Help configuring ASRock Z390 with G.SKill DDR4 4266 - Overclock.net - An Overclocking Community

Forum Jump: 

Help configuring ASRock Z390 with G.SKill DDR4 4266

 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 7 (permalink) Old 03-10-2019, 05:14 AM - Thread Starter
New to Overclock.net
 
Join Date: Mar 2019
Posts: 5
Rep: 0
Help configuring ASRock Z390 with G.SKill DDR4 4266

Hi everyone,

I have an ASRock Taichi Ultimate along with the i9 9900k, running G.Skill DDR4 4266 RAM. The timings are:

1.4v
tCL 19
tRCD 19
tRP 19
tRAS 39
tRFC 748
tRRD_L 11
tRRD_S 8
tFAW 52

The above numbers come from the DRAM XMP Profile in BIOS. This is the RAM: https://www.newegg.com/Product/Produ...82E16820232497

However, I cannot get the system to boot with any changes made in BIOS. I realize running at 4266 will be next to impossible. I can't even get this system to run at 4000. I need help here, as I'm not experienced with overclocking machines (I typically create Xeon workstations that run with the XMP profile of the RAM running at the max. for the processor like 2400 - never exceptional RAM like this!).

I can't even start to overclock my processor because this RAM issue is preventing any settings from BIOS to stick. HELP!!!!
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	hw.png
Views:	3
Size:	62.7 KB
ID:	258320  

MrFahrenheit is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 7 (permalink) Old 03-10-2019, 06:28 AM
New to Overclock.net
 
white owl's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2015
Location: The land of Nod
Posts: 5,117
Rep: 123 (Unique: 94)
Turn the speed down to something reasonable and start overclocking manually. It's hard enough to get 4000mhz kits to work outside of the QVL, let alone faster. The CPU's IMC has to be just right and your board has to be just right. If the kit is mentioned in your QVL I'd RMA one or the other.
3200mhz is where ram stops showing much improvement in games with current GPUs, I'd start at 3600mhz and leave the timing loose like it would be on the current kit. Then just bump the speed until you find the last stable speed and lower the timings from there.
If you're overclocking the CPU and cache, do it before you work on the ram.

Quote: Originally Posted by SpeedyVT
If you're not doing extreme things to parts for the sake of extreme things regardless of the part you're not a real overclocker.
Quote: Originally Posted by doyll View Post
The key is generally not which brands are good but which specific products are. Motherboards and GPUs are perfect examples of companies having everything from golden to garbage function/quality.
Hot n Bothered
(12 items)
CPU
4790k 4.7Ghz
Motherboard
Asus Sabertooth Z97 MkII 2
GPU
EVGA GTX 1080 SC
RAM
16gb G.Skill Sniper 2400Mhz
Hard Drive
2x Kingston v300 120gb RAID 0
Hard Drive
WD Blue
Power Supply
Seasonic 620w M12 II EVO
Cooling
Cooler Master 212 Evo
Case
Corsair 450D
Operating System
Windows 10
Monitor
Nixeus EDG27
Other
I have pretty lights.
▲ hide details ▲
white owl is offline  
post #3 of 7 (permalink) Old 03-10-2019, 08:20 AM - Thread Starter
New to Overclock.net
 
Join Date: Mar 2019
Posts: 5
Rep: 0
My problem is that the BIOS has AUTO and it has manual. The manual settings for RAM are literally 50-60 options. If I leave it in AUTO it runs at 1066 !! I'd be happy to run this kit in 3600. Really strange, though, because cheaper G.Skill 3600 speed kits work flawlessly in AUTO on my 8086 build.
MrFahrenheit is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #4 of 7 (permalink) Old 03-10-2019, 08:45 AM
New to Overclock.net
 
tatmMRKIV's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Posts: 4,901
Rep: 120 (Unique: 82)
manually set mhz...
only set the main timings leave all else auto


also try

up vccio and vccsa to 1.3 1.32

maybe 1.35 if necessary

(If y'all) ain’t ready for the old murder, then what you gonna do with the new me?
tatmMRKIV is offline  
post #5 of 7 (permalink) Old 03-10-2019, 08:48 AM
Overclocker in training
 
ThrashZone's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2017
Posts: 5,605
Rep: 39 (Unique: 31)
Hi,
Only asrock listed on the qvl is a x299 board :/
https://www.gskill.com/en/product/f4-4266c19d-16gtzr
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	x299 dual channel.PNG
Views:	2
Size:	671.1 KB
ID:	258354  


Vaper
(4 items)
CPU
i9-7900x With evo and koolance vrm water blocks
Motherboard
ASUS x299 TUF Mark 2
GPU
Titan Xp with copper Water Block
RAM
Trident Z 3600C16 4x8gb's
Hard Drive
Samsung 850 Pro 256gb for os and 500gb evo for favorite games plus other wd hdd's for data and backup's
Optical Drive
LG Blu-Ray WH16NS40
Power Supply
evga 1200P2
Cooling
2-280GTX Black Ice Nemesis rads with D5 pump-res combo and D5 top before and after rads.
Case
corsair 450D with added 2nd floor to house radiator on top
Operating System
Win-7 pro & 10 pro Win-7 Primary os.
Monitor
ASUS VG248QE 24" 144Hz
Keyboard
Logitech G910 Orion spectrum
Mouse
redragon
CPU
i7-5930k with evo and koolance vrm water blocks
Motherboard
X99 Sabertooth
GPU
EVGA 1080ti FTW3 with Water block
RAM
Trident-Z 3200C14 4x8gb's
Hard Drive
Samsung 850 Pro 256gb for os and 500gb evo for favorite games plus other wd hdd's for data and backup's
Power Supply
EVGA 1000w P2
Cooling
2-240 GTX Black Ice Nemesis rads/ D5 pump-res combo and D5 top before and after rads.
Case
Corsair 450D with added 2nd floor to house radiator on top
Operating System
Win-7 and 10 pro Win-7 Primary os.
Monitor
AOC G2460PG 24"G-Sync 144Hz
Mouse
Red Dragon
Hard Drive
eLeaf MELO-3 4ml
Power Supply
SE US18650VTC6 3120mAh 30A 3.6V 18650 Li-ion Battery - GREENx4
Case
SMOK Alien 220w
Operating System
VapeWild RazzleBerry 50-50-3mg
▲ hide details ▲
ThrashZone is offline  
post #6 of 7 (permalink) Old 03-10-2019, 09:07 AM
9 Cans of Ravioli
 
The Pook's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Posts: 15,184
Rep: 940 (Unique: 577)
VCCIO and SA voltage = ?

Quote: Originally Posted by MrFahrenheit View Post
My problem is that the BIOS has AUTO and it has manual. The manual settings for RAM are literally 50-60 options. If I leave it in AUTO it runs at 1066 !! I'd be happy to run this kit in 3600. Really strange, though, because cheaper G.Skill 3600 speed kits work flawlessly in AUTO on my 8086 build.

if you just enable XMP on a high frequency kit on an AsRock board you're going to get terrible performance, AsRock's auto settings are way looser than they should be. Take 5 minutes and punch in the secondaries manually. My old 3600 CL17 kit outperformed by 4133 C17 kit because it set them so loose on auto.

regardless, my Taichi won't boot above ~4135, even at silly timings and voltages. you bought the wrong board if you want crazy RAM speeds.
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	snaphsot0001.png
Views:	9
Size:	1.04 MB
ID:	258356  


Intel i9 9900K Coffee Lake @ X8 5309mhz (+47.5%)
AMD FX-8320 Vishera @ X4 5022mhz (+43.5%)
Intel i5 4690K Haswell @ X4 5013mhz (+43.2%)
AMD X4 960T Zosma @ X6 4870mhz (+62.3%)
Intel i7 6700 Skylake @ X4 4709mhz (+38.5%)
Intel i5 6400 Skylake @ X4 4588mhz (+69.9%)
2 OP pls nerf
(24 items)
CPU
i9 9900K
Motherboard
AsRock Z390 Taichi
GPU
MSI GTX 1080 Ti
RAM
G.Skill 16GB DDR4 4133
Hard Drive
Mushkin Pilot NVMe 1TB
Hard Drive
Samsung 860 Evo 1TB
Hard Drive
Sandisk Ultra II 480GB SSD
Hard Drive
Toshiba X300 5TB
Hard Drive
Western Digital EZRZ 3TB
Power Supply
Seasonic Focus Plus Gold 750w
Cooling
Corsair H115i Pro
Case
Fractal Design Meshify S2
Operating System
Windows 10 Education x64
Monitor
Acer XF270HU
Monitor
Dell E2311H
Keyboard
CoolerMaster MasterKeys Pro S
Mouse
Logitech G502
Mousepad
X-Ray XL 26" x 14"
Audio
SMSL SA50 + FiiO E10K
Audio
Philips SHP9500S
Audio
Audio Technica ATH-M50X
Audio
Monoprice Modern Retro
Audio
AudioSource LS100
Audio
Polk Audio PSW111
CPU
i7 860
Motherboard
Advantech AIMB 280 ITX
GPU
EVGA GTX 950 2GB
RAM
Kingston 2GB DDR3 1333
Hard Drive
Seagate Momentus 2.5" 500GB
Hard Drive
Western Digital Blue 2.5" 320GB
Power Supply
Silverstone SFX-L Gold 500w
Cooling
Arctic Alpine 11 GT 2
Case
Silverstone Milo Z ML07B
Operating System
Windows XP x86 SP3
Keyboard
Velocifire TKL01 Outemu Browns
Mouse
Logitech M512
▲ hide details ▲



Last edited by The Pook; 03-10-2019 at 09:11 AM.
The Pook is online now  
post #7 of 7 (permalink) Old 03-10-2019, 11:49 AM
Memory Overclocker
 
Join Date: Nov 2018
Posts: 402
Rep: 12 (Unique: 6)
As The Pook said, the Taichi has trouble training memory above 4000/4133MHz to get all the secondary and tertiary timings to something that will boot.

So, I'd suggest you start at 4000MHz where I found my Taichi worked pretty easily. The general idea is to start with fairly loose timings to get things booted and then either move up frequency from there or tighten the timings to improve speed at that frequency. I'd suggest you try this:

Make absolutely sure your DIMMs are in the right two slots. For two DIMMs, you should be use DDR4_A2 and DDR4_B2. Look on your motherboard diagram in the manual if you don't know which two slots those are.

Do not load your XMP profile.

DRAM Voltage: 1.45V
VCCIO: 1.25V (this can be lowered later, I'm running 1.18V for my 4000MHz profile or 1.22V for my 4133MHz profile)
VCCSA: 1.25V (this can be lowered later, I'm running 1.18V for my 4000MHz profile or 1.22V for my 4133MHz profile)
Frequency: 4000MHz (a place to start where ASRock is better at memory training)
Primary Timings: 18-18-39 (The ASRock board only has one setting for tRCD and tRP as they are always set the same which is why only three primaries are listed here)
Command Rate: 2
tRRD_L: 11 (can go as low as 5 for B-die at 1.45V on this board)
tRRD_S: 8 (can go as low as 4 for B-die at 1.45V on this board)
tFAW: 52 (this is your XMP value so is safe for now, can go lower later)
tRFC: 400 (can go as low as 280-300 when tweaking performance later)

Leave all other timings on "auto".

Save BIOS change, I'd suggest saving a profile called "Memory Test" so can easily get back to this if you need to and then attempt to boot.

Watch it like a hawk, but let it alone for awhile. It may take as long as 10 minutes to go through a bunch of cycles where it tries to train the memory and find a combination of settings that works. It may power down and restart itself a few times. It should eventually put something on the screen and it will either look like a normal boot or it will put up an error message indicating it couldn't boot normally.

If you get a normal boot, let it go into Windows and see how that goes.

If you get the error message about it not booting, immediately press F2 to go into the BIOS. When it goes into the BIOS, it will have booted with JEDEC default memory settings 2133MHz, but your previously modified settings will still be there in the BIOS so you can tweak them.

If it truly gets stuck and never puts anything up on the screen, then hold your power switch on the case down until it shuts down, then power up again. It should come up. Press F2 to get into the BIOS. One thing I found amazing about the Taichi is that is never once forced me to clear the CMOS and start completely over. It seems to be pretty good at recognizing that it can't boot and then reverting to default settings (without wiping the CMOS) so it can boot and let you into the BIOS.

Where to go from here obviously depends upon which outcome you get. At 1.45V, I'm able to run primary timings as low as 15-17-17-37 @ 4000MHz on my Taichi. You can see all my detailed timings here.

Trying 18-18-18-39 @ 4000 is meant to be very conservative. If it doesn't boot, you can go even more conservative with 19-19-19-39 @ 4000. If it does boot and tests as stable, you should very easily be able to do 17-17-17-39 @ 4000 and can probably drop tCL as low as 15, though apparently RGB versions of G.Skill don't always clock as fast as non-RGB versions.

Post back what happens.

Once you find your first configuration that boots successfully into Windows, before trying anything faster, you need to establish whether it's actually stable or not with a good memory test. My favorite memory test tool is Karhu's RAMTest (very small purchase required) as it's really easy to use and seems to find errors pretty quickly. Other ones regularly used here are PassMark's MemTest86 (freeware version), HCI MemTest (freeware) and Google stressapptest (open source). For 16GB, you should run a memory test at least 3 hours to see if it's really stable. Later when you have a chance, you should run one overnight too, just to be sure. It's a massive wasted of time to assume you have something stable, start working on tightening up timings and then later you find you actually aren't stable. You don't know what stable point to go back to and you essentially end up starting over. Resist the temptation to plow forward quickly with faster timings without establishing stability as you go. If you do, you may have to back up a long ways when you fail a memory test.

[email protected] (-1 AVX offset) on ASRock Z390 Taichi with Noctua NH-D15 air cooler
CPU offset voltage of -25mv, runs VRVout 1.240-1.313V on full AVX load, 1.225-1.275V on non-AVX load
2x8GB [email protected] at 1.45V, G.Skill F4-3733C17Q-32GTZKK (XMP rated [email protected])
EVGA GTX 1060 6GB OC with Corsair RMx 750W power supply
Samsung 970 EVO 500GB NVMe boot SSD and four other drives all in a Fractal Design R6 Case

Last edited by jfriend00; 03-10-2019 at 11:56 AM.
jfriend00 is offline  
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the Overclock.net - An Overclocking Community forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.
User Name:
If you do not want to register, fill this field only and the name will be used as user name for your post.
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.
Password:
Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.
Email Address:

Log-in



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off