[Solved] what RAM speed is recomended for high overclocks on AMD? - Overclock.net - An Overclocking Community
Forum Jump: 

[Solved] what RAM speed is recomended for high overclocks on AMD?

post #1 of 35 (permalink) Old 03-30-2013, 10:58 PM - Thread Starter
New to Overclock.net

Rep: 2658 (Unique: 1360)
Hi all
I am about to start some subezero runs on a GB 990FXA-UD5 with some FX chips in a couple of weeks. Whilst i am still setting up my benching rig a thought came to me about RAM.

What RAM speed should i look at?
Also i am thinking of using the G.Skill TridentX series.

what is peoples thouights on this? smile.gif

[edit] i am new to AMD overclocking and learning about OC'ing AMD chips from guides.
I am just a bit confused about RAM and if it affects high overclocks.

Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 35 (permalink) Old 03-31-2013, 12:15 AM
New to Overclock.net

Rep: 105 (Unique: 67)
Since you are a bencher, then the highest possible clocks with the lowest possible timings is your goal.
As the IMC is in the CPU chip, the hotter it gets leaves you with less headroom for CPU OC
From my own experience, 1600MHz is the sweet spotwhen it comes to RAM OC in AMD systems in terms of performance (and please do correct me people if you have seen something different)
Since you plan on benching,I suggest that you use only 2 modules of RAM for starters to see how it goes. That is to avoid the heating issues I mentioned above, and because AMD systems tend to downclock RAM to the divider previous to the actual RAM speed when 2 or more memory slots are populated,so,be prepared to apply the timings manually.
Also,raising the NB Freq helps a lot.
That for starters. I know there is more to it,and I apologise beforehand, but working shifts takes its toll on brain functionality. thumb.gif

Arrrrrrrrgh, arrrrouhhhhh, aghhhhhhh.
Chewbacca
post #3 of 35 (permalink) Old 03-31-2013, 12:21 AM
New to Overclock.net

Can't edit.
This might give some insight