GTX 750 Ti mining - Page 18 - Overclock.net - An Overclocking Community

Forum Jump: 

GTX 750 Ti mining

Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #171 of 1291 (permalink) Old 03-03-2014, 10:19 AM
New to Overclock.net
 
HardwareDecoder's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Posts: 4,514
Rep: 142 (Unique: 106)
Quote:
Originally Posted by Americonfusion View Post

I really don't know the mechanics behind it, I just read it somewhere and saw definitive results when using it.

I am also seeing some benefit to using it, around 20 khash to be precise. Just got my first 750ti gigabyte. Flashed to 65W tdp, +135 core/625 mem.

271 khash w/ out chrome -- 295 w/ using:

-m 1 -l T5x24 -i 0 -H 2

right now this is on my intel z77 test bench using a sintech.cn USB3 powered riser+6 pin pci-e. Hopefully everything plays nice with my gigabyte amd 990 boards I ordered.

I will do some tests with a watt meter tonight.

HardwareDecoder is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #172 of 1291 (permalink) Old 03-03-2014, 10:52 AM
New to Overclock.net
 
ivanlabrie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Buenos Aires, Argentina. Land of the obscenely expensive hardware
Posts: 8,638
Rep: 350 (Unique: 189)
Quote:
Originally Posted by HardwareDecoder View Post

I am also seeing some benefit to using it, around 20 khash to be precise. Just got my first 750ti gigabyte. Flashed to 65W tdp, +135 core/625 mem.

271 khash w/ out chrome -- 295 w/ using:

-m 1 -l T5x24 -i 0 -H 2

right now this is on my intel z77 test bench using a sintech.cn USB3 powered riser+6 pin pci-e. Hopefully everything plays nice with my gigabyte amd 990 boards I ordered.

I will do some tests with a watt meter tonight.

Try -m 0 and experiment with the different pci-e slots/riser combinations, cudaminer still relies on bus bandwidth more than cgminer sadly...also a work in progress.

As for the linux ocing tool, no links yet, maybe it's nvidia themselves working on it, cause they did submit the T kernel you're using to the cudaminer dev to improve their cards mining performance. They are interested in competing with AMD in the mining scene.
ivanlabrie is offline  
post #173 of 1291 (permalink) Old 03-03-2014, 11:25 AM
New to Overclock.net
 
HardwareDecoder's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Posts: 4,514
Rep: 142 (Unique: 106)
Quote:
Originally Posted by ivanlabrie View Post

Try -m 0 and experiment with the different pci-e slots/riser combinations, cudaminer still relies on bus bandwidth more than cgminer sadly...also a work in progress.

As for the linux ocing tool, no links yet, maybe it's nvidia themselves working on it, cause they did submit the T kernel you're using to the cudaminer dev to improve their cards mining performance. They are interested in competing with AMD in the mining scene.

hey thanks for the tip, -m 0 seems to give the same results. I only have the one card now so I haven't messed with different slots. All my risers are from the same company. I am really hoping not having any issues running 6 of these on a rig on an amd board.

HardwareDecoder is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #174 of 1291 (permalink) Old 03-03-2014, 12:38 PM
New to Overclock.net
 
ccRicers's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2013
Location: Chicago, IL
Posts: 2,791
Rep: 72 (Unique: 66)
Would selling a 7970 and 7950 for 4 of the 750ti's plus motherboard and CPU be a good idea? I have the 7970 mining alone in one system, and the 7950 isn't doing anything because I do not have another free slot for it. The electricity costs are what has me most interested in these cards.

I could keep the 7970 and buy two 750 ti's for a separate system but I want to keep as many cards in one system as possible to save room.
ccRicers is offline  
post #175 of 1291 (permalink) Old 03-03-2014, 12:46 PM
New to Overclock.net
 
ivanlabrie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Buenos Aires, Argentina. Land of the obscenely expensive hardware
Posts: 8,638
Rep: 350 (Unique: 189)
Quote:
Originally Posted by ccRicers View Post

Would selling a 7970 and 7950 for 4 of the 750ti's plus motherboard and CPU be a good idea? I have the 7970 mining alone in one system, and the 7950 isn't doing anything because I do not have another free slot for it. The electricity costs are what has me most interested in these cards.

I could keep the 7970 and buy two 750 ti's for a separate system but I want to keep as many cards in one system as possible to save room.

Personally I'd do it...
ivanlabrie is offline  
post #176 of 1291 (permalink) Old 03-03-2014, 12:55 PM
New to Overclock.net
 
ccRicers's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2013
Location: Chicago, IL
Posts: 2,791
Rep: 72 (Unique: 66)
Quote:
Originally Posted by ivanlabrie View Post

Personally I'd do it...

I'm also leaning towards that. The 7970 is great and reliable but a bit of a power hog. I hope to OC the 750's so I can get 300 kh/s for each, with 3 cards that already beats my 7970.

The motherboard I have in mind is this one: http://www.amazon.com/Gigabyte-DisplayPort-Dual-link-Motherboard-GA-F2A88X-UP4/dp/B00FBCCKIW/

I could have up to 3 cards without powered risers running on it.

Also I am curious to see if people are trying to passively cool these cards what with their low TDP, or keeping the fan speeds low. I have no experience using nVidia or Cudaminer to mine, but I hope it has the same sort of options as Cgminer.
ccRicers is offline  
post #177 of 1291 (permalink) Old 03-03-2014, 01:25 PM
New to Overclock.net
 
ivanlabrie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Buenos Aires, Argentina. Land of the obscenely expensive hardware
Posts: 8,638
Rep: 350 (Unique: 189)
It's way more basic, think of cpuminer/minerd but now picture it spitting out GTX 750 TI 320kh/s - YAY!
That's as good as it gets...

I prefer it since you can mine most algos with it, unlike with sgminer and similar, you need a modded cgminer fork for each new coin.

I chose the z87x-oc for the 750ti rigs I'm building...4 gpus without risers (less of a penalty, less hassle finding and handling super cheap chinese cables made by slaves somewhere) and with the oc brace thing I can turn the board into a "mining tray" without the need for anything else.
ivanlabrie is offline  
post #178 of 1291 (permalink) Old 03-03-2014, 02:52 PM - Thread Starter
⤷ αC
 
AlphaC's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Posts: 10,726
Rep: 874 (Unique: 577)
HardwareDecoder , the 6-pin is going to provide more stable power than a "made in china" PCI-e riser with some solder, hot glue, and maybe a capacitor wink.gif. The safe allowable wattage really depends on the wire gauge used by the riser. I'm pretty sure cam wasn't trying to be snarky.

As far as the AMD motherboards go it's iffy. Some people have reported issues with decreased hashrate compared to running them on the board , the cudaminer dev conjectured that it's because of added resistance of PCI-e risers to the Northbridge
Quote:
Originally Posted by dph314 View Post

Hmm. Well I know Chrome uses the GPU, puts a small load on it. But if that load is something other than the mining software, how would that help anything?


Also, was just going to ask what the best/lowest-fee miner is that most people are using now. I've been using the ones in the OP of the PTS Mining Guide thread for now.

Chrome with a flash game open forces the GPU to go into 3D mode

Nvidia has a bad habit of trying to save power (throttle) even when a 100% non-3D load is on it.

----

ccRicers , it's worth it if you can get the GTX 750 Ti for cheaper than $170 if your power is expensive.


Gigabyte GTX 750 Ti update
http://www.reddit.com/r/litecoinmining/comments/1zfx90/issues_optimising_gigabyte_gtx_750_ti_2gb_oc/
Quote:
Cudaminer-2014-02-28 setting: –no-autotune -l T5x24 -H 2 -m 1 -i 0
Stock = 232KH/s.
+60 core clock / +600 memory clock = 257KH/s but unstable.
+60/+600 + Chrome+Youtube = 269KH/s but unstable.
+50/+500 + Chrome+Youtube = 267KH/s stable.
Trying: +135/700 unstable (setting used in the link).
+115/675 unstable.
+95/700 unstable.
+95/650 = 265KH/s (278KH/s with Chrome/Youtube trick).
user then got 290+ kh/s using 32 bit cudaminer

reasoning: http://www.reddit.com/r/dogemining/comments/1zek7b/the_x86_version_of_cudaminer_always_give_me/cft3ta2
Quote:
pointers take 2 registers in CUDA code for 64 bit, and just 1 register in 32 bit code.
registers are the most limiting resource in CUDA, so using less makes it faster.

► Recommended GPU Projects: [email protected] , [email protected] (FP64) (AMD moreso) ► Other notable GPU projects: [email protected] (Nvidia), GPUGrid (Nvidia) ► Project list


AlphaC is offline  
post #179 of 1291 (permalink) Old 03-03-2014, 03:10 PM
New to Overclock.net
 
ccRicers's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2013
Location: Chicago, IL
Posts: 2,791
Rep: 72 (Unique: 66)
Quote:
Originally Posted by ivanlabrie View Post

It's way more basic, think of cpuminer/minerd but now picture it spitting out GTX 750 TI 320kh/s - YAY!
That's as good as it gets...

I prefer it since you can mine most algos with it, unlike with sgminer and similar, you need a modded cgminer fork for each new coin.

I chose the z87x-oc for the 750ti rigs I'm building...4 gpus without risers (less of a penalty, less hassle finding and handling super cheap chinese cables made by slaves somewhere) and with the oc brace thing I can turn the board into a "mining tray" without the need for anything else.

The z87x-oc looks perfect. Hmm, costs $90 more than my original choice but I like not needing to take up more space, no need for a custom frame or risers and such. I don't also don't see any worry to pack these GPUs tightly as I do with the real powerful ones.
Quote:
ccRicers , it's worth it if you can get the GTX 750 Ti for cheaper than $170 if your power is expensive.

My power rose from $45 to $85 last month after running a 7970 all day and a 7950 about 12 hours a day. I still got more than $40 from mining, but I found it to be too much electrical costs for not much hash rate.
ccRicers is offline  
post #180 of 1291 (permalink) Old 03-03-2014, 03:20 PM
New to Overclock.net
 
ivanlabrie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Buenos Aires, Argentina. Land of the obscenely expensive hardware
Posts: 8,638
Rep: 350 (Unique: 189)
Quote:
Originally Posted by ccRicers View Post

The z87x-oc looks perfect. Hmm, costs $90 more than my original choice but I like not needing to take up more space, no need for a custom frame or risers and such. I don't also don't see any worry to pack these GPUs tightly as I do with the real powerful ones.
My power rose from $45 to $85 last month after running a 7970 all day and a 7950 about 12 hours a day. I still got more than $40 from mining, but I found it to be too much electrical costs for not much hash rate.

Agreed, it's my board of choice...either that or the asrock oc formula, if the z87x goes OOS.
ivanlabrie is offline  
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the Overclock.net - An Overclocking Community forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.
User Name:
If you do not want to register, fill this field only and the name will be used as user name for your post.
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.
Password:
Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.
Email Address:

Log-in



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off