3770k vs 6700k In Fallout 4, Arma 3, Rainbow Six Siege. With core\cache\memory scaling ddr3-1600c11-2133c9 ddr4-2133c15-3000c12-4000c17 - Page 3 - Overclock.net - An Overclocking Community

Forum Jump: 

3770k vs 6700k In Fallout 4, Arma 3, Rainbow Six Siege. With core\cache\memory scaling ddr3-1600c11-2133c9 ddr4-2133c15-3000c12-4000c17

Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #21 of 37 (permalink) Old 02-05-2017, 04:12 PM
PC Evangelist
 
ZealotKi11er's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Toronto, CA
Posts: 45,623
Rep: 1793 (Unique: 1172)
Quote:
Originally Posted by Dasa View Post

wether or not its worth the extra cash depends a bit on the balance with the rest of the system and its uses

G.SKILL Ripjaws V Series 16GB (2 x 8GB) 288-Pin DDR4 SDRAM DDR4 3200 (PC4 25600) Intel Z170 Platform Desktop Memory Model F4-3200C16D-16GVGB $130
https://www.newegg.ca/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E16820232181

Yeah, those are the ones I had in mind. Probably best to wait since I will be going Zen and XMP probably does not work well there.

Yamato
(10 items)
Ishimura
(13 items)
CPU
Intel Core i7-6700K @ 4.6GHz
Motherboard
ASUS Z170 Deluxe
GPU
EVGA GeForce GTX 1080 Ti Hybrid
RAM
Corsair Vengeance LPX 16GB DDR4-3000 CL15
Hard Drive
Samsung SM961 512GB
Hard Drive
HGST DeskStar NAS 6TB
Power Supply
EVGA SuperNOVA 750 P2
Cooling
Cooler Master Nepton 280L
Case
Fractal Design Meshify C TG
Operating System
Microsoft Windows 10 Pro 64 Bit
CPU
Intel Core i7-3770K @ 4.8GHz
Motherboard
ASRock Z77E-ITX
GPU
AMD Radeon Vega Frontier Edition
RAM
AVEXIR Blitz 1.1 16GB DDR3-2400MHz CL10
Hard Drive
SanDisk Ultra II 960GB
Hard Drive
Toshiba X300 5TB
Power Supply
EVGA SuperNOVA 750 G3
Cooling
Corsair H100i GTX
Case
Fractal Design Define Nano S
Operating System
Microsoft Windows 10 Pro 64 Bit
Monitor
LG OLED55C7P
Keyboard
Cooler Master MasterKeys MK750
Mouse
Finalmouse Air58 Ninja
▲ hide details ▲


ZealotKi11er is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #22 of 37 (permalink) Old 02-05-2017, 08:06 PM
New to Overclock.net
 
Mikeg1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2017
Posts: 13
Rep: 0
Mikeg1 is offline  
post #23 of 37 (permalink) Old 02-05-2017, 08:18 PM
New to Overclock.net
 
Mikeg1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2017
Posts: 13
Rep: 0
Upped my cache to 4.7Ghz
Mikeg1 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #24 of 37 (permalink) Old 02-05-2017, 08:33 PM
New to Overclock.net
 
Mikeg1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2017
Posts: 13
Rep: 0

Mikeg1 is offline  
post #25 of 37 (permalink) Old 02-06-2017, 04:38 AM - Thread Starter
New to Overclock.net
 
Join Date: May 2014
Location: Australia Northern VIC
Posts: 324
Rep: 22 (Unique: 21)
looking better with those tweaked sub timings
see if you can get REF Cycle Time below 400 lower the better but you will hit a point where it becomes unstable fast and could corrupt your os so its best to test with a linux boot and GSAT before going back to your main os
you can also try increase Dram Refresh interval to ~25,000 if you like it just helps the mbps in aida64 a bit but can create instability during standby loads if set to high

the others are obviously not to be ignored going by how much you have gained already

tertiary timings i ended up leaving at auto as i found minimal gain from tinkering and some minor instability but if you find something that makes a worthwhile difference in there let me know smile.gif

there is some good info here if you spend enough time digging
https://www.overclock.net/t/1569364/official-ddr4-z170-z270-and-x99-24-7-memory-stability-thread
Dasa is offline  
post #26 of 37 (permalink) Old 02-11-2017, 03:30 AM
New to Overclock.net
 
Mikeg1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2017
Posts: 13
Rep: 0


Played arma 3 for 4 hours +. My CPU voltage automatically set to 1.5v and 4.8Ghz multiplier. Needless to say The multiplier added +2x to clock speed. Couldn't figure out why my temps were uncontrollable with 20c jumps and max temp of 100c. Max voltage was 1.45v luckily. Had a rx480 @ 1500MHz playing 4k ultra no AA @45 to 60fps.Luckily 6700k didn't fry. I couldn't get my ram to boot with 4400Mhz OC profile.
Mikeg1 is offline  
post #27 of 37 (permalink) Old 02-11-2017, 11:52 AM
PC Evangelist
 
ZealotKi11er's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Toronto, CA
Posts: 45,623
Rep: 1793 (Unique: 1172)
Quote:
Originally Posted by Mikeg1 View Post



Played arma 3 for 4 hours +. My CPU voltage automatically set to 1.5v and 4.8Ghz multiplier. Needless to say The multiplier added +2x to clock speed. Couldn't figure out why my temps were uncontrollable with 20c jumps and max temp of 100c. Max voltage was 1.45v luckily. Had a rx480 @ 1500MHz playing 4k ultra no AA @45 to 60fps.Luckily 6700k didn't fry. I couldn't get my ram to boot with 4400Mhz OC profile.

That is insane memory speeds. Double that of my 3770K.

Yamato
(10 items)
Ishimura
(13 items)
CPU
Intel Core i7-6700K @ 4.6GHz
Motherboard
ASUS Z170 Deluxe
GPU
EVGA GeForce GTX 1080 Ti Hybrid
RAM
Corsair Vengeance LPX 16GB DDR4-3000 CL15
Hard Drive
Samsung SM961 512GB
Hard Drive
HGST DeskStar NAS 6TB
Power Supply
EVGA SuperNOVA 750 P2
Cooling
Cooler Master Nepton 280L
Case
Fractal Design Meshify C TG
Operating System
Microsoft Windows 10 Pro 64 Bit
CPU
Intel Core i7-3770K @ 4.8GHz
Motherboard
ASRock Z77E-ITX
GPU
AMD Radeon Vega Frontier Edition
RAM
AVEXIR Blitz 1.1 16GB DDR3-2400MHz CL10
Hard Drive
SanDisk Ultra II 960GB
Hard Drive
Toshiba X300 5TB
Power Supply
EVGA SuperNOVA 750 G3
Cooling
Corsair H100i GTX
Case
Fractal Design Define Nano S
Operating System
Microsoft Windows 10 Pro 64 Bit
Monitor
LG OLED55C7P
Keyboard
Cooler Master MasterKeys MK750
Mouse
Finalmouse Air58 Ninja
▲ hide details ▲


ZealotKi11er is offline  
post #28 of 37 (permalink) Old 02-11-2017, 12:23 PM - Thread Starter
New to Overclock.net
 
Join Date: May 2014
Location: Australia Northern VIC
Posts: 324
Rep: 22 (Unique: 21)
heh v can sneak up on you like that
i accidentally maxed out the igp v on a i3 530 to 1.7v once its still working to this day managed to get the igp close to 1300mhz though smile.gif

have you tried lowering tRFC yet?

mind running arma stratis benchmark 0.51 before and after?
it could be handy for working out whats optimal for you to those few extra mhz or tighter timings for a lower final latency
Dasa is offline  
post #29 of 37 (permalink) Old 02-11-2017, 03:49 PM
New to Overclock.net
 
Mikeg1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2017
Posts: 13
Rep: 0
Quote:
Originally Posted by Dasa View Post

heh v can sneak up on you like that
i accidentally maxed out the igp v on a i3 530 to 1.7v once its still working to this day managed to get the igp close to 1300mhz though smile.gif

have you tried lowering tRFC yet?

mind running arma stratis benchmark 0.51 before and after?
it could be handy for working out whats optimal for you to those few extra mhz or tighter timings for a lower final latency

Yeah some how the voltage went from auto to manual 1.5v. Na i havnt touch tRFC. Ironically lowering timings perform worse in Aida64. Im trying to boot with the 4400MHz option. I'll download the benchmark 0.51.
Mikeg1 is offline  
post #30 of 37 (permalink) Old 04-24-2017, 02:15 AM
New to Overclock.net
 
czin125's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Posts: 2,296
Rep: 52 (Unique: 47)
The gpu seems to be maxed out in the Arma 3 test. Are you going to do a new one at a later point in time?

http://cdn.overclock.net/d/dd/dd4a6065_6700k204.7203000c12.jpeg
http://cdn.overclock.net/2/29/290a5b22_6700k204.7204000c17.jpeg
It seems like 3000 CL12 has the same latency as 4000 CL17 ( 37.3ns ) with the latter having more bandwidth to go with it.

3000 / 12 = 250
4000 / 17 = 235
So if you went to a lower clock speed, you'd need even lower CL to compensate for the latency.

czin125 is offline  
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the Overclock.net - An Overclocking Community forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.
User Name:
If you do not want to register, fill this field only and the name will be used as user name for your post.
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.
Password:
Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.
Email Address:

Log-in



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off