**The Official CORSAIR VENGEANCE Owners Club** - Page 47 - Overclock.net - An Overclocking Community

Forum Jump: 

**The Official CORSAIR VENGEANCE Owners Club**

Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #461 of 482 (permalink) Old 09-01-2014, 12:48 PM
New to Overclock.net
 
Soldier212's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2014
Posts: 42
Rep: 0
hi there again, I have vengeance pro ddr3 2133 9.11.11.31 2t 1.65v

to >>>

2500 with 9.11.11.15 2t 1.79v no problems with 1.79v is there ? or may be 1.8v? ive read ddr3 memory are built to take1.92v -3v? before damage? they have slip stream fans on then up to 130cfm air blow, i had to change bclk to 104.6 if i can recall

Now realbench sees memory at 1256ghz not 2512ghz , have i messed up ? they stuill in duel mode? thanks for any help
been trying to oc me pc more all day, 7 hrs later lol

Soldier212 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #462 of 482 (permalink) Old 09-01-2014, 01:19 PM
Guru
 
SmOgER's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2014
Posts: 1,065
Rep: 29 (Unique: 26)
Quote:
Originally Posted by Soldier212 View Post

hi there again, I have vengeance pro ddr3 2133 9.11.11.31 2t 1.65v

to >>>

2500 with 9.11.11.15 2t 1.79v no problems with 1.79v is there ? or may be 1.8v? ive read ddr3 memory are built to take1.92v -3v? before damage? they have slip stream fans on then up to 130cfm air blow, i had to change bclk to 104.6 if i can recall

Now realbench sees memory at 1256ghz not 2512ghz , have i messed up ? they stuill in duel mode? thanks for any help
been trying to oc me pc more all day, 7 hrs later lol

1. 9-11-11-15 doesn't look quite right. The last digit is supposed to be around the sum of the first 3 timings. Is it stable?

2. DDR3 theoretically can take up to 2v without damage, but there are a few things to keep in mind: '

a) Some motherboards tend to overvolt (set higher values than you choose) RAM by up to some 0.08v.
b) It's not granted that the RAM will run without any problems/errors at voltages close to 2v. The only given there is that it won't damage them if they have sufficient cooling.
c) Sometimes increasing vDIMM doesn't help stability at all.

With these things in mind, I would say you are safe for up to ~1.75v with decent airflow. Possibly you could feed more but at this point you should be cautious.

3. Real RAM clock is usually 2 times smaller than effective clock. wink.gif

Xeon X5650 @ 4.0Ghz | Gigabyte EX58-EXTREME | Tactical DDR3 TC 12GB @ 2200Mhz 10-10-10-26 1T | 3.74Ghz Uncore
SmOgER is offline  
post #463 of 482 (permalink) Old 09-01-2014, 04:20 PM
New to Overclock.net
 
Soldier212's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2014
Posts: 42
Rep: 0
9-11-11-15 doesn't look quite right. lol it was actually 9-11-11-12 , i didnt know changed it back to 31

Its 90 percent stable id say, bench fine one mins for ages, then a program will fail/close, dont know if i need more volts to help with that or is it somthing else ????

ram set at 1.8 reads > DIMM 1.817v 2500ghz still

any tips to make it more stable ? my northbridge is at just over 4.5ghz and cpu just over 4.7ghz, had to increase volts to cpu from 1.270 to 1.30 which is fine

Soldier212 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #464 of 482 (permalink) Old 09-02-2014, 01:26 AM
Guru
 
SmOgER's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2014
Posts: 1,065
Rep: 29 (Unique: 26)
Try bumping VTT (FSB termination) and/or NB(MCH) voltages.

Xeon X5650 @ 4.0Ghz | Gigabyte EX58-EXTREME | Tactical DDR3 TC 12GB @ 2200Mhz 10-10-10-26 1T | 3.74Ghz Uncore
SmOgER is offline  
post #465 of 482 (permalink) Old 09-02-2014, 07:34 AM
New to Overclock.net
 
Soldier212's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2014
Posts: 42
Rep: 0
couldnt boot for abit then lol got me worried, it was like it was geting stuck on somthing,

i got error code 15, which in the book says: 15-18 pre memory system agent initializaion is started

seems like it never finished lol, will that VTT (FSB termination) and/or NB(MCH) voltages. help ? also is NB cache?(northbridge)

Soldier212 is offline  
post #466 of 482 (permalink) Old 09-10-2014, 12:26 PM
Guru
 
SmOgER's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2014
Posts: 1,065
Rep: 29 (Unique: 26)
What timings do you use for 1800Mhz with 1600C9 kit?
I had it at 9-9-9-24, but it was causing occasional freezes (other than that no errors), so trying now
9-10-9-27.

Dunno if it's just me, but for some reason despite relative small difference on paper, my sysem feels exptremely responsive with RAM around 1800Mhz, while 1500Mhz just "feels" slower despite tighter timings and pretty similiar benchmark results. Maybe has to do something with clock skew or some even more astronomical things... biggrin.gif

Xeon X5650 @ 4.0Ghz | Gigabyte EX58-EXTREME | Tactical DDR3 TC 12GB @ 2200Mhz 10-10-10-26 1T | 3.74Ghz Uncore
SmOgER is offline  
post #467 of 482 (permalink) Old 09-23-2014, 05:38 AM
New to Overclock.net
 
rdlambe1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2013
Posts: 250
Rep: 1 (Unique: 1)
Corsair Vengeance Pro DDR3 2133MHz CL8 4x4GB

BOOM


rdlambe1 is offline  
post #468 of 482 (permalink) Old 09-26-2014, 05:18 PM
Guru
 
SmOgER's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2014
Posts: 1,065
Rep: 29 (Unique: 26)
Anyone had any experience reflashing SPD profiles?
This I believe could greatly improve the RAM stability and compatibility when flashing profile which has loosened sub-sub-timings which normally are unavailable/hidden in BIOS for manual adjustment and often aren't re-set correctly after overclocking.

Xeon X5650 @ 4.0Ghz | Gigabyte EX58-EXTREME | Tactical DDR3 TC 12GB @ 2200Mhz 10-10-10-26 1T | 3.74Ghz Uncore
SmOgER is offline  
post #469 of 482 (permalink) Old 09-27-2014, 01:08 PM
New to Overclock.net
 
Chita Gonza's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2014
Posts: 29
Rep: 2 (Unique: 2)
i have 2x2 gb g.skill and a 2x2 gb g.skill ripjaws x and it randomly freezes my computer during boot up if i run it at 1600mhz. i gave up troubleshooting it. i figured it might have something to do with mixing the rams. also getting 2x4 gb is better since it frees up 2 sl0ts.

still deciding if i need to get the blue or the black version. i can get the blue one for about $60 and the black one goes for $99.
Chita Gonza is offline  
post #470 of 482 (permalink) Old 09-27-2014, 03:07 PM
Guru
 
SmOgER's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2014
Posts: 1,065
Rep: 29 (Unique: 26)
Quote:
Originally Posted by Chita Gonza View Post

i have 2x2 gb g.skill and a 2x2 gb g.skill ripjaws x and it randomly freezes my computer during boot up if i run it at 1600mhz. i gave up troubleshooting it. i figured it might have something to do with mixing the rams. also getting 2x4 gb is better since it frees up 2 sl0ts.

still deciding if i need to get the blue or the black version. i can get the blue one for about $60 and the black one goes for $99.

This thread is exclusively for Corsair Vengeance memory. tongue.gif

Xeon X5650 @ 4.0Ghz | Gigabyte EX58-EXTREME | Tactical DDR3 TC 12GB @ 2200Mhz 10-10-10-26 1T | 3.74Ghz Uncore
SmOgER is offline  
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the Overclock.net - An Overclocking Community forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.
User Name:
If you do not want to register, fill this field only and the name will be used as user name for your post.
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.
Password:
Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.
Email Address:

Log-in



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off