Linksys EA6500 Mod - Page 2 - Overclock.net - An Overclocking Community
Forum Jump: 

Linksys EA6500 Mod

Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #11 of 33 (permalink) Old 02-15-2015, 10:40 PM
New to Overclock.net
 
PhotonFanatic's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Posts: 1,928
Rep: 21 (Unique: 20)
Are those the little vram heatsinks people use on their video cards? biggrin.gif Just curious. Perhaps some larger ones could be used? Maybe I could order some bigger ones. And how exactly did you connect them? When I first noticed how warm this thing runs, I was thinking of building a little fan base for it to sit on. Sort of like those powered laptop bases, only smaller. It should work pretty good due to all those holes it has in the bottom. The fans would just blow the air up through the bottom holes and out the top ones. It was getting warm enough as to make me wonder if that metal top piece was the heatsink lol.

Of course you'd have to use some of those lower CFM, low decibel fans so you don't have to sit there and listen to fans blowing.

"Executing execution.exe"
Bang for the buck
(12 items)
CPU
3570k @ 4.6Ghz @1.35v
Motherboard
Gigabyte Z77x UD3H
GPU
evga GTX 970 SSC
RAM
16Gb Gskill Ripjaws 2133Mhz @ 9-11-10-28
Hard Drive
Samsung Evo 850
Power Supply
Silverstone 900 watt
Cooling
Thermalright Ultra 120 Extreme
Case
Silverstone Raven (1st edition)
Operating System
Windows 10 Spy Delux
Monitor
Xstar 27" PLS 1440p
Keyboard
Wireless ergonomic
Mouse
Logisys Wireless trackball
▲ hide details ▲
PhotonFanatic is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #12 of 33 (permalink) Old 02-15-2015, 10:52 PM - Thread Starter
New to Overclock.net
 
DzillaXx's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: Wisconsin
Posts: 8,231
Rep: 553 (Unique: 389)
Quote:
Originally Posted by PhotonFanatic View Post

Are those the little vram heatsinks people use on their video cards? biggrin.gif Just curious. Perhaps some larger ones could be used? Maybe I could order some bigger ones. And how exactly did you connect them? When I first noticed how warm this thing runs, I was thinking of building a little fan base for it to sit on. Sort of like those powered laptop bases, only smaller. It should work pretty good due to all those holes it has in the bottom. The fans would just blow the air up through the bottom holes and out the top ones. It was getting warm enough as to make me wonder if that metal top piece was the heatsink lol.

Of course you'd have to use some of those lower CFM, low decibel fans so you don't have to sit there and listen to fans blowing.

Yeah GPU memory heatsinks. I had them laying around, but you can buy bigger ones.

But it is solid copper, and does a decent job at keeping the temp down. I would buy bigger heatsinks if I didn't already have these. They just stick on with their double sided thermal tape.


Considering that Overheating is one of the biggest complaints about the router, Nothing wrong with trying to keep it cool.


The case is pretty easy to open. The 4 Phillips screws are under the feet, on the bottom of the router. After removing the screws, just take a flat head and guide it around the edges of the case to pop it off.


Also that silver on the top of the router is just thick plastic. it has a few vent holes on the top, but they don't do jack. tongue.gif



The 5GHZ card is the one with the antenna's connected to it. Next to it is the 2.4ghz chip, which I also put a heatsink on. I also put a couple over where the CPU is, on top of the shield. Not sure how good the contact is, but that chip didn't get hot in the first place.
DzillaXx is offline  
post #13 of 33 (permalink) Old 02-15-2015, 11:15 PM
New to Overclock.net
 
PhotonFanatic's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Posts: 1,928
Rep: 21 (Unique: 20)
Looks like you got some extra speed out of those antennas.

They do sell the ea6900 antennas on ebay. Do you think it would be possible to add those in the same spots as the ea6900? I like the aesthetics of those 3 little antennas.

"Executing execution.exe"
Bang for the buck
(12 items)
CPU
3570k @ 4.6Ghz @1.35v
Motherboard
Gigabyte Z77x UD3H
GPU
evga GTX 970 SSC
RAM
16Gb Gskill Ripjaws 2133Mhz @ 9-11-10-28
Hard Drive
Samsung Evo 850
Power Supply
Silverstone 900 watt
Cooling
Thermalright Ultra 120 Extreme
Case
Silverstone Raven (1st edition)
Operating System
Windows 10 Spy Delux
Monitor
Xstar 27" PLS 1440p
Keyboard
Wireless ergonomic
Mouse
Logisys Wireless trackball
▲ hide details ▲
PhotonFanatic is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #14 of 33 (permalink) Old 02-15-2015, 11:23 PM - Thread Starter
New to Overclock.net
 
DzillaXx's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: Wisconsin
Posts: 8,231
Rep: 553 (Unique: 389)
Quote:
Originally Posted by PhotonFanatic View Post

Looks like you got some extra speed out of those antennas.

They do sell the ea6900 antennas on ebay. Do you think it would be possible to add those in the same spots as the ea6900? I like the aesthetics of those 3 little antennas.


If you look at my pics above, you can see there is no room for an antenna in the middle. And putting it in the middle of the top of the router would have been hard, considering I would need to etch out a part of that thick plastic. But I left it in a position that if I ever decided to solder connectors to the 2.4ghz side, I could make the router look pretty cool with 6 antennas. Really only place that makes sense to add a third antenna on this thing, was the top.


I'm not sure if they sell the EA6900 antenna's on ebay, but better off getting atleast 5dbi. I had one of my stock 5dbi TP-Link antenna's connected to the top port in one of those pics. I think it looks better that way, but Decided to use three matching antennas for performance vs aesthetics.
DzillaXx is offline  
post #15 of 33 (permalink) Old 02-15-2015, 11:36 PM
New to Overclock.net
 
PhotonFanatic's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Posts: 1,928
Rep: 21 (Unique: 20)
What heatsinks would you actually have preferred to use, if you could take your pick? I'm thinking of those random motherboard heatsinks you see on some of the cheaper motherboards.

As for dbi, I'm assuming the higher that number, the "better' the antenna? As in, they will broadcast a little farther, and "hear" a little better?

"Executing execution.exe"
Bang for the buck
(12 items)
CPU
3570k @ 4.6Ghz @1.35v
Motherboard
Gigabyte Z77x UD3H
GPU
evga GTX 970 SSC
RAM
16Gb Gskill Ripjaws 2133Mhz @ 9-11-10-28
Hard Drive
Samsung Evo 850
Power Supply
Silverstone 900 watt
Cooling
Thermalright Ultra 120 Extreme
Case
Silverstone Raven (1st edition)
Operating System
Windows 10 Spy Delux
Monitor
Xstar 27" PLS 1440p
Keyboard
Wireless ergonomic
Mouse
Logisys Wireless trackball
▲ hide details ▲
PhotonFanatic is offline  
post #16 of 33 (permalink) Old 02-15-2015, 11:39 PM - Thread Starter
New to Overclock.net
 
DzillaXx's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: Wisconsin
Posts: 8,231
Rep: 553 (Unique: 389)
DzillaXx is offline  
post #17 of 33 (permalink) Old 02-15-2015, 11:46 PM
New to Overclock.net
 
PhotonFanatic's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Posts: 1,928
Rep: 21 (Unique: 20)
Guess it does look like I would prefer the 5 dbi. So does that mean directly above the antenna, there would be no signal?

"Executing execution.exe"
Bang for the buck
(12 items)
CPU
3570k @ 4.6Ghz @1.35v
Motherboard
Gigabyte Z77x UD3H
GPU
evga GTX 970 SSC
RAM
16Gb Gskill Ripjaws 2133Mhz @ 9-11-10-28
Hard Drive
Samsung Evo 850
Power Supply
Silverstone 900 watt
Cooling
Thermalright Ultra 120 Extreme
Case
Silverstone Raven (1st edition)
Operating System
Windows 10 Spy Delux
Monitor
Xstar 27" PLS 1440p
Keyboard
Wireless ergonomic
Mouse
Logisys Wireless trackball
▲ hide details ▲
PhotonFanatic is offline  
post #18 of 33 (permalink) Old 02-15-2015, 11:52 PM - Thread Starter
New to Overclock.net
 
DzillaXx's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: Wisconsin
Posts: 8,231
Rep: 553 (Unique: 389)
Quote:
Originally Posted by PhotonFanatic View Post

Guess it does look like I would prefer the 5 dbi. So does that mean directly above the antenna, there would be no signal?

No you still get signal, just not as good. Though one floor down/up is nothing, I get full bars a floor below my router on 5ghz. And the basement still has full converge, just not as strong as it would be if I had 2-3dbi antennas. But Your 2.4ghz is pretty much 0-1dbi, so that has you covered anyways.

For me the 7dbi is perfect.
DzillaXx is offline  
post #19 of 33 (permalink) Old 02-16-2015, 01:36 AM
New to Overclock.net
 
PhotonFanatic's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Posts: 1,928
Rep: 21 (Unique: 20)
If I'm understanding you correctly, 7dbi would still work fine in a two story house?

"Executing execution.exe"
Bang for the buck
(12 items)
CPU
3570k @ 4.6Ghz @1.35v
Motherboard
Gigabyte Z77x UD3H
GPU
evga GTX 970 SSC
RAM
16Gb Gskill Ripjaws 2133Mhz @ 9-11-10-28
Hard Drive
Samsung Evo 850
Power Supply
Silverstone 900 watt
Cooling
Thermalright Ultra 120 Extreme
Case
Silverstone Raven (1st edition)
Operating System
Windows 10 Spy Delux
Monitor
Xstar 27" PLS 1440p
Keyboard
Wireless ergonomic
Mouse
Logisys Wireless trackball
▲ hide details ▲
PhotonFanatic is offline  
post #20 of 33 (permalink) Old 02-16-2015, 01:51 AM - Thread Starter
New to Overclock.net
 
DzillaXx's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: Wisconsin
Posts: 8,231
Rep: 553 (Unique: 389)
Quote:
Originally Posted by PhotonFanatic View Post

If I'm understanding you correctly, 7dbi would still work fine in a two story house?

Yeah, my router is on the second floor of a two story house.


But for most people 5dbi would be perfect.
DzillaXx is offline  
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the Overclock.net - An Overclocking Community forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.
User Name:
If you do not want to register, fill this field only and the name will be used as user name for your post.
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.
Password:
Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.
Email Address:

Log-in



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off