: 109
Rep: 4 (Unique: 4)
I found a workaround for this, not the best but it worked. Basically this should apply to most of the gigabyte dual bios boards that lack a physical bios switch.
Just set a overclock you know cannot be achieved, which will force the bios to flip to backup bios, then flash that bios. force overclock again and it will flip back

CPU
AMD Ryzen 7 3700X
Motherboard
Gigabyte B450 Aorus Pro Wifi
GPU
Gigabyte GTX 1660 OC
RAM
G.Skill Trident Z RGB 3200 8GB x 2
Hard Drive
Intel P600 1TB Nvme
Power Supply
Corsair RM750i
Cooling
Phanteks PH-TC14PE_ 140mm UFB CPU Cooler
Case
Fractal Design Define R5
▲ hide details ▲
wmunn is offline  
post #3 of 3 (permalink) Old 10-14-2019, 10:19 AM
New to Overclock.net
 
Join Date: Jul 2019
Posts: 69
Rep: 0
Quote: Originally Posted by wmunn View Post
I found a workaround for this, not the best but it worked. Basically this should apply to most of the gigabyte dual bios boards that lack a physical bios switch.
Just set a overclock you know cannot be achieved, which will force the bios to flip to backup bios, then flash that bios. force overclock again and it will flip back

Interesting... I remember my old Gigabyte motherboard with DualBIOS worked in a bit different way. If main bios failed for some reason, it switched o backup, copied backup to main and rebooted from main once again.
Belliash is offline  
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the Overclock.net - An Overclocking Community forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.
User Name:
If you do not want to register, fill this field only and the name will be used as user name for your post.
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.
Password:
Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.
Email Address:

Log-in



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off