GTX 750 Ti mining - Page 20 - Overclock.net - An Overclocking Community

Forum Jump: 

GTX 750 Ti mining

Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #191 of 1291 (permalink) Old 03-03-2014, 10:13 PM
New to Overclock.net
 
gfgrimm's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2014
Posts: 37
Rep: 0
My Zotac reference 750 Tis perform better than my ASUS 6-pin models...Made me a sad panda...since the ASUS models were $10 more expensive. The ASUS MEM CLK's wouldn't OC worth a ****. The Zotac MEM CLK is much more flexible...just my experience.

BTW, Windows 8.1 x64 was causing my scalability issues...now getting 1740 kH/s on 6 750 Tis on the USB 3.0 x1 riser cable assemblies.

Is there a CLI for MSI AB? I need to automate my tuned over clocks for each card individually. I have all of the information in a spreadsheet, but still have to spend 1-2 mins manually setting and applying everything.
gfgrimm is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #192 of 1291 (permalink) Old 03-03-2014, 10:13 PM
New to Overclock.net
 
ccRicers's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2013
Location: Chicago, IL
Posts: 2,791
Rep: 72 (Unique: 66)
That's good to know. I went for the EVGA OC because of no pins, and because it's EVGA tongue.gif

Setting up Cudaminer on Linux sounds daunting though lol
ccRicers is offline  
post #193 of 1291 (permalink) Old 03-03-2014, 10:16 PM
New to Overclock.net
 
HardwareDecoder's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Posts: 4,514
Rep: 142 (Unique: 106)
Quote:
Originally Posted by ccRicers View Post

That's good to know. I went for the EVGA OC because of no pins, and because it's EVGA tongue.gif

Setting up Cudaminer on Linux sounds daunting though lol

it really does, people love to bash AMD linux drivers but setitng up OpenCL was alot easier than the guides i've seen to get cuda to work.

I will have to do it eventually though because I really don't like windows for production machines.
Thank god I can run BAMT for the dozens of 280x's I have.


Problem with linux is we need software to overclock or for someone to show us how to change clocks in bios for the 750 ti.

I had pmed that skyn3t guy on here that is an nvidia bios guy but he wasn't interested in helping us redface.gif

HardwareDecoder is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #194 of 1291 (permalink) Old 03-03-2014, 10:19 PM
New to Overclock.net
 
maarten12100's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Location: Hillegom, Netherlands
Posts: 10,254
Rep: 369 (Unique: 231)
Quote:
Originally Posted by wholeeo View Post

Crazy, the power efficiency of these things. Don't they run without PCIE cables plugged in or is that the 750 non ti?
As efficient in mining as a 270
Dissapointment
maarten12100 is offline  
post #195 of 1291 (permalink) Old 03-03-2014, 10:33 PM
Pigeon Poop Enthusiast
 
wholeeo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: New Jersey
Posts: 3,970
Rep: 254 (Unique: 187)
Quote:
Originally Posted by maarten12100 View Post

As efficient in mining as a 270
Dissapointment

Hey girl, please show me where I mentioned anything about khash/w. i'll wait, rolleyes.gif

{CPU} i7-7700K @ 5.2/[email protected] {MB} Asus Z270G MATX {Ram} EVGA SuperSC 16GB DDR4 3200 @ 3600
{GPU} Zotac GTX 1080 {Case} TT P3 {PSU} Evga SuperNova 1200W P2 {Fans} Corsair ML120 Pros
{Rads}EKWB XE 360 {Pump} EK-XRES 140 Revo D5 {Blocks} EKWB Nickel Plexi GPU & CPU Blocks
{Monitors} Acer XB270HU (G-Sync) & Asus PB278Q {Keyboard} Corsair K70 Reds {Mouse} EVGA Torq X5 Optical
Foxhound
(16 items)
CPU
i7 7700K
Motherboard
Asus Z270G
GPU
Zotac GTX 1080 FE
RAM
EVGA DDR4 SC SuperClocked
Hard Drive
Samsung 960 EVO
Power Supply
EVGA 1200 P2
Cooling
EKWB XE 360
Cooling
EK-XRES 140 Revo D5
Cooling
EKWB Nickel Plexi FC-1080
Cooling
Corsair ML120 x3
Case
ThermalTake P3
Operating System
Microsoft Windows 10 Pro
Monitor
Acer XB270HU
Monitor
Asus PB278Q
Keyboard
Corsair K70
Mouse
EVGA Torq X5
▲ hide details ▲
wholeeo is offline  
post #196 of 1291 (permalink) Old 03-03-2014, 10:37 PM
New to Overclock.net
 
maarten12100's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Location: Hillegom, Netherlands
Posts: 10,254
Rep: 369 (Unique: 231)
Quote:
Originally Posted by wholeeo View Post

Hey girl, please show me where I mentioned anything about khash/w. i'll wait, rolleyes.gif
Just saying they really aren't all that efficient for mining yet. No need to patronize me.

Clearly you should be mining something different than Litecoin aka standard scrypt.
maarten12100 is offline  
post #197 of 1291 (permalink) Old 03-03-2014, 10:44 PM
New to Overclock.net
 
ccRicers's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2013
Location: Chicago, IL
Posts: 2,791
Rep: 72 (Unique: 66)
Quote:
Originally Posted by HardwareDecoder View Post

it really does, people love to bash AMD linux drivers but setitng up OpenCL was alot easier than the guides i've seen to get cuda to work.

I will have to do it eventually though because I really don't like windows for production machines.
Thank god I can run BAMT for the dozens of 280x's I have.

Problem with linux is we need software to overclock or for someone to show us how to change clocks in bios for the 750 ti.

I had pmed that skyn3t guy on here that is an nvidia bios guy but he wasn't interested in helping us redface.gif

I don't even use BAMT. I followed the Cryptobadger guide mostly and have been running Xubuntu on an old Athlon 64 system and Cgminer 2.11. Mining has been a breeze for the most part. I was just stumped when it came to Vertcoin and solo mining on Linux. I like doing all of that through SSH. With Windows as a remote machine I feel more "locked out" as it's not as simple to control them remotely.
ccRicers is offline  
post #198 of 1291 (permalink) Old 03-04-2014, 12:45 AM
New to Overclock.net
 
Partol's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Posts: 734
Rep: 34 (Unique: 29)
Quote:
Originally Posted by maarten12100 View Post

Just saying they really aren't all that efficient for mining yet. No need to patronize me.

Clearly you should be mining something different than Litecoin aka standard scrypt.

For litecoin mining, which gpu's are more energy efficient than a R9 270 and a GTX 750 Ti?

Partol is offline  
post #199 of 1291 (permalink) Old 03-04-2014, 01:36 AM
New to Overclock.net
 
maarten12100's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Location: Hillegom, Netherlands
Posts: 10,254
Rep: 369 (Unique: 231)
Quote:
Originally Posted by Partol View Post

For litecoin mining, which gpu's are more energy efficient than a R9 270 and a GTX 750 Ti?
Just saying it doesn't completely dethrone the 270 in normal scrypt, let's wait for cuda mining to get better.
maarten12100 is offline  
post #200 of 1291 (permalink) Old 03-04-2014, 01:51 AM
New to Overclock.net
 
gfgrimm's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2014
Posts: 37
Rep: 0
Well boys and girls, I've made some progress.

Currently here is my setup:

2x Zotac Reference 750 Ti
4x ASUS OC'd+PCIe-6pin 750 Ti
ASUS Z87-Pro
Intel Core-i5 4670k
4GB DDR3 1333MHz
1kW PSU
6x x1 USB3 Riser Cable Asemblies
Old Seagate 320GB HDD

I have identified two separate issues.

#1 PCIe x1-mode performance for Cudaminer
Cudaminer apparently has a high PCIe bandwidth utilization...thus when going from x16 mode to anything lower, as you get closer to x1 mode (risers or not), you're going to see degradation of performance (10-30 kH/s for 750 Ti in my experience). Cudaminer author is apparently going to be working to fix this ASAP since he'll soon be operating a 750 Ti rig with riser assemblies.


#2 Windows 8.1x64 + > 2 GPUs = scaling disaster: With six GPU's loaded, I could not get > 1400 kH/s. Seeing as how there has been anecdotal evidence of others having success at scaling GPUs in windows, this was perplexing to me. Additionally, the system felt realllly unstable with all of the cards at stock speeds...seemed like just having six cards running at once was asking too much for W8.1x64+Nvidia driver. I tried Ubuntu 12.04 x64...that seemed to scale OK, as I could get ~1600 kH/s, but I was stock at ~stock performance. I learned how to increase the MEM CLK with Kepler BIOS Tweaker, and that helped a little bit and was what allowed me to hit 1600 kH/s. Main issue with a Linux solution is abysmal OC capabilities. Ain't nobody got time for that. Finally it hit me...these guys on these forums aren't paying for Windows licenses, they're torenting Windows 7 off of BT. They, unlike me, don't have readily available MSFT product keys to throw away. That is what bit me in the ass. I installed WIndows 7 x64...sure enough...GPU's scaled, system is buttery stable, and now I could individually tune my GPUs with individual over clock settings ala MSI AB. This is how I now achieve ~1760 kH/s on six cards.

I've accepted that my investment in ASUS 750 Ti's was a bad choice, and I'm dealing with it. The MEM CLK's wont OC well at all compared to the Zotac Cards. Cooling is not an issue nor is availability of power.
gfgrimm is offline  
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the Overclock.net - An Overclocking Community forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.
User Name:
If you do not want to register, fill this field only and the name will be used as user name for your post.
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.
Password:
Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.
Email Address:

Log-in



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off