3770k vs 6700k In Fallout 4, Arma 3, Rainbow Six Siege. With core\cache\memory scaling ddr3-1600c11-2133c9 ddr4-2133c15-3000c12-4000c17 - Page 2 - Overclock.net - An Overclocking Community

Forum Jump: 

3770k vs 6700k In Fallout 4, Arma 3, Rainbow Six Siege. With core\cache\memory scaling ddr3-1600c11-2133c9 ddr4-2133c15-3000c12-4000c17

Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #11 of 37 (permalink) Old 02-04-2017, 04:07 AM - Thread Starter
New to Overclock.net
 
Join Date: May 2014
Location: Australia Northern VIC
Posts: 275
Rep: 20 (Unique: 19)
it was v5.75.392 beta by the looks
background processes can have a huge impact on it
updated to the latest version i will upload a recent test with a old windows install



that is a very nice speed your running hope to see a better score from you soon smile.gif

also grab memtweakit so i can see your sub timings
http://dlcdnet.asus.com/pub/ASUS/misc/utils/MemTweakIt_V1017_XPWin7_8.zip?_ga=1.211364828.858473916.1479949397
Dasa is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #12 of 37 (permalink) Old 02-05-2017, 01:56 AM
New to Overclock.net
 
Mikeg1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2017
Posts: 13
Rep: 0
Mem TweakIT doesn't work for me. It just opens and shows this:



Mikeg1 is offline  
post #13 of 37 (permalink) Old 02-05-2017, 05:05 AM - Thread Starter
New to Overclock.net
 
Join Date: May 2014
Location: Australia Northern VIC
Posts: 275
Rep: 20 (Unique: 19)
bugger how about asrock timing configurator?

your results are a little inconsistent though im guessing fair bit of your problem is background tasks maybe antivirus?

edit
looks like your mb has a newer version of memtweakit available than the one i linked
Mem TweakIt V2.02.22 https://www.asus.com/au/Motherboards/MAXIMUS-VIII-IMPACT/HelpDesk_Download/
Dasa is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #14 of 37 (permalink) Old 02-05-2017, 05:48 AM
New to Overclock.net
 
czin125's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Posts: 2,296
Rep: 52 (Unique: 47)
Are you able to up your North Bridge clock to 4700mhz from 4099mhz? Nice 4133 17-17-17-37 CR1. Volts on that?

czin125 is offline  
post #15 of 37 (permalink) Old 02-05-2017, 08:47 AM
New to Overclock.net
 
Seyumi's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: Las Vegas, NV
Posts: 435
Rep: 27 (Unique: 23)
Thank you very informal. Proves that higher clocked RAM now has as much of a significance as more powerful GPUs & CPU's now:

All 6700k @ 4.7Ghz overclock:

Fallout 4:
4000 Mhz - 40.2 min 68.0 avg
3200 Mhz - 37.5 min 64.2 avg
2133 Mhz - 30.8 min 51.1 avg

Arma 3:
4000 Mhz - 81.8 avg
3200 Mhz - 76.4 avg
2133 Mhz - 64.6 avg

This is also a benefit with the Z270 platform over the X99 platform. On Z270 you can get DDR4 4266mhz easy XMP profile paired with a 5.2 Ghz 7600/7700k. When I had an X99 platform I couldn't really go above DDR4 2400 Mhz XMP profile on a 5960x @ 4.7Ghz without getting into some serious manual custom memory timings. Many people were able to get up to around 3000Mhz but that's about it.

Just further proves my experience that higher clocked CPUs & Memory will always trump more cores @ slower CPU & memory clocks in 99% of all gaming scenarios. I am batting for the Z270 team right now versus X99 but I think I'll have to go the new LGA 2066/x299 platform once it's released later this year. It's been proven that once you push the 4k realm (triple 4k or the new 144mhz 4k monitors), the extra PCIE lanes and the extra CPU cores really does make a big FPS difference to push that much bandwidth.

Alienware AW3418DW 34" Curved 120hz 21:9 1440p IPS G-Sync Monitor
Alienware Area 51 R5 Tower Case + 7x Corsair ML120 120mm Fans
Intel Core i7 9800X 8C/16T @ 4.5 Ghz + Corsair H80i 120mm AIO
Kingston HyperX Fury 32GB (8GBx4) DDR4 3200 Mhz CL18 Memory
2x SLI EVGA GeForce RTX 2080Ti FTW3 Hybrid 120mm AIO GPU's
Dell 1500 Watt 80 Plus Gold Modular Power Supply
1TB Samsung 970 PRO NVMe PCIe M.2 2280 SSD Hard Drive
Seyumi is offline  
post #16 of 37 (permalink) Old 02-05-2017, 01:50 PM - Thread Starter
New to Overclock.net
 
Join Date: May 2014
Location: Australia Northern VIC
Posts: 275
Rep: 20 (Unique: 19)
since i was a bit bored today and have never seen it tested i decided to check what impact ram speed has on lightroom
[email protected] with the ram at spd\xmp\max stable oc

time taken to export 150 .nef to jpeg
2133c15 3:20
3200c14 2:50
3866c16 2:39

time taken to build 150 1:1 previews
2133c15 6:03
3200c14 5:33
3866c16 5:23
Dasa is offline  
post #17 of 37 (permalink) Old 02-05-2017, 01:55 PM
PC Evangelist
 
ZealotKi11er's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Toronto, CA
Posts: 45,435
Rep: 1789 (Unique: 1170)
Looking at this what is good speed to get for DDR4 without having to spend a lot more money?

Ishimura
(13 items)
Yamato
(10 items)
CPU
Intel Core i7-3770K @ 4.8GHz
Motherboard
ASRock Z77E-ITX
GPU
AMD Radeon Vega Frontier Edition
RAM
AVEXIR Blitz 1.1 16GB DDR3-2400MHz CL10
Hard Drive
SanDisk Ultra II 960GB
Hard Drive
Toshiba X300 5TB
Power Supply
EVGA SuperNOVA 750 G3
Cooling
Corsair H100i GTX
Case
Fractal Design Define Nano S
Operating System
Microsoft Windows 10 Pro 64 Bit
Monitor
LG OLED55C7P
Keyboard
Cooler Master MasterKeys MK750
Mouse
Finalmouse Air58 Ninja
CPU
Intel Core i7-6700K @ 4.6GHz
Motherboard
ASUS Z170 Deluxe
GPU
EVGA GeForce GTX 1080 Ti Hybrid
RAM
Corsair Vengeance LPX 16GB DDR4-3000 CL15
Hard Drive
Samsung SM961 512GB
Hard Drive
HGST DeskStar NAS 6TB
Power Supply
EVGA SuperNOVA 750 P2
Cooling
Cooler Master Nepton 280L
Case
Fractal Design Meshify C TG
Operating System
Microsoft Windows 10 Pro 64 Bit
▲ hide details ▲


ZealotKi11er is online now  
post #18 of 37 (permalink) Old 02-05-2017, 02:58 PM - Thread Starter
New to Overclock.net
 
Join Date: May 2014
Location: Australia Northern VIC
Posts: 275
Rep: 20 (Unique: 19)
anything around 3000mhz
i spent a little extra for a 3200c14 kit that overclocks well
you also wanted a good mb to go much past 3200mhz with skylake but it seems easier to hit higher speeds with karby
Dasa is offline  
post #19 of 37 (permalink) Old 02-05-2017, 03:25 PM
PC Evangelist
 
ZealotKi11er's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Toronto, CA
Posts: 45,435
Rep: 1789 (Unique: 1170)
Quote:
Originally Posted by Dasa View Post

anything around 3000mhz
i spent a little extra for a 3200c14 kit that overclocks well
you also wanted a good mb to go much past 3200mhz with skylake but it seems easier to hit higher speeds with karby

Looking at the prices in Canada and it looks like I can get 32GB 3200 CL16 ~ $250. Not sure if I should stay with 16GB and save money. Could just get cheap 2400 kit for $85 for 16GB.

Ishimura
(13 items)
Yamato
(10 items)
CPU
Intel Core i7-3770K @ 4.8GHz
Motherboard
ASRock Z77E-ITX
GPU
AMD Radeon Vega Frontier Edition
RAM
AVEXIR Blitz 1.1 16GB DDR3-2400MHz CL10
Hard Drive
SanDisk Ultra II 960GB
Hard Drive
Toshiba X300 5TB
Power Supply
EVGA SuperNOVA 750 G3
Cooling
Corsair H100i GTX
Case
Fractal Design Define Nano S
Operating System
Microsoft Windows 10 Pro 64 Bit
Monitor
LG OLED55C7P
Keyboard
Cooler Master MasterKeys MK750
Mouse
Finalmouse Air58 Ninja
CPU
Intel Core i7-6700K @ 4.6GHz
Motherboard
ASUS Z170 Deluxe
GPU
EVGA GeForce GTX 1080 Ti Hybrid
RAM
Corsair Vengeance LPX 16GB DDR4-3000 CL15
Hard Drive
Samsung SM961 512GB
Hard Drive
HGST DeskStar NAS 6TB
Power Supply
EVGA SuperNOVA 750 P2
Cooling
Cooler Master Nepton 280L
Case
Fractal Design Meshify C TG
Operating System
Microsoft Windows 10 Pro 64 Bit
▲ hide details ▲


ZealotKi11er is online now  
post #20 of 37 (permalink) Old 02-05-2017, 03:53 PM - Thread Starter
New to Overclock.net
 
Join Date: May 2014
Location: Australia Northern VIC
Posts: 275
Rep: 20 (Unique: 19)
wether or not its worth the extra cash depends a bit on the balance with the rest of the system and its uses

G.SKILL Ripjaws V Series 16GB (2 x 8GB) 288-Pin DDR4 SDRAM DDR4 3200 (PC4 25600) Intel Z170 Platform Desktop Memory Model F4-3200C16D-16GVGB $130
https://www.newegg.ca/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E16820232181
Dasa is offline  
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the Overclock.net - An Overclocking Community forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.
User Name:
If you do not want to register, fill this field only and the name will be used as user name for your post.
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.
Password:
Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.
Email Address:

Log-in



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off