Creative Sound BlasterX AE-5 - Driver Issues (Update: Much Improved) - Overclock.net - An Overclocking Community

Forum Jump: 

Creative Sound BlasterX AE-5 - Driver Issues (Update: Much Improved)

Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 268 (permalink) Old 07-27-2017, 08:26 PM - Thread Starter
Robotic Chemist
 
Asmodian's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: San Jose, California
Posts: 2,469
Rep: 179 (Unique: 119)
I recently got an AE-5 directly from Creative and while it sounds great and can drive my Sennheiser HD 600s to very high volume levels, the software has some significant issues. Has anyone else experienced these or have any workarounds?

Windows 10 1703 (15063.483), Sound Blaster Connect 3.1.13.0

Fixed 1) Volume is at 100% after a reboot. It snaps to the set volume (or what that setting is at 16 ohm) after any volume adjustment. This is less than ideal. cryingsmiley.gif

Fixed 2) The headphone gain setting resets to 16 ohm after a reboot or after changing between speaker out and headphone out. In addition I think only the 16, 32, and 150 ohm options are real, 330 and 600 ohm are the same volume as 150 ohm. Not that I mind because my 300 ohm HD 600s can get very loud on the 150 ohm setting. I expect I would be happy even with 600 ohm cans if only it didn't reset, but I don't need it THAT loud.

3) I cannot customize the custom crossover setting. doh.gif There is a slider but I cannot interact with it; it is stuck on whatever speaker type option was selected when the application was last restarted. Desktop = 150 Hz, Bookshelf = 80 Hz, Tower = 50 Hz.

It isn't really an issue but the multi channel output device maxes out at 32 bit, 96 KHz. Only the "Direct" stereo modes support the 192 or 384 KHz sample rates. As an aside the Scout Radar feature is only enabled when not in a "Direct" mode.

Running Sound Blaster Connect on startup, or not, changes none of this behavior. I also have all Acoustic Engine, Scout, Lighting, and Equalizer options disabled and did not test them.

To be honest I cannot notice a difference between my Asus Maximus VIII Hero Alpha's very good on-board audio and the AE-5 set to 16 ohm; they both have trouble driving my 300 ohm headphones. However, the AE-5 has no trouble at all when it is set to 150 ohm or higher. The max volume with my 300 ohm headphones isn't that high at 16 ohms but is higher than I probably need at the 150 ohm setting.

Update:
These three points have all been fixed for me by an aggressive reinstall using the current drivers:
Sound Blaster Connect 2, 3.1.22.0, 29th August 2017

1) Uninstall Everything Creative or Sound Blaster related
2) Uninstall (and delete) the driver out of device manager
3) Reboot and let Windows 10 install the default driver
4) Delete the Creative folder in Program Files (x86)
5) Reinstall Sound Blaster Connect 2

Edit: Actually #3 is still true, but I don't care anymore, I am only using Direct-HP mode anyway. tongue.gif
Asmodian is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 268 (permalink) Old 07-31-2017, 02:05 PM
New to Overclock.net
 
Majek's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2015
Posts: 31
Rep: 0
Hi,
I received this card last week. I don't think I have experienced these issues. Not sure about 2 and 3 but volume definitely stays at whatever level it was set before reboot.
However, I've noticed that the card makes a single click/pop sound upon pc startup and shutdown. Does your card make it too?
I think the card has one mechanical takamisawa switch/relay and this is what produces this spring-like click.

Thanks!
Majek is offline  
post #3 of 268 (permalink) Old 08-09-2017, 02:22 PM
New to Overclock.net
 
username111's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2017
Posts: 6
Rep: 0
Asmodian, could you help me please? when headphones pluged, in windows sound device setting, "configure" button, is there line with 7.1 or 5.1 value? Sorry for my terrible english )
Thanks In advance!!!
username111 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #4 of 268 (permalink) Old 08-10-2017, 09:06 AM
New to Overclock.net
 
scare19's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2014
Posts: 29
Rep: 0
from windows your headphone is 5.1, but u need to turn on surround aroud 50 to use 5.1 biggrin.gif
scare19 is offline  
post #5 of 268 (permalink) Old 08-18-2017, 12:38 AM
New to Overclock.net
 
lolschrauber's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2017
Posts: 7
Rep: 0
If issue #2 bothers you, I suggest you return the card.

I contacted creative support:

- The guy thought it was weird, told me to reinstall, try this and that, yada yada.

- Told him it didn't change anything.

- Got a reply saying it's designed that way by developers, so you don't accidentally destroy low impendance headphones after using high impendance ones before.


So they really do expect you to change this setting on every single boot. No option to turn it off as of now.

EDIT: Issue #2, my bad
lolschrauber is offline  
post #6 of 268 (permalink) Old 08-18-2017, 05:59 AM
New to Overclock.net
 
Glasofruix's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2017
Posts: 43
Rep: 2 (Unique: 2)
Seems like a really dumb idea to me, i mean it "could" be useful when the card detects that the headphones have been unplugged, but fiddling with the volume/impedance after each reboot is highly annoying.
Glasofruix is offline  
post #7 of 268 (permalink) Old 08-18-2017, 06:03 AM
New to Overclock.net
 
lolschrauber's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2017
Posts: 7
Rep: 0
Quote:
Originally Posted by Glasofruix View Post

Seems like a really dumb idea to me, i mean it "could" be useful when the card detects that the headphones have been unplugged, but fiddling with the volume/impedance after each reboot is highly annoying.

You could change headphones when the PC is off. Software would not notice.

Either way, it's a dumb design decision. I understand the safety aspect but whoever thought that forcing everyone to do at least 5 clicks every time you start is a good idea, is a retard.

I'd love to see some way to override it. Batch, if necessary.
lolschrauber is offline  
post #8 of 268 (permalink) Old 08-18-2017, 07:40 AM
New to Overclock.net
 
Mato87's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Location: Matrix
Posts: 297
Rep: 4 (Unique: 4)
Interesting, so creative haven't stepped up or fixed their driver game...that's really sad.

I have a question for you though Asmodian, is it worthy of an upgrade if I get it? I currently have the older, but still a great freaking sound card, the Sound Blaster X-Fi Titanium Fatal1ty Champion Series. Would it be an upgrade getting this new one? Just curious, thanks.

Mato87 is offline  
post #9 of 268 (permalink) Old 08-18-2017, 07:43 AM
New to Overclock.net
 
lolschrauber's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2017
Posts: 7
Rep: 0
Quote:
Originally Posted by Mato87 View Post

Interesting, so creative haven't stepped up or fixed their driver game...that's really sad.
Driver is fine. It's just that one dumbass design choice that forces you to do this every time.

And the fact that the amp is limited to 16-32-150-330-600 ohm settings. I have 250 ohm headphones, though 150 sounds kinda fine.
lolschrauber is offline  
post #10 of 268 (permalink) Old 08-18-2017, 07:44 AM
New to Overclock.net
 
Mato87's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Location: Matrix
Posts: 297
Rep: 4 (Unique: 4)
Quote:
Originally Posted by lolschrauber View Post

Driver is fine. It's just that one dumbass design choice that forces you to do this every time.

And the fact that the amp is limited to 16-32-150-330-600 ohm settings. I have 250 ohm headphones, though 150 sounds kinda fine.

So the driver is fine, it's just some of it's functionality and design of the CP is stupid?

Oh and I have 50 Ohm headphones, I shouldn't have this problem then? They are the Sennheiser G4ME one

Mato87 is offline  
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the Overclock.net - An Overclocking Community forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.
User Name:
If you do not want to register, fill this field only and the name will be used as user name for your post.
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.
Password:
Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.
Email Address:

Log-in



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off