[Official] BitCoin LiteCoin DigitalCoin and all Crypto Currencies Club And General Information Thread - Page 3 - Overclock.net - An Overclocking Community

Forum Jump: 

[Official] BitCoin LiteCoin DigitalCoin and all Crypto Currencies Club And General Information Thread

Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #21 of 23657 (permalink) Old 06-06-2013, 12:51 PM
New to Overclock.net
 
EPiiKK's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: Finland
Posts: 1,532
Rep: 41 (Unique: 33)
Quote:
Originally Posted by sugarhell View Post

Per month.That means if you mine with a 7970 24/7 you will make 80 dollars more or less. Your electricity is cheap. You are fine.
Damn! I might actually get this done
Would dual cards with CF or without improve a lot?
Does the other system effect much? Like CPU and ram? I know i should get good efficent PSU

EPiiKK is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #22 of 23657 (permalink) Old 06-06-2013, 12:54 PM
I Like Beer
 
Hokies83's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Roanoke VA.
Posts: 7,665
Rep: 261 (Unique: 169)
Quote:
Originally Posted by EPiiKK View Post

Damn! I might actually get this done
Would dual cards with CF or without improve a lot?
Does the other system effect much? Like CPU and ram? I know i should get good efficent PSU

My 3770k at 5.1ghz only does 5.1 mh/s lol there pretty worthless.

Add as many cards as you like..

You can run them in 4x it does not matter for mining They do not need to be in X fire to mine..

You could run 4 7990s on one board and all would mine.
Hokies83 is offline  
post #23 of 23657 (permalink) Old 06-06-2013, 12:56 PM
New to Overclock.net
 
sugarhell's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: 38.051289,23.709791
Posts: 9,327
Rep: 564 (Unique: 287)
Quote:
Originally Posted by EPiiKK View Post

Damn! I might actually get this done
Would dual cards with CF or without improve a lot?
Does the other system effect much? Like CPU and ram? I know i should get good efficent PSU

No you only need gpu core clock nothing else. Downclock your memory.

I had 4 7970s with a formula iv + 965 be. Even if you run your gpu from a pcie x4 it doesnt matter.

Quote:
Originally Posted by BiG StroOnZ
Warning: Spoiler! (Click to show)
No I said if Vega is clocked @ 1600MHz out of the box, I will eat my shoe on Twitch.tv.

Sound good? wink.gif
Warning: Spoiler! (Click to show)
Quote:
Originally Posted by Juicin View Post
Not in games, which is what 99.9999 percent of us care about

And unless you own a business, you get paid for your time. So your compute power just makes more work for you not less

Ryzen is a joke to the vast majority of the market who would consider buying their product.
sugarhell is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #24 of 23657 (permalink) Old 06-06-2013, 12:56 PM
Retired Staff
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Here nor there
Posts: 25,201
Rep: 1299 (Unique: 730)
Quote:
Originally Posted by Takla View Post

dont think thats gonna continue to pay off. if one 7970 pulls around 700 Mhash/s one of these http://www.bitcoinx.com/bitcoin-mining-hardware/ will grant a ton more and safe energy


Just a FYI, I only pay utilities for 2 7870s and 1 7970s.
All other HW is mining elsewhere, but yeah the ASICs are definitely on my radar.


grunion is offline  
post #25 of 23657 (permalink) Old 06-06-2013, 12:58 PM
New to Overclock.net
 
EPiiKK's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: Finland
Posts: 1,532
Rep: 41 (Unique: 33)
Quote:
Originally Posted by Hokies83 View Post

My 3770k at 5.1ghz only does 5.1 mh/s lol there pretty worthless.

Add as many cards as you like..

You can run them in 4x it does not matter for mining They do not need to be in X fire to mine..

You could run 4 7990s on one board and all would mine.
I might be a bit lazy right now just asking here, but let's say i got like an ancient PC put together from salvaged parts, maybe even ddr2 memory and all that good stuff, would they hold back my 7970 or 7950 mining?

EPiiKK is offline  
post #26 of 23657 (permalink) Old 06-06-2013, 12:59 PM
New to Overclock.net
 
SgtHop's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Eugene, OR
Posts: 4,866
Rep: 161 (Unique: 125)
Quote:
Originally Posted by EPiiKK View Post

I might be a bit lazy right now just asking here, but let's say i got like an ancient PC put together from salvaged parts, maybe even ddr2 memory and all that good stuff, would they hold back my 7970 or 7950 mining?

No, not really, as long as the system could run the cards. GPU compute doesn't utilize very much bandwidth, so it would be fine on a PCIe 2.0. I believe 7970s can run just fine on the old spec, so you should be good to go.

This is my signature. There are many like it, but this one's mine.


SgtHop is offline  
post #27 of 23657 (permalink) Old 06-06-2013, 01:08 PM
New to Overclock.net
 
Artur's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: Barcelona, EU
Posts: 148
Rep: 6 (Unique: 5)
I might get into BitCoin mining biggrin.gif

I've got a 6990 currently, and the great deal is that electricity is free at my place... (weird trouble between the landlord and the electric company, not sure how much it shall last).
Given this awesome advantage, what do you recommend? (:

Thanks for the advice!

PS: I've also got a 6850 btw. Are these cards enough to make anything decent, or do you suggest something else?


Diehard Logitech User.
Artur is offline  
post #28 of 23657 (permalink) Old 06-06-2013, 01:16 PM
I Like Beer
 
Hokies83's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Roanoke VA.
Posts: 7,665
Rep: 261 (Unique: 169)
Quote:
Originally Posted by AlphaC View Post

THIS.

Litecoin is ASIC-proof at the moment due to the memory use. At current rates you make 20%-30% more over BTC.

Well they have only said ok To bit coin as far as i know.

I will use this thread as general information for all coins once the ok is given.

Digicoin Litecoin terracoin etc.

When starting out throwing all these coins at somebody could very easily confuse them.
Quote:
Originally Posted by PR-Imagery View Post

Pretty much me. 38 cents for anything over 1000kwh, 24cents over 700kwh.
My average as it is with folding and boincing 1 week a month on my 7970 or 580s is around 1200kwhs for the household (or around $550)

Are there any confirmed power usage for those asic units? One the smaller units could definitely be a possibility for those with high power costs

Yah if you are interested in mining id look at Asic machines.

You can check Ebay for them.. People sell there " pre order " places for an inflated price.
Hokies83 is offline  
post #29 of 23657 (permalink) Old 06-06-2013, 01:40 PM
New to Overclock.net
 
farmdve's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Posts: 1,711
Rep: 22 (Unique: 22)
Quote:
Originally Posted by xNovax View Post

Asics have been going to "hit" for a while now.
This time they are coming. Some numbers are startling like a difficulty of 700m in December, or other numbers such as 1200TH/s more.
Quote:
Originally Posted by Qu1ckset View Post

thats not very much... Thanks for the info, il just build a suitable rig in the fall after i complete my main rig rebuild.

Last question, does mining use alot of bandwidth a month, like what would be the avg monthly total? MB?? GB??
With the recent Stratum mining protocol, Bitcoin mining uses even less bandwidth.

Current
(5 items)
CPU
i7-8700k
Motherboard
ASRock Z370 Extreme4
GPU
GTX 1070
RAM
Corsair
Case
Fractal XL R2
▲ hide details ▲
farmdve is offline  
post #30 of 23657 (permalink) Old 06-06-2013, 01:42 PM
New to Overclock.net
 
xNovax's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: █ ♣ █
Posts: 1,530
Rep: 40 (Unique: 26)
Quote:
Originally Posted by farmdve View Post

This time they are coming. Some numbers are startling like a difficulty of 700m in December, or other numbers such as 1200TH/s more.
With the recent Stratum mining protocol, Bitcoin mining uses even less bandwidth.

I'm not worried. There will always be some other type of coin such as litecoin.
xNovax is offline  
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the Overclock.net - An Overclocking Community forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.
User Name:
If you do not want to register, fill this field only and the name will be used as user name for your post.
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.
Password:
Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.
Email Address:

Log-in



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off