GTX 750 Ti mining - Page 21 - Overclock.net - An Overclocking Community

Forum Jump: 

GTX 750 Ti mining

Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #201 of 1291 (permalink) Old 03-04-2014, 06:52 AM
New to Overclock.net
 
HardwareDecoder's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Posts: 4,514
Rep: 142 (Unique: 106)
Quote:
Originally Posted by gfgrimm View Post

Well boys and girls, I've made some progress.

Currently here is my setup:

2x Zotac Reference 750 Ti
4x ASUS OC'd+PCIe-6pin 750 Ti
ASUS Z87-Pro
Intel Core-i5 4670k
4GB DDR3 1333MHz
1kW PSU
6x x1 USB3 Riser Cable Asemblies
Old Seagate 320GB HDD

I have identified two separate issues.

#1 PCIe x1-mode performance for Cudaminer
Cudaminer apparently has a high PCIe bandwidth utilization...thus when going from x16 mode to anything lower, as you get closer to x1 mode (risers or not), you're going to see degradation of performance (10-30 kH/s for 750 Ti in my experience). Cudaminer author is apparently going to be working to fix this ASAP since he'll soon be operating a 750 Ti rig with riser assemblies.


#2 Windows 8.1x64 + > 2 GPUs = scaling disaster: With six GPU's loaded, I could not get > 1400 kH/s. Seeing as how there has been anecdotal evidence of others having success at scaling GPUs in windows, this was perplexing to me. Additionally, the system felt realllly unstable with all of the cards at stock speeds...seemed like just having six cards running at once was asking too much for W8.1x64+Nvidia driver. I tried Ubuntu 12.04 x64...that seemed to scale OK, as I could get ~1600 kH/s, but I was stock at ~stock performance. I learned how to increase the MEM CLK with Kepler BIOS Tweaker, and that helped a little bit and was what allowed me to hit 1600 kH/s. Main issue with a Linux solution is abysmal OC capabilities. Ain't nobody got time for that. Finally it hit me...these guys on these forums aren't paying for Windows licenses, they're torenting Windows 7 off of BT. They, unlike me, don't have readily available MSFT product keys to throw away. That is what bit me in the ass. I installed WIndows 7 x64...sure enough...GPU's scaled, system is buttery stable, and now I could individually tune my GPUs with individual over clock settings ala MSI AB. This is how I now achieve ~1760 kH/s on six cards.

I've accepted that my investment in ASUS 750 Ti's was a bad choice, and I'm dealing with it. The MEM CLK's wont OC worth a **** compared to the Zotac Cards. Cooling is not an issue nor is availability of power.

I had figured windows was to blame. at least win7 works you say. I'll use that until Linux has over clocking tools or we get bios editing figured out. my business partner has a technet acct so licenses aren't an issue

HardwareDecoder is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #202 of 1291 (permalink) Old 03-04-2014, 06:52 AM
New to Overclock.net
 
Americonfusion's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2014
Posts: 33
Rep: 4 (Unique: 3)
Quote:
Originally Posted by maarten12100 View Post

As efficient in mining as a 270
Dissapointment

I don't know what numbers they were using but that khash/watt number is waaaay off. Your typical 750ti gets 300khs and uses only 60 watts so more like 5 khs/watt not 2.35.
Americonfusion is offline  
post #203 of 1291 (permalink) Old 03-04-2014, 09:39 AM
New to Overclock.net
 
dotaduck's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Posts: 74
Rep: 6 (Unique: 6)
Just got my Zotac 750Ti (Non-OC). I thought for some reason this is supposed to have a 6-pin but wasn't there.

Using these settings atm: http://imgur.com/TDHY3mZ

If I make the core even 1MHz higher, it resets to 1032. My mem is stable around 1755.

Getting about 301-304 kh/s. Can I make it even higher somehow?

I have another issue which is the temperature. It's hitting about 66'C in ambient 22'C room temperature

dotaduck is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #204 of 1291 (permalink) Old 03-04-2014, 09:42 AM
New to Overclock.net
 
Aurosonic's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2014
Posts: 53
Rep: 1 (Unique: 1)
Quote:
Originally Posted by gfgrimm View Post

I installed WIndows 7 x64...sure enough...GPU's scaled, system is buttery stable, and now I could individually tune my GPUs with individual over clock settings ala MSI AB. This is how I now achieve ~1760 kH/s on six cards.

I've accepted that my investment in ASUS 750 Ti's was a bad choice, and I'm dealing with it. The MEM CLK's wont OC worth a **** compared to the Zotac Cards. Cooling is not an issue nor is availability of power.

I love you ! You saved my day ! I've installed windows 7 x64 and now got my 1740kh with 6 MSI 750Ti TF with overclock +135/+300 ... Yay . I'm happy now after like a week of experiencing with stupid win 8.1

Thanks a lot !

Aurosonic is offline  
post #205 of 1291 (permalink) Old 03-04-2014, 01:29 PM
New to Overclock.net
 
gfgrimm's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2014
Posts: 37
Rep: 0
Quote:
Originally Posted by Aurosonic View Post

I love you ! You saved my day ! I've installed windows 7 x64 and now got my 1740kh with 6 MSI 750Ti TF with overclock +135/+300 ... Yay . I'm happy now after like a week of experiencing with stupid win 8.1

Thanks a lot !


Unless that's a selfie on your desktop, I'm going to ignore your first sentence.

Haha, glad I could be of some help to others. I think the problem lies with Nvidia's driver implementation, as I don't think AMD people are having the same problems as us on W8.1x64.
gfgrimm is offline  
post #206 of 1291 (permalink) Old 03-04-2014, 03:32 PM - Thread Starter
⤷ αC
 
AlphaC's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Posts: 10,272
Rep: 830 (Unique: 555)
Quote:
Originally Posted by dotaduck View Post

Just got my Zotac 750Ti (Non-OC). I thought for some reason this is supposed to have a 6-pin but wasn't there.

Using these settings atm: http://imgur.com/TDHY3mZ

If I make the core even 1MHz higher, it resets to 1032. My mem is stable around 1755.

Getting about 301-304 kh/s. Can I make it even higher somehow?

I have another issue which is the temperature. It's hitting about 66'C in ambient 22'C room temperature

ZOTAC DUAL fan has 6 pin

► Recommended GPU Projects: [email protected] , [email protected] (FP64) (AMD moreso) ► Other notable GPU projects: [email protected] (Nvidia), GPUGrid (Nvidia) ► Project list


AlphaC is online now  
post #207 of 1291 (permalink) Old 03-04-2014, 05:05 PM
New to Overclock.net
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Posts: 142
Rep: 2 (Unique: 2)
So, here is my proposed first build. Can someone correct me if my math is wrong, or I have a complete misunderstanding of mining?

6x @ $159.99 = 959.94 - 10% discount = 863.95 http://www.amazon.com/gp/product/B00IDG3IDO
1x @ $129.99 - 10% = $116.99 http://www.amazon.com/gp/product/B008G9MX48
1x @ $49.99 http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E16819116974
1x @ $40.99 http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E16820104238
1x @ 69.99 + 6.98 shipping = $76.97 http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E16813157471

959.94
116.99
49.99
40.99
+ 69.99
= 1237.9 total

http://cryptomining-blog.com/tag/geforce-gtx-750-ti-power-usage/ stating they are getting 250kH/s at 28W and 300kH/s at 34W

Rounding up and estimating here, I can pull in 1800 kH/s at 240W add in the cpu/mobo usage, nowhere near or over 100w. Here my rate is .07 for 0-800kwh and .08 for 800-1500kwh and .09 for 1500+kwh. Currently I use ~800kwh so I can plan for the .08 tier of power for my rig.

At 350W of usage, I suspect I would see 250kwh usage in a months time. at .08 usage rate, My estimated monthly running cost would be $20/mo per 1800kh/s.

Using calculators, I see I can estimate running solo to gain me 14-15ltc per month. Which is somewhere around $250/mo. subtracting usage of power I am at $230 profit per month. This would leave me at about $7.60 net gains per day.

To pay off my initial cost of $1237.90 (provided litecoin difficulty and value does not change) I would have to mine for an estimated 163 days. or 5.5 months. Being I can probably quickly and easily sell my components at 50% cost. I can break even after 2.5 months of mining.

Everything thereafter would be 100% profit in my eyes. Please let me know if you see any flaws in my math.

EDIT: I was hoping to run under a linux/debian build, seems like a different OS may be better suited for mining with nvidia cards. Can someone give some input on this? THis thread is simply too long to skim through for my answers.

Cheetohz is offline  
post #208 of 1291 (permalink) Old 03-04-2014, 05:07 PM - Thread Starter
⤷ αC
 
AlphaC's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Posts: 10,272
Rep: 830 (Unique: 555)
Cheetohz , you don't want to use the EVGA SC for mining. It lacks a 6 pin and likely uses reference design with d-paks (another user over on the Maxwell thread said they clearly see an iron choke). Reference also uses slower 5GHz rated Hynix GDDR5 memory

ASUS Dual fan (3+1 , 6 pin) ... Samsung K4G41325FC-HC03 rated for 6Ghz
Galaxy GC (3+1 , 6 pin) ... unsure how high the Hynix H5GC2H24BFR-T2C will clock on memory though it's rated for 6GHz
Gigabyte Dual fan (2+1 , 6 pin) ... Samsung K4G41325FC-HC03
ZOTAC dual fan (2+1, 6 pin) ... Hynix H5GC4H24MFR-T2C ... 5Ghz , same as reference memory

those are better choices for risers , the MSI GTX 750 Ti Gaming Twin Frozr IV (4+1 or 3+1, Samsung K4G41325FC-HC03) is also a decent choice if you're using some form of auxiliary power to the motherboard

Also power used by the card is not calculated at the wall. cryptomining-blog did it at the board

► Recommended GPU Projects: [email protected] , [email protected] (FP64) (AMD moreso) ► Other notable GPU projects: [email protected] (Nvidia), GPUGrid (Nvidia) ► Project list


AlphaC is online now  
post #209 of 1291 (permalink) Old 03-04-2014, 06:52 PM
New to Overclock.net
 
computerparts's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: In the shadows
Posts: 1,798
Rep: 153 (Unique: 132)
Can anyone help me out? I have the Gigabyte windforce 750ti on windows 7 x64 and can't seem to get anything above 235 kh/s on stock clocks and 250 kh/s oc'd. The card is unflashed on a Z77 mobo and I'm using 32 bit version of cudaminer with this config -l T5x24 -H 2 -m 1 -i 0. Drivers are 334.89 whql. I was under the impression that I'd be able to get at least 270 kh/s on stock clocks unflashed but maybe I was wrong?

Quote:
Originally Posted by Masta Squidge go_quote.gif

Clearly not, you don't know how it works. The CPU has to build every individual frame before it sends the data to the GPU to be rendered.
FX-8120 vs. 2500k BenchmarksAMD FX Clubsniper.gif
computerparts is offline  
post #210 of 1291 (permalink) Old 03-04-2014, 09:21 PM
New to Overclock.net
 
ccRicers's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2013
Location: Chicago, IL
Posts: 2,791
Rep: 72 (Unique: 66)
Quote:
Originally Posted by AlphaC View Post

Cheetohz , you don't want to use the EVGA SC for mining. It lacks a 6 pin and likely uses reference design with d-paks (another user over on the Maxwell thread said they clearly see an iron choke). Reference also uses slower 5GHz rated Hynix GDDR5 memory

Ah, I really wish I had know this before buying two EVGA SC's. What hashrate would I expect out of them at stock clocks? I ordered them actually because of the lack of 6-pin connectors. But I am connecting all my cards directly to the PCIe slots- no risers.

By the Gigabyte Dual Fan you mean the Windforce?
ccRicers is offline  
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the Overclock.net - An Overclocking Community forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.
User Name:
If you do not want to register, fill this field only and the name will be used as user name for your post.
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.
Password:
Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.
Email Address:

Log-in



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off