Overclocking X58 (Xeon X5675) - can't get decent speed out of HyperX T1 DDR3 - Overclock.net - An Overclocking Community

Forum Jump: 

Overclocking X58 (Xeon X5675) - can't get decent speed out of HyperX T1 DDR3

Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 11 (permalink) Old 11-19-2018, 08:18 AM - Thread Starter
New to Overclock.net
 
Join Date: Nov 2018
Posts: 5
Rep: 0
Overclocking X58 (Xeon X5675) - can't get decent speed out of HyperX T1 DDR3

Hi,

this is my setup:

Mobo: Asus P6X58D-E
CPU: Intel Xeon X5675
Cooler: Scythe Mugen 2
RAM: Kingston HyperX T1 DDR3 12GB (2x 3x2GB)
GPU: Gigabyte GTX770
PSU: Corsair AX850
Case: Silverstone Raven RV01

with these BIOS settings https://imgur.com/a/zoufIUK

My PC just can't get through POST.
(memok! shows overclocking failed and points me to BIOS)

I could have just call it a day, but the best I can get is ~1300 MHz. Which is ridiculous, because sticks themselves are rated up to 2000MHz (first picture).
I also had no idea when configured my sticks in BIOS, so these to facts suggest that I may have done something wrong.
Any ideas how to tweak this?
quarien is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 11 (permalink) Old 11-19-2018, 08:33 AM
Mr.4way SLI
 
Moparman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Farmington MO
Posts: 5,424
Rep: 191 (Unique: 171)
have you tested each stick 1 by one? also the Xeons might not like that high of mem with 6 dimms. I was only able to do 2000+ with 3 dimms on that board with my best X5680.
Moparman is offline  
post #3 of 11 (permalink) Old 11-19-2018, 08:35 AM - Thread Starter
New to Overclock.net
 
Join Date: Nov 2018
Posts: 5
Rep: 0
Quote: Originally Posted by Moparman View Post
have you tested each stick 1 by one? also the Xeons might not like that high of mem with 6 dimms. I was only able to do 2000+ with 3 dimms on that board with my best X5680.
When I'm back home I'll test one by one.
But assuming that I'd like to run with all my sticks... How much of a downgrade I'm looking at?
I've seen some reviews of my sticks, some guys got up to 21xx MHz. I'd be happy with 2000. Or even 18xx. But for now, even the posted setup with 17xx just crashes. Is it the downgrade I need to accept?
quarien is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #4 of 11 (permalink) Old 11-19-2018, 08:39 AM
Mr.4way SLI
 
Moparman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Farmington MO
Posts: 5,424
Rep: 191 (Unique: 171)
Can you take and post all bios screen shots of everything you have set for cpu and mem OC please?
Moparman is offline  
post #5 of 11 (permalink) Old 11-19-2018, 08:56 AM - Thread Starter
New to Overclock.net
 
Join Date: Nov 2018
Posts: 5
Rep: 0
Quote: Originally Posted by Moparman View Post
Can you take and post all bios screen shots of everything you have set for cpu and mem OC please?
https://imgur.com/a/zoufIUK
Can you access this link from the first post?
quarien is offline  
post #6 of 11 (permalink) Old 11-19-2018, 09:34 AM
Mr.4way SLI
 
Moparman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Farmington MO
Posts: 5,424
Rep: 191 (Unique: 171)
Push FSB more and lower the QPI that is an issue. The pic wouldn't load the first time so no idea why. Also some of the Xeons don't lie to push high clocks at the max multi so try for around 185fsb and 23 multi. Also bump the Vcore up a little more to like 1.34v and try that. You might need closer to 1.375-1.392v for 4.2+
Moparman is offline  
post #7 of 11 (permalink) Old 11-19-2018, 09:59 AM
New to Overclock.net
 
Regeneration's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Posts: 60
Rep: 22 (Unique: 22)
* DDR timings tRFC and tRRD are too low. Use AIDA64 to read the XMP profile and enter the timings manually.
* 1.35v QPI/DRAM voltage is too much for Westmere.
* PLL voltage boost is useless on Westmere. Keep it on default.
* Set DDR command rate to 1T (if possible).

Last edited by Regeneration; 11-19-2018 at 10:07 AM.
Regeneration is offline  
post #8 of 11 (permalink) Old 11-19-2018, 12:25 PM - Thread Starter
New to Overclock.net
 
Join Date: Nov 2018
Posts: 5
Rep: 0
Quote: Originally Posted by Regeneration View Post
* DDR timings tRFC and tRRD are too low. Use AIDA64 to read the XMP profile and enter the timings manually.
* 1.35v QPI/DRAM voltage is too much for Westmere.
* PLL voltage boost is useless on Westmere. Keep it on default.
* Set DDR command rate to 1T (if possible).
I've updated my imgur post with this screenshot from AIDA:

Assuming I'm aiming towards 2000MHz, should I go with 10-10-9-27 1.65..?
I'm not sure how to read these.
quarien is offline  
post #9 of 11 (permalink) Old 11-19-2018, 12:54 PM
New to Overclock.net
 
Regeneration's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Posts: 60
Rep: 22 (Unique: 22)
It is very simple.
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	nWl7v3m.jpg
Views:	38
Size:	3.09 MB
ID:	232782  


Last edited by Regeneration; 11-19-2018 at 01:00 PM.
Regeneration is offline  
post #10 of 11 (permalink) Old 11-19-2018, 03:02 PM - Thread Starter
New to Overclock.net
 
Join Date: Nov 2018
Posts: 5
Rep: 0
It feels like it is a good step, because I managed to get stable (yet hot) 4+ at CPU and 1800-ish in RAM.
However I have a problem with DRAM RAS# to RAS# Delay - it goes up to 7 DRAM Clock (not 8) and DRAM WRITE Recovery Time goes up to 15 DRAM Clock (not 19).

Currently I have also problems with balancing my BCLK and RAM.
I noticed, that the general rule of thumb is that my DRAM speed can't get past the third position.
So if I got 1333MHz with the base settings, and later apply some OC to the CPU I get ~1600MHz. And then it boots. I'm new into OC... is this normal behavior?
No matter how I'm shuffling I barely can scrape more than ~1800MHz. Does this look like the limit of filling up all memory slots on my motheboard?

And lastly, maybe it's the least important thing.
But with x23 multiplier, 4.2GHz and 1800 MHz RAM I can get barely up to 850cb in CinebenchR15. Is that also normal?
quarien is offline  
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the Overclock.net - An Overclocking Community forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.
User Name:
If you do not want to register, fill this field only and the name will be used as user name for your post.
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.
Password:
Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.
Email Address:

Log-in



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off