Advice for getting a new wireless router? - Page 3 - Overclock.net - An Overclocking Community

Forum Jump: 

Advice for getting a new wireless router?

Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #21 of 28 (permalink) Old 05-22-2019, 04:23 AM
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Location: Colorado
Posts: 720
If you want to go Asus, I have one of these that I'm not using.

https://www.asus.com/us/Networking/RT-AC5300/

https://www.amazon.com/Tri-Band-Supp.../dp/B0167HG1V6.

I'd be willing to sell it for cheap.

Nuka Cola
(0 items)
▲ hide details ▲
Eusbwoa18 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #22 of 28 (permalink) Old 05-22-2019, 07:27 AM
✾ ✿ ❀ ❁
 
Alex132's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Posts: 8,285
Rep: 337 (Unique: 272)
How has no one recommended a Mikrotik yet? Enterprise features for consumer (or even less) pricing.

| This Cannot Continue | We Are Become As Gods | This Cannot Continue |

Vehicles:
Current: None.
Ex: '07 Fiat Palio, '07 Honda Accord Type-S
Illya
(26 items)
Yuki
(23 items)
CPU
Intel i9 9900K @ 5.2Ghz
Motherboard
Gigabyte Aorus Master
GPU
EVGA 1080 Ti FTW3
RAM
G.Skill Trident Z 32GB 4000Mhz
Hard Drive
Samsung 970 Pro 512GB
Hard Drive
Samsung 850 Evo 1TB
Hard Drive
WD Red 8TB
Power Supply
Seasonic Prime Titanium 850W
Cooling
EK Velocity CPU Block
Cooling
EK 1080 Ti FTW3 GPU Block
Cooling
HardwareLabs GTX420
Cooling
HardwareLabs GTS280
Cooling
HardwareLabs GTS140
Cooling
EK D5 140 Glass Pump/res
Case
Phanteks Evolv X
Operating System
Windows 10 Pro
Monitor
Asus ROG Swift PG279Q 165Hz 1440p
Monitor
I-INC 1920x1200 TN 27"
Keyboard
Ducky One 2 Midnight
Mouse
Logitech G502
Mousepad
CoolerMaster Swift-RX XL
Audio
Sennhesier HD650
Audio
Schiit Jotunheim Amp/DAC
Audio
Samson C01U Microphone
Audio
Edifier R1700BT
Other
Oculus Rift
CPU
Intel 2500K 5Ghz
Motherboard
ASUS P8P67 Pro
GPU
EVGA 1080 Ti FTW3
RAM
G.Skill RipJaws X 2133Mhz 16GB
Hard Drive
120GB Corsair Neutron GTX
Hard Drive
Samsung 850 Evo 1TB
Hard Drive
WD Red 8TB
Power Supply
EVGA G3 850W
Cooling
Hyper 212
Cooling
EK Vardar fans
Case
Corsair 270R w/TG mod
Operating System
Windows 10
Monitor
Asus ROG Swift PG279Q
Monitor
I-Inc 1200p
Keyboard
Razer BlackWidow 2013
Mouse
Logitech G502 Proteus Spectrum
Mousepad
CoolerMaster Swift-RX XL
Audio
Sennheiser HD650
Audio
Schiit Jotunheim Balanced DAC + Amp
Audio
Edifier R1700BT Speakers
Audio
Samson C01U Microphone
Other
Oculus Rift
Other
PS4 Controller
▲ hide details ▲


Alex132 is offline  
post #23 of 28 (permalink) Old 05-22-2019, 08:49 AM
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Location: Colorado
Posts: 720
??

Quote: Originally Posted by Alex132 View Post
How has no one recommended a Mikrotik yet? Enterprise features for consumer (or even less) pricing.
Have honestly never seen one. Are they available in Europe? I see they are made in Latvia.

https://www.zdnet.com/article/thousa...-user-traffic/

https://www.amazon.com/Mikrotik-Rout.../dp/B00BGIXOHQ

The only one available on Amazon is old BGN.

Nuka Cola
(0 items)
▲ hide details ▲
Eusbwoa18 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #24 of 28 (permalink) Old 05-22-2019, 08:56 AM
Overclocker
 
JackCY's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2014
Posts: 9,278
Rep: 309 (Unique: 225)
The Orbi looks nice but then there may be more of these mesh WiFi solutions around at these high prices.

Also depends on what are you trying to cover an American paper house or a reinforced concrete house? You can have the best router but what good is it if it's range is small due to weak wireless/antenna.

Mikrotik I've heard before for sure but not popular for user devices, maybe more business, they sell "routerboard" and it's often as a separate section on shops. No idea what's that supposed to be, looking it up. It seems they use their own RouterOS which used to be or maybe still is a Networking focused distro of Linux, only now they also make devices (small so you don't have to use a big PC) to run this RouterOS. Seems more of a business oriented devices and configurations. In the end in such cases you would often stick to one or two systems, you start using Cisco for some big network it's not a good idea to to mix it with 10 other systems (routers with 10 different OSs on them, different configuration options capabilities, hardware capabilities etc.) XD For home doesn't matter much unless you have a technological mansion.

You will likely also find that business solutions don't always offer the highest wireless speeds, say AC3000 etc.

Last edited by JackCY; 05-22-2019 at 09:16 AM.
JackCY is online now  
post #25 of 28 (permalink) Old 05-22-2019, 09:07 AM
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Location: Colorado
Posts: 720
Quote: Originally Posted by JackCY View Post
The Orbi looks nice but then there may be more of these mesh WiFi solutions around at these high prices.

Also depends on what are you trying to cover an American paper house or a reinforced concrete house? You can have the best router but what good is it if it's range is small due to weak wireless/antenna.
The reason I moved to the Orbi was that I moved from a wood frame home to an old brick fortress. The AC 5300 was great in my newer home, but in the bunker my wife bought I could not get signal outside or in the basement with it. I think the mesh routers address some of that. I did briefly play around with the Asus mesh software and that seemed to work well, but the only other asus router I had was only 802.11g.

Nuka Cola
(0 items)
▲ hide details ▲
Eusbwoa18 is offline  
post #26 of 28 (permalink) Old 05-22-2019, 09:14 AM
New to Overclock.net
 
Section31's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2013
Posts: 279
Rep: 4 (Unique: 4)
I just had same issue. I ended up going fortinet router and just buying an AX router myself(setup as AP). Safer to separate out the wifi and home network in my case (all the desktops and laptops computers in the house use wired).

I looked at the orbi and other ax mesh but they arent out or are expensive. Also looked at the orbi ac version but it costs as much as asus ax wifi router.
Section31 is offline  
post #27 of 28 (permalink) Old 05-22-2019, 09:26 AM
Tech Enthusiast
 
deafboy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: San Diego
Posts: 12,030
Rep: 431 (Unique: 329)
How big is the house?

I'd say if possible...
If you rent your modem through comcast, return it and buy your own...
If you really want to get into the geeky side of things, make/buy a pfsense box for your router
And then get a wireless AP.




I personally have a ubiquiti AP but I am not really a fan, although I've heard their newer ones have improved a lot. $100 for a modem, $0-200 for router, $100-300 for AP(s)

IN HONOR OF SYRILLIAN, R.I.P.
ASUS ROG Rampage IV Black Owners Club || PNW Overclockers Club
BMW TJ07 Build Log -- The Ultimate Cooling Machine
2 year anniversary In Remembrance of a Great - RIP Syrillian
Overkill FreeNAS
(11 items)
Play Server
(10 items)
CPU
Intel i7 3930k @4.8-5.2
Motherboard
Asus Rampage IV Black Edition
GPU
nVidia Titan XP
RAM
Corsair Dominator Platinum 32GB
Hard Drive
Intel 750 400GB
Hard Drive
Intel 750 1.2TB
Power Supply
Corsair AX1200i
Cooling
2x Swiftech D5 w/ EK Dual Pump Top
Cooling
XSPC EX480, EX360 & 2x Phobya 1080
Cooling
EK Supremacy EVO CPU Block
Cooling
EK Advanced 250mL Res
Cooling
Lamptron FC-5V2
Cooling
EK Rampage IV BE Water Block
Cooling
Copper Tubing w/ push fittings
Cooling
EK-FC Titan XP Copper/Acetal
Case
Silverstone TJ07, heavily modified
Operating System
Windows 10 Pro
Monitor
Samsung U28D590D 4K
Keyboard
Leopold Otaku
Mouse
Corsair M65
Mouse
Corsair MM600
Audio
Sennheiser HD595 / HD428 / HD280
Audio
Corsair SP2500
Other
Mellanox Connectx-2 10Gb SFP+ NIC
CPU
E5-2670v1
CPU
E5-2670v1
Motherboard
Supermicro X9DRL-iF
Hard Drive
12x HGST 4TB CoolSpin
Hard Drive
6x WD Red 8TB
Hard Drive
SanDisk Ultra II 960TB SSD
Power Supply
Corsair AX750
Cooling
2x Noctua nh-u9dxi4
Cooling
3x Scythe AP-30
Case
Norco 4224
Operating System
FreeNAS
CPU
Intel Xeon L5640
CPU
Intel Xeon L5640
Motherboard
Dell R710 Mobo
RAM
Hynix 144GB DDR3 ECC PC3L-10600R
Hard Drive
Intel X25-M G2 80GB
Power Supply
Redundant 840W PSU
Case
Dell 710 2.5" - Google Search Appliance
Other
Mellanox Connectx-2 10Gb SFP+ NIC
Other
Dell Perc H700 Raid Controller
Other
Dell iDRAC6 Enterprise
▲ hide details ▲


deafboy is offline  
post #28 of 28 (permalink) Old 05-22-2019, 11:48 PM
New to Overclock.net
 
Vlada011's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2012
Location: Belgrade, Serbia
Posts: 1,919
Rep: 36 (Unique: 26)
Quote: Originally Posted by pgdeaner View Post
If you want to go Asus, I have one of these that I'm not using.

https://www.asus.com/us/Networking/RT-AC5300/

https://www.amazon.com/Tri-Band-Supp.../dp/B0167HG1V6.

I'd be willing to sell it for cheap.
How much you ask for AC5300?
Vlada011 is offline  
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the Overclock.net - An Overclocking Community forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.
User Name:
If you do not want to register, fill this field only and the name will be used as user name for your post.
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.
Password:
Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.
Email Address:

Log-in



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off