How to get the most out of my ATH-M50 headphones - Overclock.net - An Overclocking Community
Forum Jump: 

How to get the most out of my ATH-M50 headphones

Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 17 (permalink) Old 07-12-2014, 04:33 PM - Thread Starter
Twitch Streamer
 
Aesthethc's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: San Diego, CA
Posts: 2,531
Rep: 104 (Unique: 79)
Hi guys, i just bought my ATH-M50's and theyre a complete step up from my Superlux HD681 EVO headphones! I am currently using these headphones plugged into my ASUS Xonar DGX Sound Card.

I see there is an Frequency EQ under the Effect tab, how would i go about tweaking the Equalizer bars so that i get the best possible sound? Im in no way considering myself an "audiophile" or "experienced in sound" so i would like to get an expert opinion as to how i can get started calibrating this equalizer to get the best possible sound.

I listen mostly to:

Drum and Bass
Trance
Liquid Dubstep (so lots of bass)

I play:

Competitive Battlefield 4 (so i must have headphones to hear every footstep, every single sound possible -- when playing intense small games like Defuse where knowing where enemy footsteps are very critical)

I also, fly helicopter so i guess lots of good punching bass is what i need

How would i adjust it so that im not getting "too much bass" or "too much treble" or ??? I dont know how to go about this with the EQ as im a noob.

Can someone chime in and give me some advice? Is there a website i can use to tweak the EQ or what?

i7-3930k 4.5GHz | EVGA GTX 1080Ti | 1440p 144hz IPS | Cooled by EKWB

PU:BG & Twitch - FarmerMeoow
Aesthethc is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 17 (permalink) Old 07-12-2014, 08:51 PM - Thread Starter
Twitch Streamer
 
Aesthethc's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: San Diego, CA
Posts: 2,531
Rep: 104 (Unique: 79)
Ok, anyone?

i7-3930k 4.5GHz | EVGA GTX 1080Ti | 1440p 144hz IPS | Cooled by EKWB

PU:BG & Twitch - FarmerMeoow
Aesthethc is offline  
post #3 of 17 (permalink) Old 07-12-2014, 09:05 PM
PC Gaming 1337 Enforcer
 
boredgunner's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: United States
Posts: 14,404
Rep: 842 (Unique: 543)
You don't necessarily need EQ. Is it possible to download presets anywhere? Here are a few presets I have in foobar that may be suitable. Or you could always just use trial and error.

Yvez.png

HShRU.png

To get more out of them, you may want to consider getting an amp, like the Schiit Magni.
boredgunner is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #4 of 17 (permalink) Old 07-12-2014, 10:04 PM - Thread Starter
Twitch Streamer
 
Aesthethc's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: San Diego, CA
Posts: 2,531
Rep: 104 (Unique: 79)
Cool thanks, why would i need an amplifier besides the current sound card i have. Is it not enough?

I have this really vintage http://www.hifiengine.com/manual_library/pioneer/vsx-9700s.shtml that my dad let me have since he does a lot of DJ'ing (hes old now -- but back in the day in his town he was the best for repair). Could i just plug in my headphones here and just go from there? Instead of having to buy a Schiit Magni amp you mentioned?

I currently have my room connected to a 7.1 surround sound speaker set up with some old Bose speakers that are extremely overkill for my room. (Like i said, my dad just let me use it cause it was old and lying around but he used to use it in other Public Address events).

Am i not "fully getting the potential" of my headphones with my current ASUS Xonar DGX? (help me, i am a noob)

i7-3930k 4.5GHz | EVGA GTX 1080Ti | 1440p 144hz IPS | Cooled by EKWB

PU:BG & Twitch - FarmerMeoow
Aesthethc is offline  
post #5 of 17 (permalink) Old 07-12-2014, 10:09 PM
PC Gaming 1337 Enforcer
 
boredgunner's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: United States
Posts: 14,404
Rep: 842 (Unique: 543)
You don't need an amplifier since the M50 is easy to drive, but it might be worth getting one down the line for the improvement it will bring. I would wager that your $40 sound card won't run the M50 at their absolute fullest potential. However the M50 will sound decent out a smartphone or onboard audio so an amp doesn't have to be top priority. I don't think I can guess what would happen if you plug the M50 into that stereo receiver, maybe someone with more experience can.

How's the EQ testing going?
boredgunner is offline  
post #6 of 17 (permalink) Old 07-13-2014, 12:20 AM
New to Overclock.net
 
Mocha's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2014
Location: Midwest
Posts: 35
Rep: 2 (Unique: 2)
Really, they should be sufficient stock without dicking with any eq's too much. Mine sounded great in BF3 out of the box. (It's the first thing I did with them quite a few years ago.)
Quote:
Originally Posted by boredgunner View Post

You don't need an amplifier since the M50 is easy to drive, but it might be worth getting one down the line for the improvement it will bring. I would wager that your $40 sound card won't run the M50 at their absolute fullest potential. However the M50 will sound decent out a smartphone or onboard audio so an amp doesn't have to be top priority. I don't think I can guess what would happen if you plug the M50 into that stereo receiver, maybe someone with more experience can.

The M50's are phenomenal unamped, and really should mark the borderline for amped vs. unamped audio. They sound almost identical when ran through my Fiio E9. I'm confident that anything even a little more powerful might benefit from an amp, but the M50's should be fine.

And regardless of all this typing, the DGX has an onboard headphone AMP that should be strong enough to power the ATHM50's even if they did need an amp.

Add Me On Steam: http://steamcommunity.com/id/itsMocha/
Competitive Vidya Game Player | Audiophile | Hardware Enthusiast
KBT Poker II RED | KBT Race II RED | CM QFR BLUE
Mocha is offline  
post #7 of 17 (permalink) Old 07-13-2014, 09:38 AM
PC Gaming 1337 Enforcer
 
boredgunner's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: United States
Posts: 14,404
Rep: 842 (Unique: 543)
boredgunner is offline  
post #8 of 17 (permalink) Old 07-13-2014, 01:25 PM
New to Overclock.net
 
Mocha's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2014
Location: Midwest
Posts: 35
Rep: 2 (Unique: 2)
Quote:
Originally Posted by boredgunner View Post

^ I see, odd that the DGX has an amp but the more pricey DX doesn't (unless I'm wrong about that). Likewise, I wouldn't bother with EQ adjustments for gaming.

EQ is very set dependent. I assure you a well balanced EQ would be unique to each headset, even if they're the same model. Some might need a quick tune up for gaming, but it's unlikely to affect gaming performance (like footstep detection, audio notification, etc.)

Add Me On Steam: http://steamcommunity.com/id/itsMocha/
Competitive Vidya Game Player | Audiophile | Hardware Enthusiast
KBT Poker II RED | KBT Race II RED | CM QFR BLUE
Mocha is offline  
post #9 of 17 (permalink) Old 07-13-2014, 08:07 PM - Thread Starter
Twitch Streamer
 
Aesthethc's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: San Diego, CA
Posts: 2,531
Rep: 104 (Unique: 79)
Quote:
Originally Posted by Mocha View Post

EQ is very set dependent. I assure you a well balanced EQ would be unique to each headset, even if they're the same model. Some might need a quick tune up for gaming, but it's unlikely to affect gaming performance (like footstep detection, audio notification, etc.)

Yeah i have to see any difference for gaming but so far ive just been tweaking it so that music sounds a little better, but havent really noticed a huge difference yet.

I have been messing with the EQ on my ASUS Xonar DGX software.

So far im happy where its at but i guess EQ is more of a personal preference from what im understanding? Ive been reading around and people are saying that flat is just fine.

i7-3930k 4.5GHz | EVGA GTX 1080Ti | 1440p 144hz IPS | Cooled by EKWB

PU:BG & Twitch - FarmerMeoow
Aesthethc is offline  
post #10 of 17 (permalink) Old 07-13-2014, 08:13 PM
PC Gaming 1337 Enforcer
 
boredgunner's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: United States
Posts: 14,404
Rep: 842 (Unique: 543)
Quote:
Originally Posted by Aesthethc View Post

Yeah i have to see any difference for gaming but so far ive just been tweaking it so that music sounds a little better, but havent really noticed a huge difference yet.

I have been messing with the EQ on my ASUS Xonar DGX software.

So far im happy where its at but i guess EQ is more of a personal preference from what im understanding? Ive been reading around and people are saying that flat is just fine.

EQ is indeed personal preference for the most part. I rarely use any EQ with my headphones.
boredgunner is offline  
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the Overclock.net - An Overclocking Community forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.
User Name:
If you do not want to register, fill this field only and the name will be used as user name for your post.
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.
Password:
Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.
Email Address:

Log-in



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off