Weak IMC or Bad RAM? (4000Mhz B-Die Kit on Coffee Lake) - Overclock.net - An Overclocking Community

Forum Jump: 

Weak IMC or Bad RAM? (4000Mhz B-Die Kit on Coffee Lake)

Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 34 (permalink) Old 03-25-2019, 12:16 PM - Thread Starter
New to Overclock.net
 
Join Date: Mar 2019
Posts: 14
Rep: 0
Weak IMC or Bad RAM? (4000Mhz B-Die Kit on Coffee Lake)

Hi guys,

I tried finding more info but was unable to, therefore I'm posting this. Little background, I'm familiar with overclocking and have been doing it last 15 years. I was able to reach Winbond BH-5 to 295Mhz 2-2-2-5 4.0V on a DFI NF4 back then.

Specs:
  • Gigabyte Aorus Master Z390 (F8, F8e bios)
  • 8600k @ 4.8Ghz 1.28v or 5.0Ghz 1.325v (so-so overclocker), Cache 44x
  • HyperX Predator Black 16GB 4000MHz DDR4 CL19 DIMM (Kit of 2) XMP (HX440C19PB3K2/16) - I know they're not QVL.

Issues:
I'm unable to POST on SPD1 (3600Mhz) or SPD2 unless setting relaxed timings/subtimings before hand, and then enabling SPD.
Even if booting, 3600 or 4000mhz is never stable with main timings as advertised.

Troubleshooting:
Tried VCCSA 1~1.3v and VCCIO 1~1.3v and vRAM 1.35~1.45v
Tried Buildzoid's on memory OC on Z390 Aorus Master - Guide


Results so far:
While this kit is listed as 17-18-18 on 3600Mhz, I have ONLY been able to stabilize at 18-18-18-42 at 3600mhz (and with horrible tREF & tRFC...)
4000Mhz is not working even at 19-20-20.


Question:
How can I identify if whether I have a weak IMC or if the RAM has to be RMA'd?

Thanks!
Alemancio is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 34 (permalink) Old 03-25-2019, 01:57 PM
New to Overclock.net
 
Join Date: May 2014
Location: Australia Northern VIC
Posts: 284
Rep: 20 (Unique: 19)
You may have a weak IMC but I would say your biggest problem is the Gigabyte MB and it's crap BIOS.
See if you can find someone who has posted a high frequency RAM OC on that MB and try copy there sub timings exactly.

To find out if the RAM is faulty test one stick at a time if one stick can hit it's rated speed and the other can not you know you have a dud.
Dasa is offline  
post #3 of 34 (permalink) Old 03-25-2019, 02:12 PM - Thread Starter
New to Overclock.net
 
Join Date: Mar 2019
Posts: 14
Rep: 0
Quote: Originally Posted by Dasa View Post
See if you can find someone who has posted a high frequency RAM OC on that MB and try copy there sub timings exactly.
I did, with Buildzoid's guide on that particular Motherboard. Besides 3600~4000Mhz is not that high. I'd understand not being able to hit 4400+ heh.

Quote: Originally Posted by Dasa View Post
To find out if the RAM is faulty test one stick at a time if one stick can hit it's rated speed and the other can not you know you have a dud.
Thanks will try!
Alemancio is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #4 of 34 (permalink) Old 03-25-2019, 02:35 PM
New to Overclock.net
 
Join Date: May 2014
Location: Australia Northern VIC
Posts: 284
Rep: 20 (Unique: 19)
Show us your timings at your highest obtainable frequency with ASRock timing config.
Dasa is offline  
post #5 of 34 (permalink) Old 03-25-2019, 02:48 PM
Mr.4way SLI
 
Moparman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Farmington MO
Posts: 5,356
Rep: 188 (Unique: 170)
It could be the IMC. I would post in the Z390 Aorus thread as we have a lot of people in there that are great help.

https://www.overclock.net/forum/6-in...rs-thread.html


@Dasa what is wrong with the bios on the Master? I know they have come along way from how they used to be and are always looking for input to help them get better. At least the OP didn't get stuck with any of the Asus trash.
Moparman is offline  
post #6 of 34 (permalink) Old 03-25-2019, 03:02 PM
New to Overclock.net
 
Join Date: May 2014
Location: Australia Northern VIC
Posts: 284
Rep: 20 (Unique: 19)
Haven't used gigabyte myself for some time so I could be wrong but more often that not when I see people having problems reaching high memory speeds it is with a Gigabyte\ASRock MB and the BIOS seems to be getting the training wrong for the RAM kit it is using.
While ASUS high end MB seem to be more likely to get it right and although ASUS VRM may not be as good provided they have some airflow they seem to do there job just fine even if they use a bit more power.
Dasa is offline  
post #7 of 34 (permalink) Old 03-25-2019, 03:14 PM - Thread Starter
New to Overclock.net
 
Join Date: Mar 2019
Posts: 14
Rep: 0
Quote: Originally Posted by Dasa View Post
Show us your timings at your highest obtainable frequency with ASRock timing config.


18-18-18-38 @ 1.4v (SPD at 3600 is 17-18-18-39 at 1.35v

500%+ on Karhu and 2000% on Memtest
Alemancio is offline  
post #8 of 34 (permalink) Old 03-25-2019, 03:43 PM
New to Overclock.net
 
Join Date: May 2014
Location: Australia Northern VIC
Posts: 284
Rep: 20 (Unique: 19)
Your tRDWR seems tighter than most at 11-12 so it may be worth trying them at 16.

Last edited by Dasa; 03-25-2019 at 03:51 PM.
Dasa is offline  
post #9 of 34 (permalink) Old 03-25-2019, 03:46 PM
New to Overclock.net
 
techjesse's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: USA
Posts: 362
Rep: 17 (Unique: 13)
I have the same mobo, had to work with it.... BIOS F7a,
Ram Frequency 2000.1 MHz (DDR4-4000) - Ratio 1:30 1.42v
Timings 18-19-19-38-2 (tCAS-tRC-tRP-tRAS-tCR)
Bench OC for 3D Benches https://valid.x86.fr/5zlsxp
24/7 OC 5.0ghz https://valid.x86.fr/evb3ew

Intel Core i7 5960X Haswell-E, Gigabyte LGA 2011-V3 GA-X99-SOC Champion, G.SKILL Ripjaws 4 16GB, PowerColor R9 280x TriFire, WD 1TB Black x3, Intel 180GB SSD, ASUS 24x DVD Burner, Win 7 Ult. 64bit, 28" I-Inc 1920x1200 Logitech G105 EVGA 1300watt PSU, CaseLabs ST10 biggrin.gif

post-flame-small.gif5 GHz Overclock Club post-flame-small.gifpost-flame-small.gif[Official] ASUS ROG Rampage IV X79 Owner's Club post-flame-small.gif
techjesse is offline  
post #10 of 34 (permalink) Old 03-25-2019, 03:49 PM - Thread Starter
New to Overclock.net
 
Join Date: Mar 2019
Posts: 14
Rep: 0
Quote: Originally Posted by Dasa View Post
Your tRDWR seems tighter than most at 11-12 so it may be worth trying them at 16.
Thanks. I'll set it to 16 and set main timings to 17-18-18 which fails within 10min or Karhu.

Quote: Originally Posted by techjesse View Post
I have the same mobo, had to work with it.... BIOS F7a,
Ram Frequency 2000.1 MHz (DDR4-4000) - Ratio 1:30 1.42v
Timings 18-19-19-38-2 (tCAS-tRC-tRP-tRAS-tCR)
Bench OC for 3D Benches https://valid.x86.fr/5zlsxp
24/7 OC 5.0ghz https://valid.x86.fr/evb3ew
Thanks!

Q1: Did you have to use F7a because other BIOS' would fail?
Q2: Do you have a screenshot of all your timings? What VCCIO/SA? Any other trick?
Alemancio is offline  
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the Overclock.net - An Overclocking Community forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.
User Name:
If you do not want to register, fill this field only and the name will be used as user name for your post.
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.
Password:
Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.
Email Address:

Log-in



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off