Crucial Ballistix Tactical Tracer question - Page 2 - Overclock.net - An Overclocking Community
Forum Jump: 

Crucial Ballistix Tactical Tracer question

Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #11 of 20 (permalink) Old 07-06-2012, 12:54 AM
New to Overclock.net
 
RedScorch's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: Little Falls, MN
Posts: 528
Rep: 13 (Unique: 9)
I was also looking at these since my Vengeance are just sooo high, I was planning on the 1866mhz and if you can get them to [email protected] sounds great! thumb.gif
RedScorch is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #12 of 20 (permalink) Old 07-06-2012, 02:36 AM
New to Overclock.net
 
OcSlave's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Posts: 666
Rep: 57 (Unique: 45)
Quote:
Originally Posted by RedScorch View Post

I was also looking at these since my Vengeance are just sooo high, I was planning on the 1866mhz and if you can get them to [email protected] sounds great! thumb.gif

Mine did do 2200mhz but i was messing around, i believe the timings was 9 9 9 27 2t @1.6v but after about a day i got a funny crash, never seen a crash like that so i take it was ram related, lowered the clock to the same settings as my old 2133mhz and stayed there since, all it probly needed was looser timings maybe??
I dno as i decided tobe happy with what i'm running now.
Incdently i've just swapped back to 2133mhz 9 9 9 27 2t @1.6v as i have been stable for quite a few weeks with 9 11 9 28 2t @1.6v, see how it goes but i think i'll be ok as it was ok for the few days i tried it.

They fit under the Noctua d14 fine, only issue's i see is that i now want to scrap my d14 for a wc setup just so i can see my ram leds better, did i say i love my leds on my ram! thumb.gif

I allso ordered straight from Crucial and got 1866mhz for the price of 1600mhz at the shops.
Here's a quick reference to prices wink.gif, price differences may be the same where ever you are ?
http://www.overclockers.co.uk/showproduct.php?prodid=MY-143-CR
http://www.crucial.com/uk/store/partspecs.aspx?IMODULE=BLT2CP4G3D1869DT2TXRGCEU

Here's a usa one i think
http://www.crucial.com/store/partspecs.aspx?IMODULE=BLT2KIT4G3D1869DT2TXRG

Are they cheaper than the shops you order from RedScorch ?

OcSlave is offline  
post #13 of 20 (permalink) Old 07-06-2012, 03:57 AM
New to Overclock.net
 
tech99's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Kolkata, India
Posts: 279
Rep: 11 (Unique: 10)
I'm was the same situation as OP. Wanted to buy this RAM (3x4GB 1600MHz) but was unsure of it's reliability. But seeing you guys running it without trouble has helped me make my decision. Thanks.

|| May Your Framerates Be High and Temps Low. ||

Steam: sh1nsam || Origin: xMerCuSx

post-flame-small.gif GTX 1080 Overclock Leaderboard & Owners Club post-flame-small.gif


 

post-flame-small.gif Official Samsung 950 Pro Owners Club post-flame-small.gif


 
[Official] Plextor M3 Owner's Club

post-flame-small.gif Officla Plextor M3 Owners Club post-flame-small.gif


 

Mouse used/tested: DA 1800DPi, DA 3.5G, DA BE, Imperator, Lachesis, G500, G400, CM Sentinel Advance, G400S, G502, Kone Pure Military, Zowie ZA-11, Zowie EC2-a
tech99 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #14 of 20 (permalink) Old 07-06-2012, 04:22 AM
New to Overclock.net
 
ski-bum's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: Bean Town
Posts: 1,474
Rep: 131 (Unique: 128)
Replaced my triple channel Corsair with Cruicial Ballistix Tactical Tracer 3 x 4GB. I had no problem at all with the memory. Set to XMP in bios and ran at atated speed.
ski-bum is offline  
post #15 of 20 (permalink) Old 07-06-2012, 04:30 AM
New to Overclock.net
 
navit's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Dallas Tx
Posts: 3,753
Rep: 110 (Unique: 100)
I am finding it to be great ram myself, havent had any isues.

Quote:
"The kind that thinks his printer is a removable usb boot device"
navit is offline  
post #16 of 20 (permalink) Old 07-06-2012, 04:32 AM
New to Overclock.net
 
adridu59's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Paris, France
Posts: 6,536
Rep: 313 (Unique: 230)
Quote:
Originally Posted by tech99 View Post

I'm was the same situation as OP. Wanted to buy this RAM (3x4GB 1600MHz) but was unsure of it's reliability. But seeing you guys running it without trouble has helped me make my decision. Thanks.

Crucial have had its hiccups but their RAM is fine now. The Micron ICs overclock fairly good too.

OCN's Recommended: Power SuppliesAudio Products

~ Sig now ToS compliant
adridu59 is offline  
post #17 of 20 (permalink) Old 07-07-2012, 01:18 AM
New to Overclock.net
 
avs234's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Posts: 2
Rep: 0
I've got four 8gb modules. On my P8Z77V-LK with 3770K, they don't even start above 1333 MHz (e.g., with their own XMP profile [email protected] 1.5V set in BIOS). Other DIMMs like Corsair LP 4x4 1600 work just nice on this system.

As for 1333, these so-called 1600 modules are very stable at 7-7-7-18-1T @1333 if set to 1.6V with good air flow around (12 hrs of prime95 in 8-thread blend mode).

Most probably, it's all MB-related. In any case, I'd suggest to check up their forum (e.g. here) before purchase, and use the "scan" program at their site which tests if your MB is compatible.

So, I contacted their support and got an immediate response as of the voltages:

Thank you for contacting Crucial. Your Smart Tracer modules are rated for 1.5V, with a tested tolerance of 0.75V variance, which makes 1.58V the highest you can go without going outside of the official specifications. As you noticed the modules will still run at a slightly higher voltage, but you're right to be concerned about the long-term effects the higher voltage will have on the memory.

An alternative to increasing the voltage is to loosen the timings by increasing the numbers slightly. You may need to experiment by changing them gradually and one at a time, until you reach a stable configuration. Looking at the motherboard specifications, DDR3-1600 is the highest speed the P8Z77V motherboard supports without over-clocking, and that means you may need to tweak the settings a bit more than you would need to do at lower speeds
avs234 is offline  
post #18 of 20 (permalink) Old 07-09-2012, 09:10 AM
New to Overclock.net
 
avs234's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Posts: 2
Rep: 0
Well, it's all clear now. One of the four modules was faulty. Installing that lame duck in any memory slot starts the others at 1333 and no higher... Removing, those other three start at 1600 anytime, or up to 2133 with a milder setup, just as nice. Now seeing to how quick they'd replace it if ever. Might be not a warranty case as well? Curious, those crucial.
avs234 is offline  
post #19 of 20 (permalink) Old 10-11-2012, 12:52 PM
New to Overclock.net
 
cowprince's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Posts: 4
Rep: 0
I have started to build a new PC.

Core components are:
Motherboard - Gigabyte GA-Z77X UP5 TH (BIOS F11)
Memory - 4 x 4GB Crucial 1866MHz 9-9-9-27 1.5V Tactical Tracer DDR3 (BLT4G3D1869DT2TXOB.16FKD)
CPU - Intel i7 3770K
PSU - Seasonic 1000W Platinum
Video - 2 EVGA 680 GTX in SLI
SSD - Crucial 512gb M4

I have verified that the power supply is good.
I have verified my old PC's 1600MHz OCZ works in the new system without a hiccup.
I have tested each Crucial DIMM individually and see the same result with all 4.

Included is a Youtube video to what I'm seeing on the Debug LED on the motherboard.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=ol94eJMbF2U

This memory was certified to work with this motherboard by Crucial.

Crucial would like to send me the 1600MHz memory of the tactical tracer line, they believe it's speed related. I find this hard to believe considering I attempted to set the timings/frequency to that of the 1600MHz line without success.

cowprince is offline  
post #20 of 20 (permalink) Old 01-06-2013, 07:03 PM
New to Overclock.net
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: Ipil, Zamboanga Sibugay
Posts: 42
Rep: 0
tried using the XMP?

xStark is offline  
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the Overclock.net - An Overclocking Community forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.
User Name:
If you do not want to register, fill this field only and the name will be used as user name for your post.
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.
Password:
Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.
Email Address:

Log-in



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off