Creative Soundblaster AE-5 - Overclock.net - An Overclocking Community

Forum Jump: 

Creative Soundblaster AE-5

Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 75 (permalink) Old 09-22-2018, 03:25 AM - Thread Starter
New to Overclock.net
 
firej's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2015
Posts: 56
Rep: 0
Creative Soundblaster AE-5

Is Creative Soundblaster AE-5 compatible with the Gigabyte GA-890FXA motherboard? I know it has pci express 2.0 slots, but does it works when plug in into these slots without using all slot pins?

Thanks in advance

MyPC
(15 items)
CPU
Intel Core i7 8700K
GPU
EVGA GTX 1070 Ti FTW
RAM
G.Skill F4-3000C14-16GTZR
RAM
G.Skill F4-3000C14-16GTZR
Hard Drive
Western Digital WD5001AALS-00L3B2
Hard Drive
Samsung SSD 970 Pro 512GB
Power Supply
EVGA PSU SuperNova 850Watt P2 80 Plus Platinum
Cooling
NZXT Kraken x62
Case
Thermaltake V71 Power Edition
Operating System
Fedora 29 x64 Workstation
Operating System
Windows 10 x64 Professional
Monitor
Samsung T240
Keyboard
Microsoft Reculsa
Mouse
Razer DeathAdder Elite
Audio
Sound Blaster AE-5
▲ hide details ▲
firej is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 75 (permalink) Old 09-22-2018, 03:54 AM
New to Overclock.net
 
Vlada011's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2012
Location: Belgrade, Serbia
Posts: 1,972
Rep: 39 (Unique: 29)
This is system requirments and your motherboard have PCI-E x1 slot.

Intel® Core™ i3 or AMD® equivalent processor
Intel, AMD or 100% compatible motherboard
Microsoft® Windows 10 32/64 bit, 8.1/8.0 32/64 bit, Windows 7 32/64 bit
1GB RAM
>600 MB of free hard disk space
Available PCIe slot
Vlada011 is offline  
post #3 of 75 (permalink) Old 09-22-2018, 04:31 AM
New to Overclock.net
 
zoomcopter's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2017
Posts: 105
Rep: 0
Quote: Originally Posted by firej View Post
Is Creative Soundblaster AE-5 compatible with the Gigabyte GA-890FXA motherboard? I know it has pci express 2.0 slots, but does it works when plug in into these slots without using all slot pins?

Thanks in advance
Anon, maybe I'm just a sound philistine but i have 2 of them, one for each of my computers and i ended up taking out both of them and putting in a box inside the cabinet of my desk. I don't know your motherboard specifically, but most of them come with a very decent sound system inbuilt, and how loud can you really play your music? The ones I bought were...I forget, I think ~140. If you had a $750 rampage extreme with 8 spaces or so then could see doing it. But as it stands, makes no sense. Use the money and space more wisely and get yourself 500 gigs of PCIe storage on a samsung 970. Unless your actual occupation revolves around sound/music, you're just wasting money, space, and time.
t. have two of them
zoomcopter is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #4 of 75 (permalink) Old 09-22-2018, 05:55 AM - Thread Starter
New to Overclock.net
 
firej's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2015
Posts: 56
Rep: 0
Quote: Originally Posted by Vlada011 View Post
This is system requirments and your motherboard have PCI-E x1 slot.

Intel® Core™ i3 or AMD® equivalent processor
Intel, AMD or 100% compatible motherboard
Microsoft® Windows 10 32/64 bit, 8.1/8.0 32/64 bit, Windows 7 32/64 bit
1GB RAM
>600 MB of free hard disk space
Available PCIe slot
I know it has 2x pci-e x1 slots but one my gpu covers over it and the other is above gpu and there is a big heatsink there, so my real question is could be used a pci-e 2.0, I mean the blue slots
https://static.gigabyte.com/Product/2/3417/2953.jpg

MyPC
(15 items)
CPU
Intel Core i7 8700K
GPU
EVGA GTX 1070 Ti FTW
RAM
G.Skill F4-3000C14-16GTZR
RAM
G.Skill F4-3000C14-16GTZR
Hard Drive
Western Digital WD5001AALS-00L3B2
Hard Drive
Samsung SSD 970 Pro 512GB
Power Supply
EVGA PSU SuperNova 850Watt P2 80 Plus Platinum
Cooling
NZXT Kraken x62
Case
Thermaltake V71 Power Edition
Operating System
Fedora 29 x64 Workstation
Operating System
Windows 10 x64 Professional
Monitor
Samsung T240
Keyboard
Microsoft Reculsa
Mouse
Razer DeathAdder Elite
Audio
Sound Blaster AE-5
▲ hide details ▲
firej is offline  
post #5 of 75 (permalink) Old 09-22-2018, 06:07 AM - Thread Starter
New to Overclock.net
 
firej's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2015
Posts: 56
Rep: 0
Quote: Originally Posted by zoomcopter View Post
Anon, maybe I'm just a sound philistine but i have 2 of them, one for each of my computers and i ended up taking out both of them and putting in a box inside the cabinet of my desk. I don't know your motherboard specifically, but most of them come with a very decent sound system inbuilt, and how loud can you really play your music? The ones I bought were...I forget, I think ~140. If you had a $750 rampage extreme with 8 spaces or so then could see doing it. But as it stands, makes no sense. Use the money and space more wisely and get yourself 500 gigs of PCIe storage on a samsung 970. Unless your actual occupation revolves around sound/music, you're just wasting money, space, and time.
t. have two of them
Anyone has his personal opinions, I respect that. But I don't get your point into this, " If you had a $750 rampage extreme with 8 spaces or so then could see doing it. But as it stands, makes no sense.", so if someone could spend 4k dollars on a pc ,then he can buy a soundcard and no one else? This makes more sense to you?
I love music and sound for me is better than to buy a 1080ti gpu or a 4k monitor into what a 27" monitor?
but again thanks for your opinion.

MyPC
(15 items)
CPU
Intel Core i7 8700K
GPU
EVGA GTX 1070 Ti FTW
RAM
G.Skill F4-3000C14-16GTZR
RAM
G.Skill F4-3000C14-16GTZR
Hard Drive
Western Digital WD5001AALS-00L3B2
Hard Drive
Samsung SSD 970 Pro 512GB
Power Supply
EVGA PSU SuperNova 850Watt P2 80 Plus Platinum
Cooling
NZXT Kraken x62
Case
Thermaltake V71 Power Edition
Operating System
Fedora 29 x64 Workstation
Operating System
Windows 10 x64 Professional
Monitor
Samsung T240
Keyboard
Microsoft Reculsa
Mouse
Razer DeathAdder Elite
Audio
Sound Blaster AE-5
▲ hide details ▲
firej is offline  
post #6 of 75 (permalink) Old 09-22-2018, 07:36 PM
New to Overclock.net
 
Vlada011's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2012
Location: Belgrade, Serbia
Posts: 1,972
Rep: 39 (Unique: 29)
Why someone need 700$ Rampage VI Extreme for good sound card.
Maybe someone want to buy Maximus Code or Hero worth 250$ and install best sound as he try to use GTX1080 or GTX1080Ti.
You don't hear some sound effects on onboard sound. They are not only different, they don't HEAR THEM AT ALL, some side effects and something obviously and clearly recognizable even on silent volume on SBZxR or AE-5 you can't hear on SupremeFX.
Sound of guns you used to hear in your favorite games could be very different you change on some much better sound card.
If you pay 250 for motherboard, and 500 for GPU there is a reason to pay 150$ in sound card.

But most of gamers who pay expensive processors, graphic cards have extremely poor cases, weak sound system weak sound cards.
They didn't recognize what happen if you install 150$+ worth sound card and 250-400$ Active Speakers. That's bigger impression than 10 fps more.
For music, movies, gaming, youtube, video-chat, talking over skype, everything...

Go in some store and ask them to connect you AE-5 or SBZxR or Xonar Essence STX II to Audioengine A5+, Kanto YU4/YU6, etc...
That's investment better than 20-30 fps in GPU, because work years without bottleneck and slowing down.

People constant, every year upgrade from 980Ti to 1080Ti to RTX2080Ti and never say wait... I will buy some good DAC and 400$ worth Active Speakers for computer with Bluetooth... one year I will not upgrade GPU I want to change sound for next 10 years. They keep to play on Genius, and 100$ worth Microlab, etc... Logitech... You don't need sound card... You can buy Audioengine D1 or Cembridge Dacmagic 100 and pair of worth speakers...
Or you can use only sound card and speakers. Important to speakers arrive with all options.

For me sound is equal with graphic.

Last edited by Vlada011; 09-22-2018 at 07:44 PM.
Vlada011 is offline  
post #7 of 75 (permalink) Old 09-23-2018, 02:54 PM - Thread Starter
New to Overclock.net
 
firej's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2015
Posts: 56
Rep: 0
Ok I found that x1 or x4 pci express card sound or anything else can work in x16 slot

MyPC
(15 items)
CPU
Intel Core i7 8700K
GPU
EVGA GTX 1070 Ti FTW
RAM
G.Skill F4-3000C14-16GTZR
RAM
G.Skill F4-3000C14-16GTZR
Hard Drive
Western Digital WD5001AALS-00L3B2
Hard Drive
Samsung SSD 970 Pro 512GB
Power Supply
EVGA PSU SuperNova 850Watt P2 80 Plus Platinum
Cooling
NZXT Kraken x62
Case
Thermaltake V71 Power Edition
Operating System
Fedora 29 x64 Workstation
Operating System
Windows 10 x64 Professional
Monitor
Samsung T240
Keyboard
Microsoft Reculsa
Mouse
Razer DeathAdder Elite
Audio
Sound Blaster AE-5
▲ hide details ▲
firej is offline  
post #8 of 75 (permalink) Old 09-23-2018, 06:26 PM
New to Overclock.net
 
Vlada011's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2012
Location: Belgrade, Serbia
Posts: 1,972
Rep: 39 (Unique: 29)
Yes could work, but maybe GPU will go down to x8.
How many PCI-E lanes have CPU?
No matter if you install PCI-E x1 device in x16 slot, he is occupied mobo not calculate number of lanes used.

Anyway you will not see difference in graphic power.
But sometimes these cards better work in x1.
Vlada011 is offline  
post #9 of 75 (permalink) Old 09-25-2018, 11:54 AM - Thread Starter
New to Overclock.net
 
firej's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2015
Posts: 56
Rep: 0
thank you,
my gpu really sucks because i wasn't so lucky to choose the Sapphire R9 270X with a lot of throttling and unstable temps and also with so a noisy fan that only manual you could set it max rpm. I really want to try the sound card now until my upgrade. I dont know how many lanes has my cpu, would you? I have AMD 1090T Black Edition, my motherboard is the Gigabyte GA-890FXA-UD5

MyPC
(15 items)
CPU
Intel Core i7 8700K
GPU
EVGA GTX 1070 Ti FTW
RAM
G.Skill F4-3000C14-16GTZR
RAM
G.Skill F4-3000C14-16GTZR
Hard Drive
Western Digital WD5001AALS-00L3B2
Hard Drive
Samsung SSD 970 Pro 512GB
Power Supply
EVGA PSU SuperNova 850Watt P2 80 Plus Platinum
Cooling
NZXT Kraken x62
Case
Thermaltake V71 Power Edition
Operating System
Fedora 29 x64 Workstation
Operating System
Windows 10 x64 Professional
Monitor
Samsung T240
Keyboard
Microsoft Reculsa
Mouse
Razer DeathAdder Elite
Audio
Sound Blaster AE-5
▲ hide details ▲
firej is offline  
post #10 of 75 (permalink) Old 09-26-2018, 11:36 PM
New to Overclock.net
 
Vlada011's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2012
Location: Belgrade, Serbia
Posts: 1,972
Rep: 39 (Unique: 29)
Quote: Originally Posted by firej View Post
thank you,
my gpu really sucks because i wasn't so lucky to choose the Sapphire R9 270X with a lot of throttling and unstable temps and also with so a noisy fan that only manual you could set it max rpm. I really want to try the sound card now until my upgrade. I dont know how many lanes has my cpu, would you? I have AMD 1090T Black Edition, my motherboard is the Gigabyte GA-890FXA-UD5
No matter on CPU, you will need x1 or x4 PCI-E slot, even new 500$ processors from Intel can't tolerate GPU and Sound Card in PCI-Ex 16 slot in same time. You need Threadripper or Intel Xtreme. Not worth.
Buy freely AE-5. I installed onboard sound card because test something and difference is HUGE. Simply these onboard solution no matter on board cost are not even to close, they not emit some sounds clearly noticable on dedicate sound cards, and better sound cards as AE-5 even change and improve them and they become completely different than on cheaper sound cards.

I had SBZ 4 years - fantastic, and I saw some chance to upgrade on SBZxR, something little in euro I add and sold mine SBZ.
Change again immediately from first start of game, everything, voices, steps, ground, realoading weapons, explosions...everything is different than on onboard solution. I hear AE-5 is little better, same or little lower quality than SBZxR, that mean worth 100%.

But you need to look boards with x1 slot on distance from PCI-E x16.
I don't go on Mini ITX only because sound quality and because I don't want to sell PCI-E for USB and 10 USB devices... no.
Even some mATX boards are limited to x16 slots and that's big mistake. 2x 16 and x1 are far more important than 3x 16 on mATX.
Very rear someone use 3 x16 and 1 x1 on mATX.
Vlada011 is offline  
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the Overclock.net - An Overclocking Community forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.
User Name:
If you do not want to register, fill this field only and the name will be used as user name for your post.
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.
Password:
Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.
Email Address:

Log-in



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off