Hardware required for hosting small website - Overclock.net - An Overclocking Community

Forum Jump: 

Hardware required for hosting small website

post #1 of 5 (permalink) Old 03-11-2019, 09:52 AM - Thread Starter
I took this profile pic

Rep: 135 (Unique: 106)
Hardware required for hosting small website

I'm a photographer and I'm finally getting my own website. It's just going to be a portfolio of photos, a bio section, and an email section where someone can book an hour appointment.

I have a Synology Diskstation and I read that a DS can be used for web hosting. My question is, what do I need hardware wise besides the DS in order to host a small website from my home?

Also, I use Spectrum and I get 100 down and 10 up which should be fine because my website will use small JPEG files of my photography, which means I won't need much bandwidth.

I heard that cable companies don't like when consumers host websites in their homes. They don't like you forwarding certain ports. Anyone know anything about this?

So does anyone have advice, hardware-wise, on how to set up a small website in my home?

Also, would it just be easier to have someone else host the website? I'm willing to pay up to $10 a month for a domain name and server hosting, but I don't know anything about server hosting. I'm kinda flying blind here. Any and all help with any of this is appreciated.

Instagram @patrickmcguirkphotos & @mcguirk.patrick
Psychology grad student, computer hobbyist, self taught photographer
I'm really funny but I don't know when to stop.
I took my profile pic
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 5 (permalink) Old 03-11-2019, 10:00 AM
Kill Confirmed

Rep: 57 (Unique: 47)
I had spectrum for a crypto mining business and they throttled my service and created many headaches for me; all without any form of notice or notification. Just something to keep in mind.