Using Hex 1 Gig LAN As A Switch? - Overclock.net - An Overclocking Community
Forum Jump: 

Using Hex 1 Gig LAN As A Switch?

post #1 of 2 (permalink) Old 02-20-2020, 07:57 PM - Thread Starter
New to Overclock.net

Rep: 13 (Unique: 12)
Using Hex 1 Gig LAN As A Switch?

Hey guys!
Just wanna start off this post by saying I got a crazy good deal on a BRAND NEW Server. It's a Dell Poweredge R420, It came with 2x Xeon 6C 12T CPU's (12C 24T total), 24GB Ram, 2x 1TB HDD, and a quad 1 gigabit network card. I got all of this for $100. Of course it has all of the server goodies such as hardware raid controller, hot-swappable PSU's HDD's, Etc.

Anyways, this is my first time playing around with server hardware. I did my first hardware RAID today with the 1TB drives and put windows server 2019 on it. (I got hooked up with a key as well). So here's my problem. I'm a college student in a dorm room lol. In my small 1 bedroom dorm room, I have my gaming rig, 2x iMac's (8,1 and 9,1) , 1x MacPro 1,1, and of course this server now. I do also have a 10/100 network switch, however one of my goals is to setup a little NAS to save videos (For my youtube channel, check it out, https://www.YouTube.com/c/TheZombieSurvivalist) and even some light games that don't need long HDD access times. One of the problems I'm getting is maxing out the bandwidth of my 10/100 switch (12.5mb/s on crystal disk mark from my main PC to the "NAS")