How to overclock my RAM? - Page 2 - Overclock.net - An Overclocking Community

Forum Jump: 

How to overclock my RAM?

Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #11 of 17 (permalink) Old 03-23-2019, 11:39 AM
New to Overclock.net
 
white owl's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2015
Location: The land of Nod
Posts: 5,347
Rep: 135 (Unique: 102)
1.5v is JDEC, the ram temps really don't matter here. The limiting factor with ram is safe voltage instead of thermals, you aren't even close to an unsafe voltage. If you plug in 1.65 you could probably get more speed if it's a decent kit, make sure it's actually stable though.

Quote: Originally Posted by SpeedyVT
If you're not doing extreme things to parts for the sake of extreme things regardless of the part you're not a real overclocker.
Quote: Originally Posted by doyll View Post
The key is generally not which brands are good but which specific products are. Motherboards and GPUs are perfect examples of companies having everything from golden to garbage function/quality.
Hot n Bothered
(12 items)
CPU
4790k 4.7Ghz
Motherboard
Asus Sabertooth Z97 MkII 2
GPU
EVGA GTX 1080 SC
RAM
16gb G.Skill Sniper 2400Mhz
Hard Drive
2x Kingston v300 120gb RAID 0
Hard Drive
WD Blue
Power Supply
Seasonic 620w M12 II EVO
Cooling
Cooler Master 212 Evo
Case
Corsair 450D
Operating System
Windows 10
Monitor
Nixeus EDG27
Other
I have pretty lights.
▲ hide details ▲
white owl is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #12 of 17 (permalink) Old 03-23-2019, 11:51 AM - Thread Starter
New to Overclock.net
 
milomir's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2016
Posts: 9
Rep: 0
Quote: Originally Posted by white owl View Post
1.5v is JDEC, the ram temps really don't matter here. The limiting factor with ram is safe voltage instead of thermals, you aren't even close to an unsafe voltage. If you plug in 1.65 you could probably get more speed if it's a decent kit, make sure it's actually stable though.
i don't need more than 1600mhz tho
what should i use to test stability? is prime95 good for the job?
milomir is offline  
post #13 of 17 (permalink) Old 03-23-2019, 11:55 AM
New to Overclock.net
 
white owl's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2015
Location: The land of Nod
Posts: 5,347
Rep: 135 (Unique: 102)
Yes, use a custom test and set it to use about 70% of your ram. I'd use 26.6 or disable AVX but that's up to you.

Quote: Originally Posted by SpeedyVT
If you're not doing extreme things to parts for the sake of extreme things regardless of the part you're not a real overclocker.
Quote: Originally Posted by doyll View Post
The key is generally not which brands are good but which specific products are. Motherboards and GPUs are perfect examples of companies having everything from golden to garbage function/quality.
Hot n Bothered
(12 items)
CPU
4790k 4.7Ghz
Motherboard
Asus Sabertooth Z97 MkII 2
GPU
EVGA GTX 1080 SC
RAM
16gb G.Skill Sniper 2400Mhz
Hard Drive
2x Kingston v300 120gb RAID 0
Hard Drive
WD Blue
Power Supply
Seasonic 620w M12 II EVO
Cooling
Cooler Master 212 Evo
Case
Corsair 450D
Operating System
Windows 10
Monitor
Nixeus EDG27
Other
I have pretty lights.
▲ hide details ▲
white owl is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #14 of 17 (permalink) Old 03-23-2019, 01:31 PM
New to Overclock.net
 
tatmMRKIV's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Posts: 4,921
Rep: 122 (Unique: 84)
to test for memory stability.... this specifically, without torching CPU
https://www64.zippyshare.com/v/MaoTPcjo/file.html
open that link with an adblocker though! adblockplus is great

(If y'all) ain’t ready for the old murder, then what you gonna do with the new me?
tatmMRKIV is offline  
post #15 of 17 (permalink) Old 03-23-2019, 07:06 PM
AMD OC'ing Enthusiast
 
mattliston's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Wisconsin, USA
Posts: 2,493
Rep: 103 (Unique: 81)
HCI Memtest is free, easy to use, and, well, no ad wall.




I didnt say get rid of ram. I simply meant remove the fast ram for the duration of testing overclocks with the slow ram.


Once you find what it is capable of, you can have some fun.


Or you can leave it at 1600mhz for both kits.


DDR3 ram is specifically required to survive 1.9 volts, though it is NOT required to be STABLE. That is ACTUAL voltage, and not "BIOS set" voltage. example, 1.65v in my BIOS (asus crosshair v formula z) is actually about 1.635 volts at the ram as tested.
mattliston is offline  
post #16 of 17 (permalink) Old 03-23-2019, 07:30 PM
New to Overclock.net
 
white owl's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2015
Location: The land of Nod
Posts: 5,347
Rep: 135 (Unique: 102)
It's not really about what the ram can take, it's about what the memory controller can take. Though I never hear about people degrading them so who really knows?

Quote: Originally Posted by SpeedyVT
If you're not doing extreme things to parts for the sake of extreme things regardless of the part you're not a real overclocker.
Quote: Originally Posted by doyll View Post
The key is generally not which brands are good but which specific products are. Motherboards and GPUs are perfect examples of companies having everything from golden to garbage function/quality.
Hot n Bothered
(12 items)
CPU
4790k 4.7Ghz
Motherboard
Asus Sabertooth Z97 MkII 2
GPU
EVGA GTX 1080 SC
RAM
16gb G.Skill Sniper 2400Mhz
Hard Drive
2x Kingston v300 120gb RAID 0
Hard Drive
WD Blue
Power Supply
Seasonic 620w M12 II EVO
Cooling
Cooler Master 212 Evo
Case
Corsair 450D
Operating System
Windows 10
Monitor
Nixeus EDG27
Other
I have pretty lights.
▲ hide details ▲
white owl is offline  
post #17 of 17 (permalink) Old 03-23-2019, 10:20 PM - Thread Starter
New to Overclock.net
 
milomir's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2016
Posts: 9
Rep: 0
did some testing with prime95, memtest64 and super pi and it seems to be stable
milomir is offline  
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the Overclock.net - An Overclocking Community forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.
User Name:
If you do not want to register, fill this field only and the name will be used as user name for your post.
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.
Password:
Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.
Email Address:

Log-in



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off