Wireless Disconnecting Constantly - Overclock.net - An Overclocking Community

Forum Jump: 

Wireless Disconnecting Constantly

Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 25 (permalink) Old 10-12-2013, 02:57 PM - Thread Starter
Senior Moderators
 
pioneerisloud's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Yakima, WA
Posts: 32,794
I just now got set back up with my rig. biggrin.gif Problem is, I'm living with roommates, and they have told me I'm not allowed to run a CAT5e wire. So I'm stuck with wireless.

I have 2 rigs (one mine, the other is theirs that I'm working on).

Both rigs are wireless. One has a generic PCI Wireless N adapter, the other has a TP-Link Wireless N PCI Adapter. I've also tried a Netgear Wireless N 300 adapter (USB). All wireless adapters show the same problem.

The router is a Netgear WNDR3400.

The problem:
Whenever I do any sort of download at all, even just Windows Update, the machine (either one) gets fully disconnected, from the router even. No internet and no network at all.

The only solution I've found is to disable the adapter and reenable it. When I do this, everything comes back and works as it should.

What can I do to resolve this issue? It's really annoying having the rigs disconnecting every 5-10 minutes.

EDIT:
They also randomly disconnect at various times throughout the day without doing any sort of downloading as well.

CPU
Intel Core i7 2600k @ 3.4GHz
Motherboard
MSI B75MA-E33
GPU
MSI RX550 4GB
RAM
8GB GSkill Sniper DDR3-1600 @ 667, 9-9-9-24
Hard Drive
Intel 330 128GB SSD
Hard Drive
Crucial MX100 256GB SSD
Hard Drive
Toshiba 3TB HDD
Power Supply
Antec VP450
Cooling
No fans except GPU and PSU
Case
Dell Beige Box (mATX)
Operating System
Windows 10 Pro x64
Monitor
Hanns G 23"
Keyboard
Redragon 10keyless
Mouse
Logitech USB Optical Mouse
Mousepad
Onn Mousepad
Audio
Diamond Edison 2.0
CPU
Intel Xeon E3-1245 @ 3.4GHz
Motherboard
Gigabyte Z68AP-D3
GPU
Nvidia GeForce GT310
RAM
4x8GB Corsair Dominator DDR3-1600
Hard Drive
Sandisk Ultra 128GB SSD
Hard Drive
320GB Seagate 7200.10
Hard Drive
Toshiba 3TB x8 RAID6
Power Supply
Rosewill Green 630w
Cooling
CoolerMaster Hyper 212+ Evo
Case
NZXT Source 210
Operating System
Windows 10 Pro x64 / Hyper-V
Other
Adaptec 5805 SAS RAID Controller
▲ hide details ▲


pioneerisloud is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 25 (permalink) Old 10-12-2013, 03:00 PM
New to Overclock.net
 
bombastinator's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Posts: 3,980
Rep: 186 (Unique: 139)
sounds like intrference. try a differernt wifi channel if you can or get closer to the base statiion

bombastinator is offline  
post #3 of 25 (permalink) Old 10-12-2013, 03:01 PM - Thread Starter
Senior Moderators
 
pioneerisloud's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Yakima, WA
Posts: 32,794
Quote:
Originally Posted by bombastinator View Post

sounds like intrference. try a differernt wifi channel if you can or get closer to the base statiion

Well the router was originally set to "Auto" channel. I have changed it to Channel 7. No difference yet anyway. Same issue. Not sure what channel was auto though.

CPU
Intel Core i7 2600k @ 3.4GHz
Motherboard
MSI B75MA-E33
GPU
MSI RX550 4GB
RAM
8GB GSkill Sniper DDR3-1600 @ 667, 9-9-9-24
Hard Drive
Intel 330 128GB SSD
Hard Drive
Crucial MX100 256GB SSD
Hard Drive
Toshiba 3TB HDD
Power Supply
Antec VP450
Cooling
No fans except GPU and PSU
Case
Dell Beige Box (mATX)
Operating System
Windows 10 Pro x64
Monitor
Hanns G 23"
Keyboard
Redragon 10keyless
Mouse
Logitech USB Optical Mouse
Mousepad
Onn Mousepad
Audio
Diamond Edison 2.0
CPU
Intel Xeon E3-1245 @ 3.4GHz
Motherboard
Gigabyte Z68AP-D3
GPU
Nvidia GeForce GT310
RAM
4x8GB Corsair Dominator DDR3-1600
Hard Drive
Sandisk Ultra 128GB SSD
Hard Drive
320GB Seagate 7200.10
Hard Drive
Toshiba 3TB x8 RAID6
Power Supply
Rosewill Green 630w
Cooling
CoolerMaster Hyper 212+ Evo
Case
NZXT Source 210
Operating System
Windows 10 Pro x64 / Hyper-V
Other
Adaptec 5805 SAS RAID Controller
▲ hide details ▲


pioneerisloud is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #4 of 25 (permalink) Old 10-12-2013, 03:04 PM
New to Overclock.net
 
bombastinator's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Posts: 3,980
Rep: 186 (Unique: 139)
if you got a phne with wifi you could check around and see which frequencies are clear. wifi analyser is the android one. I had this same problem recently.

bombastinator is offline  
post #5 of 25 (permalink) Old 10-12-2013, 03:04 PM
New to Overclock.net
 
deepor's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Posts: 4,678
Rep: 470 (Unique: 317)
You can also experiment with the height of all devices involved. That worked for me once. Put the router somewhere on a top shelf instead of on the ground. See if you can get an antenna with a cable for the PCIe card and move that around.
deepor is online now  
post #6 of 25 (permalink) Old 10-12-2013, 03:08 PM - Thread Starter
Senior Moderators
 
pioneerisloud's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Yakima, WA
Posts: 32,794
Quote:
Originally Posted by bombastinator View Post

if you got a phne with wifi you could check around and see which frequencies are clear. wifi analyser is the android one. I had this same problem recently.

I'll give that a try and report back. What's funny is that my phone works flawlessly....even further away than the rigs are. My main rig gets 10Mb/s / 4Mb/s according to speedtest. This is with nothing going on. With my phone, I get 40 / 4. So something is definitely not right. The other rig gets closer to proper speeds of 25 / 4 (we're paying for 30 / 4).

EDIT:
It's reporting I have a -65dB signal. There's something on Channel 3 and Channel 11 already, both are around -90 to -80dB.


Quote:
Originally Posted by deepor View Post

You can also experiment with the height of all devices involved. That worked for me once. Put the router somewhere on a top shelf instead of on the ground. See if you can get an antenna with a cable for the PCIe card and move that around.

I've already moved the router about 2 feet closer (as far as I could), and I put it up on the highest shelf in that area (about 5 feet off the ground). Didn't help any. I can't move the computers....there's no room except on the floor.

CPU
Intel Core i7 2600k @ 3.4GHz
Motherboard
MSI B75MA-E33
GPU
MSI RX550 4GB
RAM
8GB GSkill Sniper DDR3-1600 @ 667, 9-9-9-24
Hard Drive
Intel 330 128GB SSD
Hard Drive
Crucial MX100 256GB SSD
Hard Drive
Toshiba 3TB HDD
Power Supply
Antec VP450
Cooling
No fans except GPU and PSU
Case
Dell Beige Box (mATX)
Operating System
Windows 10 Pro x64
Monitor
Hanns G 23"
Keyboard
Redragon 10keyless
Mouse
Logitech USB Optical Mouse
Mousepad
Onn Mousepad
Audio
Diamond Edison 2.0
CPU
Intel Xeon E3-1245 @ 3.4GHz
Motherboard
Gigabyte Z68AP-D3
GPU
Nvidia GeForce GT310
RAM
4x8GB Corsair Dominator DDR3-1600
Hard Drive
Sandisk Ultra 128GB SSD
Hard Drive
320GB Seagate 7200.10
Hard Drive
Toshiba 3TB x8 RAID6
Power Supply
Rosewill Green 630w
Cooling
CoolerMaster Hyper 212+ Evo
Case
NZXT Source 210
Operating System
Windows 10 Pro x64 / Hyper-V
Other
Adaptec 5805 SAS RAID Controller
▲ hide details ▲


pioneerisloud is offline  
post #7 of 25 (permalink) Old 10-12-2013, 03:26 PM
New to Overclock.net
 
deepor's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Posts: 4,678
Rep: 470 (Unique: 317)
Quote:
Originally Posted by pioneerisloud View Post

I can't move the computers....there's no room except on the floor.

On that PCI adapter on one of your computers, the antennas are screwed in and can be removed. There are alternative antennas and cables and stands and things like that.

Before you go and look into something like that, you could for now just do an experiment with your PC, move the whole PC around in the room, put it on a table, things like that, to see if you can get a good connection. If it's possible to get a good connection, you could then see what kind of antenna or cable etc. to buy.
deepor is online now  
post #8 of 25 (permalink) Old 10-12-2013, 03:28 PM
New to Overclock.net
 
bombastinator's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Posts: 3,980
Rep: 186 (Unique: 139)
your phone has much more advanced systems in it. Most router auto systems start at either the top or bottom and go up or down till they find something they can get a signal through with. In a wifi conjested area it frequently means everyone winds up on one end or the other. Worse than useless.

bombastinator is offline  
post #9 of 25 (permalink) Old 10-12-2013, 03:28 PM - Thread Starter
Senior Moderators
 
pioneerisloud's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Yakima, WA
Posts: 32,794
Quote:
Originally Posted by deepor View Post

Quote:
Originally Posted by pioneerisloud View Post

I can't move the computers....there's no room except on the floor.

On that PCI adapter on one of your computers, the antennas are screwed in and can be removed. There are alternative antennas and cables and stands and things like that.

Before you go and look into something like that, you could for now just do an experiment with your PC, move the whole PC around in the room, put it on a table, things like that, to see if you can get a good connection. If it's possible to get a good connection, you could then see what kind of antenna or cable etc. to buy.

The thing is, I seem to have decent enough signal strength (4/5 bars).

It turns out Channel 7 was the best channel. -60dB to -66dB.

Would a cement floor possibly be causing this issue, since the rigs are on the floor? My room used to be a garage, so under the carpet is just cement.

CPU
Intel Core i7 2600k @ 3.4GHz
Motherboard
MSI B75MA-E33
GPU
MSI RX550 4GB
RAM
8GB GSkill Sniper DDR3-1600 @ 667, 9-9-9-24
Hard Drive
Intel 330 128GB SSD
Hard Drive
Crucial MX100 256GB SSD
Hard Drive
Toshiba 3TB HDD
Power Supply
Antec VP450
Cooling
No fans except GPU and PSU
Case
Dell Beige Box (mATX)
Operating System
Windows 10 Pro x64
Monitor
Hanns G 23"
Keyboard
Redragon 10keyless
Mouse
Logitech USB Optical Mouse
Mousepad
Onn Mousepad
Audio
Diamond Edison 2.0
CPU
Intel Xeon E3-1245 @ 3.4GHz
Motherboard
Gigabyte Z68AP-D3
GPU
Nvidia GeForce GT310
RAM
4x8GB Corsair Dominator DDR3-1600
Hard Drive
Sandisk Ultra 128GB SSD
Hard Drive
320GB Seagate 7200.10
Hard Drive
Toshiba 3TB x8 RAID6
Power Supply
Rosewill Green 630w
Cooling
CoolerMaster Hyper 212+ Evo
Case
NZXT Source 210
Operating System
Windows 10 Pro x64 / Hyper-V
Other
Adaptec 5805 SAS RAID Controller
▲ hide details ▲


pioneerisloud is offline  
post #10 of 25 (permalink) Old 10-12-2013, 03:38 PM
New to Overclock.net
 
bombastinator's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Posts: 3,980
Rep: 186 (Unique: 139)
Quote:
Originally Posted by deepor View Post

On that PCI adapter on one of your computers, the antennas are screwed in and can be removed. There are alternative antennas and cables and stands and things like that.

Before you go and look into something like that, you could for now just do an experiment with your PC, move the whole PC around in the room, put it on a table, things like that, to see if you can get a good connection. If it's possible to get a good connection, you could then see what kind of antenna or cable etc. to buy.

I was thinking he could do that with the phone, but a laptop may be a bit more accurate. A signal booster on the machine and base station is another option. The FCC limits wifi signal output, but booster systems can often exceed FCC specs. If it's a desktop that doesn't move a directional antenna is also possible. making cantennas is a good excuse to eat pringles if you're not normally allowed to have them like me hannibalsmiley.png

bombastinator is offline  
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the Overclock.net - An Overclocking Community forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.
User Name:
If you do not want to register, fill this field only and the name will be used as user name for your post.
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.
Password:
Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.
Email Address:

Log-in



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off