cat7 vs cat8 - Overclock.net - An Overclocking Community
Forum Jump: 

cat7 vs cat8

Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 23 (permalink) Old 01-05-2020, 08:00 PM - Thread Starter
New to Overclock.net
 
dseg's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: Florida
Posts: 1,465
Rep: 49 (Unique: 46)
cat7 vs cat8

Was thinking of running cat8 to my server and main PC since I need to run about 100ft of cable to my new office now.
If figured if I need to run that distance I would go for cat8 since cost isn't an issue.

Cat5 to cat7 have 4 connector pairs while cat8 has two, does anyone know what that means?

When comparing, the link below shows the "Conductor Pairs" for 4 vs 2 but not sure what that means.
https://cabling.pro/cat8-category-8-...le-what-is-it/

In this comparative table, it says "Connectors" 4 vs 2.
https://www.sfcable.com/blog/cat-7-v...les-difference

dseg is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 23 (permalink) Old 01-05-2020, 08:40 PM
New to Overclock.net
 
Join Date: Jul 2018
Posts: 19
Rep: 0
just go cat7 or even cat6a, more than enough bandwidth for 99% of folks and easier to deal with

cat8 is more for data center applications
papertoast is offline  
post #3 of 23 (permalink) Old 01-05-2020, 08:45 PM
Invalid Media
 
J7SC's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2018
Posts: 1,171
Rep: 43 (Unique: 22)
This may help a bit. Also check their site re. prepping connections

http://www.fiberopticshare.com/cat6-...ifference.html
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	cat6_8.jpg
Views:	13
Size:	172.6 KB
ID:	316794  

J7SC is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #4 of 23 (permalink) Old 01-05-2020, 08:52 PM
AMD OC'ing Enthusiast
 
mattliston's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Wisconsin, USA
Posts: 2,549
Rep: 106 (Unique: 84)
http://www.fiberopticshare.com/cat6-...ifference.html


Not sure if this source of info is 100%, but worth a check to at least help you out.


EDIT
Quote: Originally Posted by J7SC View Post
This may help a bit. Also check their site re. prepping connections

http://www.fiberopticshare.com/cat6-...ifference.html

lol, spent just a few moments too long reading and posting lol. you beat me to it
mattliston is offline  
post #5 of 23 (permalink) Old 01-06-2020, 04:21 AM - Thread Starter
New to Overclock.net
 
dseg's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: Florida
Posts: 1,465
Rep: 49 (Unique: 46)
Thanks for the info.
It was more for future proofing too though.
I was also wondering what happens if you past 30m with cat8 since that is their limit.

dseg is offline  
post #6 of 23 (permalink) Old 01-06-2020, 01:53 PM
AMD OC'ing Enthusiast
 
mattliston's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Wisconsin, USA
Posts: 2,549
Rep: 106 (Unique: 84)
Understand that the CAT cables have a variety of distance limitations based entirely on what type of signal and quality you are utilizing.


a basic cat5 cable can run 100 meters without issue on a basic internet connection with minimal device numbers.


I personally would recommend a cable based on how it is run first, then connection quality.




No sense in having a cable that can run at light speed if a mouse farting on it breaks the cable. durability should be part of the decision as well.
mattliston is offline  
post #7 of 23 (permalink) Old 01-07-2020, 08:00 AM - Thread Starter
New to Overclock.net
 
dseg's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: Florida
Posts: 1,465
Rep: 49 (Unique: 46)
Quote: Originally Posted by mattliston View Post
Understand that the CAT cables have a variety of distance limitations based entirely on what type of signal and quality you are utilizing.


a basic cat5 cable can run 100 meters without issue on a basic internet connection with minimal device numbers.


I personally would recommend a cable based on how it is run first, then connection quality.

No sense in having a cable that can run at light speed if a mouse farting on it breaks the cable. durability should be part of the decision as well.
I agree but I believe that the high quality cat8 cable is built better with separate insulation and shielding so it can carry faster signals.
I was under the impression that if you go past 30meters with cat8 it goes down to cat7 quality.

dseg is offline  
post #8 of 23 (permalink) Old 01-07-2020, 08:22 AM
New to Overclock.net
 
Join Date: Sep 2019
Posts: 52
Rep: 1 (Unique: 1)
You're only going 100'

I bet you're only running 1 Gb NIC's...


You only need CAT 6. Even when you upgrade to 10 Gb NIC's (which you never well based on your level of understanding here), CAT 6 will still work just perfectly.



This thread is laughable.

CPU
i9-9960X @ 4.8 GHz, 3.2 GHz Mesh
Motherboard
ASUS Prime X299 Edition 30
GPU
GeForce RTX 2080 Super
RAM
G.Skill F4-3200C14Q-64GTZR
Power Supply
Seasonic 1000
Cooling
D5 PWM + 280mm + 360mm
Case
Fractal Design Meshify C
CPU
i9-9920X @ 4.6 GHz, 3.0 GHz Mesh
Motherboard
Asus TUF X299 MARK 1
GPU
GeForce RTX 2080
RAM
G.Skill F4-3200C14Q-64GTZ
Power Supply
Seasonic 850
Cooling
Noctua NH-D15
Case
Fractal Design Meshify C
▲ hide details ▲
Wizzzard is offline  
post #9 of 23 (permalink) Old 01-09-2020, 01:41 PM
New to Overclock.net
 
Join Date: Nov 2019
Posts: 12
Rep: 1 (Unique: 1)
Quote: Originally Posted by Wizzzard View Post
This thread is laughable.
That sounds bad. I would say OP just need a crash course.

Since cost is no object, fiber is on the table. Only problem with it is extra work.

Budget 2080Ti
(16 items)
CPU
Ryzen 7 3700X
Motherboard
MSI MPG X570 Gaming Plus (MS-7C37) 2.0
GPU
EVGA 2080Ti Black Gaming (11G-P4-2281-KR)
RAM
G.Skill Trident Z Neo F4-3600C16D-32GTZNC
Power Supply
EVGA Supernova 750 P2
Cooling
Noctua NH-U12S
Cooling
NZXT Kraken X52
Case
MSI MAG Vampiric 011C
Monitor
Dell Ultrasharp U2417H
Keyboard
Realforce TKL SA / R2TLSA-US4-IV
Mouse
Logitech G Pro Wireless
Mousepad
Logitech G PowerPlay
Audio
AudioQuest DragonFly Red
Audio
Etymotic ER4XR
Audio
Sanwa Supply MM-MC24
Audio
XOX MX-3
▲ hide details ▲
spot is offline  
post #10 of 23 (permalink) Old 01-09-2020, 02:06 PM
New to Overclock.net
 
skupples's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: Fort Lauderdale
Posts: 21,806
Rep: 629 (Unique: 342)
"faster signals"

aren't 7 * 8 both fiber based? if so, in home, you'll see nigh zero difference, even if routing past a nuclear reactor.

R.I.P. Zawarudo, may you OC angels' wings in heaven.
If something appears too good to be true, it probably is.
skupples is offline  
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the Overclock.net - An Overclocking Community forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.
User Name:
If you do not want to register, fill this field only and the name will be used as user name for your post.
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.
Password:
Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.
Email Address:

Log-in



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off