cat7 vs cat8 - Page 2 - Overclock.net - An Overclocking Community
Forum Jump: 

cat7 vs cat8

Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #11 of 23 (permalink) Old 01-09-2020, 02:11 PM
New to Overclock.net
 
bucdan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: San Diego, CA
Posts: 6,123
Rep: 202 (Unique: 181)
100ft is nothing. Just run Cat6 or Cat6A.

Quote:
Originally Posted by holtzman go_quote.gif
Computer viruses are like herpes. You never think in a million years you'd get one... Till you do.
bucdan is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #12 of 23 (permalink) Old 01-11-2020, 12:16 PM
AMD OC'ing Enthusiast
 
mattliston's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Wisconsin, USA
Posts: 2,552
Rep: 106 (Unique: 84)
Quote: Originally Posted by dseg View Post
I agree but I believe that the high quality cat8 cable is built better with separate insulation and shielding so it can carry faster signals.
I was under the impression that if you go past 30meters with cat8 it goes down to cat7 quality.

I believe you are mistaken on what kind of signals cat cables carry.


There are a variety of signals and frequencies passing through based entirely on the network hardware attached and in use.


For home use, cat5 cable would suffice your needs.




That is why cat6 with its extra shielding and much tougher cable jacket would give you the best bang for your buck.


On ebay, there are a few sellers who offer specific collors and lengths for cat6 cable.


If you want his info, I can find in my ebay purchase history what I personally bought. I had one made for the short path from modem to router, then 2 cables made my personal length from router to my then-2 operating computers.




I think I spent under 30 bucks. shipping was the majority of that price.






Buy a roll of string for a couple bucks. Route what you want, measure the length, add 10% to that length, and start finding a price for cat6 in teh color and length you want.




I personally had a yellow cable for modem to router, red for my main rig at time, and blue for secondary rig at the time. Made it very easy to figure out which computer was unplugged when I was cleaning the room, or moving equipment around, etc..




I do agree with others, this is a bit of an overthought type of thread, but I can appreciate when someone simply wants to buy something once and not have to go in again down the road
mattliston is offline  
post #13 of 23 (permalink) Old 01-11-2020, 12:34 PM
Top kek
 
Join Date: Oct 2013
Location: Bulgaria , Sofia
Posts: 3,480
Rep: 116 (Unique: 69)
For 1Gbps i use Cat5e for something like ~20m between a TP-Link managed switch and my parents PC.

For ~30m, i think it should still be fine.
For 10Gpbs - you will need Cat6a.
Future proofing with Cat7 or Cat8 sounds dumb.

You are better to use fiber for future proofing.

Previous Hardware:
Spoiler!
Main rig
(16 items)
Parents (2nd) PC
(13 items)
CPU
AMD R7 1700
Motherboard
ASRock X570 Fatal1ty Gaming K4
GPU
Sapphire RX480 4GB Nitro+
RAM
Corsair Vengeance LPX 2x8GB 3200Mhz
Hard Drive
Corsair ForceLS SSD
Hard Drive
250GB Maxtor SATA 7200RPM 8MB
Hard Drive
250GB Seagate Baracuda SATA 7200RPM 8MB
Hard Drive
500GB WesternDigital Blue 7200RPM 16MB
Power Supply
Corsair TX850M
Cooling
Cooler Master 212 EVO
Case
Thermaltake View 27
Operating System
Windows 10 x64 1607
Monitor
AOC i2267FWH 21.5" 1080p IPS
Keyboard
Logitech K120
Mouse
A4 Tech Bloody v5
Audio
Corsair HS30 Raptor
CPU
AMD FX-8320
Motherboard
ASRock Fatal1ty 990FX Killer
GPU
XFX RX470 4GB SingleFan
RAM
Mushkin Redline 996996 2x4GB 2133Mhz
Hard Drive
Western Digital Green 500GB 7200RPM 8MB
Hard Drive
120GB Kingston SSD
Optical Drive
ASUS DVD+RW x52
Power Supply
Corsair VS650
Cooling
ThermalTake Frio Silent 14
Case
DeepCool Tesseract
Operating System
Windows 10 Enterprise 1607
Monitor
ASUS VS228H 21.5"
Keyboard
Logitech K120
▲ hide details ▲
ku4eto is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #14 of 23 (permalink) Old 01-13-2020, 06:18 PM
New to Overclock.net
 
EniGma1987's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Posts: 6,401
Rep: 342 (Unique: 252)
Quote: Originally Posted by dseg View Post
Thanks for the info.
It was more for future proofing too though.
I was also wondering what happens if you past 30m with cat8 since that is their limit.
Cat8 will do 40 gigabit out to 30m officially. In practice, you may get a bit further with that speed. I would bet 25gbit would probably run 60m+, and 10gbit would easily reach 100m.



Personally, I would run some Cat6a S/STP or cat7 cable depending on price. The good Cat6a stuff I see is usually only $30-40 more for a whole 1000' spool. This will be good enough to support 10gigabit and probably 25 gigabit if that ever happens.

I would also run some of these cables along with them just because you can and they are cheap:
https://www.fs.com/products/40257.html

Those support at least 100gigabit speeds. You can buy some transceivers if you ever need to use them in the future:
https://www.fs.com/products/65335.html
https://www.fs.com/products/71014.html
https://www.fs.com/products/36396.html
https://www.fs.com/products/71010.html

Those go into regular SFP/SFP+/QSFP+/QSFP28 connectors on your switches or NICs. Just buy the transceiver with firmware on it for whatever hardware manufacturer you go with. Mellanox is usually really really cheap on ebay.

EniGma1987 is offline  
post #15 of 23 (permalink) Old 01-13-2020, 06:35 PM
New to Overclock.net
 
Join Date: Sep 2019
Posts: 52
Rep: 1 (Unique: 1)
The OP doesn't even understand the interface differences between a 2 vs 4 pair conductor.

He's a netgear level user and you guys are talking about data center level equipment. Furthermore, at 100', the only interface a right minded network tech would use would be fiber..


but again, let me point out, OP is a netgear level user using (assumed) 1 Gb/s connection.



He just needs a cat6 cable, that's it.

CPU
i9-9960X @ 4.8 GHz, 3.2 GHz Mesh
Motherboard
ASUS Prime X299 Edition 30
GPU
GeForce RTX 2080 Super
RAM
G.Skill F4-3200C14Q-64GTZR
Power Supply
Seasonic 1000
Cooling
D5 PWM + 280mm + 360mm
Case
Fractal Design Meshify C
CPU
i9-9920X @ 4.6 GHz, 3.0 GHz Mesh
Motherboard
Asus TUF X299 MARK 1
GPU
GeForce RTX 2080
RAM
G.Skill F4-3200C14Q-64GTZ
Power Supply
Seasonic 850
Cooling
Noctua NH-D15
Case
Fractal Design Meshify C
▲ hide details ▲
Wizzzard is offline  
post #16 of 23 (permalink) Old 01-13-2020, 06:52 PM
486DX2 66
 
Serious_Don's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: AX Register
Posts: 3,112
Rep: 386 (Unique: 134)
You can get 100ft cat 8 cables that are supposedly weather proof from amazon for under $50. if you're set on it, then might as well give it a shot, shouldn't hurt anyway... I see most of the reviewers on amazon are using them on Playstation 4s and smart TVs happily anyway

they will work fine at 1gb and 10gb I'm sure, beyond that who knows unless you have a DSX2-8000 on hand to test it.

That said, at the insane rate of time it's taking for consumers to move to 10Gb home networks, I suspect I'll be dead or in a geriatric home with Abe Simpson by the time 25Gb is affordable to mere humans. YMMV

Cliffs: Just buy what you want, this isn't going to matter given the nature of the networking equipment in the home, unless we really do have rats gnawing at the cable.

Can't hear my delta fans over my Death Metal crew
I Just Found Out My PCs Have A Power Button. Meh, Still Not Shutting Down Club Member #00001
In the beginning were the words and the words made the world. I am the words. The words are everything. Where the words end the world ends. You cannot go forward in the absence of space. Repeat.
HAF Baked
(16 items)
M-M-Monster Kill
(13 items)
CPU
3700x [CSCoder4ever Edition]
Motherboard
Gigabyte X570 Aorus Pro Wifi
GPU
MSI GTX 1080 Sea Hawk EK X [Iamjanco Edition]
RAM
DDR4 3600 CamoRamo [Pook Edition]
Hard Drive
MX500 1TB m.2
Power Supply
evga g2
Cooling
h100i
Case
Corsair 900D [J7SC EDITION]
Operating System
Windows 10
Operating System
Ubuntu 18.04
Monitor
Asus XG35V
Keyboard
Corsair Strafe RGB
Mouse
Windows 95 compatible serial ball mouse (srs)
Mousepad
Gigabyte Ghost
Audio
Creative Sound Blaster X-fi titanium pro fatality edition
CPU
FX 8320
Motherboard
Asus
GPU
Sapphire Tri-X 290
RAM
Corsair Vengeance 1600
Hard Drive
Corsair Forse LS SSD
Hard Drive
Samsung Spinpoint F3
Hard Drive
Western Digital Black
Optical Drive
Asus 24x DVD-RW
Power Supply
EVGA
Cooling
CM Hyper 212 Evo
Case
Cooler Master HAF 922
Operating System
Debian 9 & Win7
Monitor
Asus VH236H
Keyboard
Ancient Dell Mechanical
Mouse
Corsair MX65
Mouse
Gigabyte Ghost Extreme Accuracy
CPU
Pentium III
Motherboard
Intel SE440BX-2
GPU
GeForce MX 440 AGP 8X
RAM
Viking PC133 SDRAM
RAM
Viking PC133 SDRAM
Hard Drive
Western Digital Caviar
Hard Drive
Western Digital Caviar 39000
Optical Drive
LG DVD/RW
Cooling
Stock
Operating System
Windoze 98
Audio
Sound Blaster Pro2
Audio
Sound Blaster 16
Audio
Sound Blaster Live!
▲ hide details ▲



Last edited by Serious_Don; 01-13-2020 at 06:56 PM.
Serious_Don is offline  
post #17 of 23 (permalink) Old 01-13-2020, 07:56 PM
Overclocking Enthusiast
 
ozlay's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: USA
Posts: 5,712
Rep: 280 (Unique: 222)
I would just go for cat 7 as it is shielded. Unless you can find shielded cat 6 for a reasonable price.

Rikka
(9 items)
CPU
Intel I5-7600k
Motherboard
Asrock Z270M Extreme 4
GPU
Titan X
RAM
Gskill Royal
Hard Drive
970 Evo
Hard Drive
Optane 900p
Power Supply
Seasonic Prime Snow
Case
enthoo evolv matx tempered glass
Operating System
windows 10 pro
▲ hide details ▲


ozlay is offline  
post #18 of 23 (permalink) Old 01-13-2020, 07:56 PM
New to Overclock.net
 
Cloudforever's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: Kentucky
Posts: 1,272
Rep: 60 (Unique: 46)
Quote: Originally Posted by Wizzzard View Post
The OP doesn't even understand the interface differences between a 2 vs 4 pair conductor.

He's a netgear level user and you guys are talking about data center level equipment. Furthermore, at 100', the only interface a right minded network tech would use would be fiber..


but again, let me point out, OP is a netgear level user using (assumed) 1 Gb/s connection.



He just needs a cat6 cable, that's it.
this ^

as I work and have worked in a data center for a long time. I could not say anything more accurate than this.

use cat6a and you'll be perfectly fine.

Cloudforever is offline  
post #19 of 23 (permalink) Old 01-13-2020, 09:02 PM
I might have tacos tonite
 
Crazy9000's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Seattle, Washington
Posts: 22,326
Rep: 491 (Unique: 345)
Quote: Originally Posted by mattliston View Post


On ebay, there are a few sellers who offer specific collors and lengths for cat6 cable.


If you want his info, I can find in my ebay purchase history what I personally bought. I had one made for the short path from modem to router, then 2 cables made my personal length from router to my then-2 operating computers.




I think I spent under 30 bucks. shipping was the majority of that price.



Cheap cable from Ebay is going to be aluminum instead of copper wiring, even if the seller says otherwise.

Crazy9000 is offline  
post #20 of 23 (permalink) Old 01-14-2020, 07:12 AM
New to Overclock.net
 
EniGma1987's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Posts: 6,401
Rep: 342 (Unique: 252)
Why would anyone buy something other than Monoprice Ethernet cables? They are cheap, work at advertised speeds, have quality build and real copper conductors, fast shipping, and lots of colors on most stuff.

https://www.monoprice.com/product?p_id=40636

https://www.monoprice.com/product?p_id=24319

https://www.monoprice.com/product?p_id=13657

https://www.monoprice.com/product?p_id=31087

EniGma1987 is offline  
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the Overclock.net - An Overclocking Community forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.
User Name:
If you do not want to register, fill this field only and the name will be used as user name for your post.
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.
Password:
Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.
Email Address:

Log-in



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off