Power line adaptors as wifi? - Overclock.net - An Overclocking Community
Forum Jump: 

Power line adaptors as wifi?

post #1 of 5 (permalink) Old 06-06-2020, 08:21 AM - Thread Starter
New to Overclock.net

Rep: 156 (Unique: 125)
Power line adaptors as wifi?

Hi, I am an almost total networking novice and I have a situation I'm finding it hard to solve with my Google skills.

We have a small apartment where there is only one socket that receives an internet connection. Unfortunately that one place is in the back corner of the flat in my very young daughters room. My wife, bless her, would much rather there wasn't the source of a wifi signal in that room.

I tried to solve this by buying a set of power line adapters one of which is wifi enabled. My naive hope was that I could simply set up the power line adapters and turn off the wifi radio in our router/modem, making the powerline adaptor in the living room the houses source of wifi, while at the same time allowing me to finally have a wired connection for my PC.

Turns out that doesnt work, and disabling wifi on the router leaves us with no wifi at all, although my wired connection to the power line adapter works fine.

Is there something obvious that I haven't done that would make this work as is?

We are waiting for a reply from the building management about the possibility of relocating the internet access point but we have no idea if that's possible. Ripping out walls is out of the question but short of that I am willing to consider buying new routers, switches or whatever to make this work.

We have this router: https://www.tp-link.com/au/home-netw.../archer-vr600/

I bought these power line adapters : https://www.tp-link.com/uk/home-netw...-wpa8630p-kit/

Any and all help much appreciated, thanks for reading!

In the future everyone will be Ozymandias for 15 minutes. Or something.

Unrelated to other Slinkies.

Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 5 (permalink) Old 06-06-2020, 08:43 AM