Please help with memory error CC - Overclock.net - An Overclocking Community

Forum Jump: 

Please help with memory error CC

Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 19 (permalink) Old 04-25-2019, 05:26 PM - Thread Starter
New to Overclock.net
 
Join Date: Jul 2014
Posts: 76
Rep: 2 (Unique: 2)
Please help with memory error CC

I have a question no-one seems to be able to answer.
I have a friend with a Asus Maximus Extreme and 9900k and it gives error cc when he tries to boot his G.Skill RGB 4266 Ram.
G.SKILL Trident Z RGB F4-4266C19D-16GTZR 16GB (2 x 8GB) DDR4 4266Mhz CL19 1.4v
He has tried different combinations and numbers of these sticks, from 1 to 4 in different slots but still nothing. These are 2 sets of 2x8GB kits with consecutive serial numbers although the Asus qvl lists the 4x8GB kit. Either way I would have thought these the same sticks?
Does he need to enter some other settings? And if so how would he go about it?
The PC boots with all other ram that he's tried. (lower speed though)
Is there some way to get it to boot???
Any help would be greatly appreciated before he returns them
Cheers

Battle PC
(15 items)
CPU
8700k @ 5.2ghZ
Motherboard
Maximus X Hero
GPU
EVGA 1080 Ti Superclock 2 Black
RAM
Kingston Predator KHX4000C19D4/8GX 4000MHz @ 16-16-16-37-2
Hard Drive
Sansung M.2 1TB 970 EVO
Power Supply
Corsair HX1200i
Cooling
EK 140D5 Pump, waterblocked CPU, Ram, GPU with 2x 360mm Radiators and Vardar Fans
Case
ThermalTake V51
Operating System
Windows 10 Lite
Monitor
Dell Computer DELL U3415W 34.1 inches 3440 x 1440 pixels @ 48-85 Hz
Keyboard
Corsair K95 RGB Platinum
Mouse
Asus Spatha Wireless Gaming
Mouse
Ligitech G602 wireless
Mousepad
1000mm x 500mm
Audio
Steelseries Siberia800 wireless Headset
▲ hide details ▲
munternet is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 19 (permalink) Old 04-25-2019, 05:33 PM
Graphics Junkie
 
UltraMega's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2017
Location: USA
Posts: 839
Rep: 15 (Unique: 15)
for speeds past 3600mhz, the kit matters more. Might be because you have two kits. Consecutive serial numbers doesn't matter as they were not tested together.

i7 7700kK @4.2ghz
16GB DDR4 3200mhz
GeForce 1080 Ti
UltraMega is offline  
post #3 of 19 (permalink) Old 04-25-2019, 06:54 PM
New to Overclock.net
 
Nammi's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2013
Location: Sweden
Posts: 39
Rep: 4 (Unique: 4)
It's possible that the IMC on his 9900k is just not up to the task. Though I'd suspect it's most likely some bios settings that need some work, I run 2 sets of 2x8GB F4-4133C17D-16GTZR just fine on the aorus master.
Check if the bios needs an update, after that either load default bios settings or just set all the timings except the primaries to auto and make sure xmp is disabled. Manually set the memory speed to 4266, primaries to 19-19-19-39, DRAM voltage to 1.5V, VCCIO and VCCSA to 1.3V just to see if it boots.

Nammi is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #4 of 19 (permalink) Old 04-26-2019, 04:35 PM - Thread Starter
New to Overclock.net
 
Join Date: Jul 2014
Posts: 76
Rep: 2 (Unique: 2)
He updated the bios and tried running just one set at a time.
He has AI installed on windows and is running an overclock on the CPU through that. Maybe that messes with the bios as I understand some settings are grayed out. I haven't used it recently so I don't know?
Just to be clear, it won't boot with any settings he's tried so far.

Battle PC
(15 items)
CPU
8700k @ 5.2ghZ
Motherboard
Maximus X Hero
GPU
EVGA 1080 Ti Superclock 2 Black
RAM
Kingston Predator KHX4000C19D4/8GX 4000MHz @ 16-16-16-37-2
Hard Drive
Sansung M.2 1TB 970 EVO
Power Supply
Corsair HX1200i
Cooling
EK 140D5 Pump, waterblocked CPU, Ram, GPU with 2x 360mm Radiators and Vardar Fans
Case
ThermalTake V51
Operating System
Windows 10 Lite
Monitor
Dell Computer DELL U3415W 34.1 inches 3440 x 1440 pixels @ 48-85 Hz
Keyboard
Corsair K95 RGB Platinum
Mouse
Asus Spatha Wireless Gaming
Mouse
Ligitech G602 wireless
Mousepad
1000mm x 500mm
Audio
Steelseries Siberia800 wireless Headset
▲ hide details ▲

Last edited by munternet; 04-26-2019 at 10:03 PM.
munternet is offline  
post #5 of 19 (permalink) Old 04-27-2019, 11:58 AM
New to Overclock.net
 
Nammi's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2013
Location: Sweden
Posts: 39
Rep: 4 (Unique: 4)
It's a T-topology mobo, so the best bet is to use all 4 sticks. As I've never used OC software, I'm not sure how much of a hindrance it could be. Might as well uninstall it for now.
By not booting do you mean that the pc gets stuck in memory training after applying settings in the bios?

Nammi is offline  
post #6 of 19 (permalink) Old 04-27-2019, 12:47 PM
I Love this Hobby!
 
Gunderman456's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Posts: 6,998
Rep: 587 (Unique: 489)
Quote: Originally Posted by munternet View Post
He updated the bios and tried running just one set at a time.
He has AI installed on windows and is running an overclock on the CPU through that. Maybe that messes with the bios as I understand some settings are grayed out. I haven't used it recently so I don't know?
Just to be clear, it won't boot with any settings he's tried so far.
Go back to stock and use the Bios to overclock CPU first till stable and then manually enter the RAM speed and timings (I assume the mobo supports those speeds) and try overvolting the RAM as well. Tell your friend not to use software to overclock anything.

-Guide to 1st Case Modding for Better GPU(s) Performance/Cooling-
https://www.overclock.net/case-mod-wo...ing-guide
-Guide to 2nd Case Modding for Better GPU(s) Performance/Cooling-
https://www.overclock.net/case-mod-wo...e-fan-mod
Bit'O'Heaven
(16 items)
Cigar ATX PC
(14 items)
CPU
Intel i7 4770k @ 4.5GHz
Motherboard
Asus Maximus VI Rog Gene
GPU
Gigabyte AMD R9 290 @ 1160GHz Core/1350GHz Mem
GPU
Gigabyte AMD R9 290 @ 1160GHz Core/1350GHz Mem
RAM
G.SKILL Trident X DDR3 16GB 2400MHz
Hard Drive
Samsung 840 PRO 256GB
Hard Drive
Seagate Barracuda 7200.14 3TB
Optical Drive
Pioneer Black Blu-ray 16X BD-R 2X BD-RE
Power Supply
EVGA SuperNOVA G2 1300W 80PLUS Gold Fully Modular
Cooling
Open Water Loop
Case
Fractal Design Arc Midi R2
Operating System
Win 7 Pro 64bit
Monitor
Nixeus EDG 27" Freesync 1440p 144Hz
Monitor
Samsung 245BW 24" 1200p 60Hz
Keyboard
Logitech G15
Mouse
Microsoft Sidewinder X5
Mousepad
ALLSOP Redmond Mouse Pad
Audio
Cambridge Soundworks 5.1
CPU
Intel Core i5-3570K @ 4.5GHz
Motherboard
ASRock Z77E-ITX mITX
GPU
Sapphire AMD HD 7990
RAM
G.SKILL Ripjaws X DDR3 8GB 1600MHz
Hard Drive
Crucial SSD 128GB
Hard Drive
Seagate Barracuda HDD 1TB
Optical Drive
LG DVD R/W
Power Supply
Corsair Professional Series Gold AX850 Fully Modular
Cooling
Corsair Cooling Hydro Series H100
Case
BitFenix Prodigy Mini-ATX Black Case
Operating System
Win 7 Pro 64bit
Monitor
Samsung TV 52"
Keyboard
Logitech K330 Wireless
Mouse
Logitech M215 Wireless
Mousepad
Corsair Vengeance MM200
Audio
Yamaha RX-V681 PSB/PolkAudio 5.1
CPU
AMD Athlon II X4 640
Motherboard
ASRock N68C-GS
GPU
NVIDIA 6600GT
RAM
G. Skill Ripjaws DDR3 1600MHz
Hard Drive
WD Caviar Blue 500GB 16MB Cache 7200RPM
Optical Drive
LG Optical Drive
Power Supply
Thermaltake TR2 600W
Cooling
Thermaltake Max Orb
Case
Cigar Boxes
Operating System
Windows 7
Monitor
Viewsonic 19” Flatscreen CRT
Keyboard
Gigabyte GK-K6800 103
Mouse
Zalman ZM-M300
Mouse
Corsair Vengeance MM200
▲ hide details ▲



Last edited by Gunderman456; 04-27-2019 at 12:50 PM.
Gunderman456 is offline  
post #7 of 19 (permalink) Old 04-27-2019, 03:47 PM - Thread Starter
New to Overclock.net
 
Join Date: Jul 2014
Posts: 76
Rep: 2 (Unique: 2)
Quote: Originally Posted by Nammi View Post
It's a T-topology mobo, so the best bet is to use all 4 sticks. As I've never used OC software, I'm not sure how much of a hindrance it could be. Might as well uninstall it for now.
By not booting do you mean that the pc gets stuck in memory training after applying settings in the bios?
The q code display changes to different numbers for a while and then shows cc without the screen turning on.

The ram is getting returned and the supplier is going to help him get some suitable sticks.

Can anyone suggest 4 sticks of 4133+ MHz ram that have worked easily with the Asus Maximus XI Extreme? G.Skill seems to be the best priced locally.

Cheers

Battle PC
(15 items)
CPU
8700k @ 5.2ghZ
Motherboard
Maximus X Hero
GPU
EVGA 1080 Ti Superclock 2 Black
RAM
Kingston Predator KHX4000C19D4/8GX 4000MHz @ 16-16-16-37-2
Hard Drive
Sansung M.2 1TB 970 EVO
Power Supply
Corsair HX1200i
Cooling
EK 140D5 Pump, waterblocked CPU, Ram, GPU with 2x 360mm Radiators and Vardar Fans
Case
ThermalTake V51
Operating System
Windows 10 Lite
Monitor
Dell Computer DELL U3415W 34.1 inches 3440 x 1440 pixels @ 48-85 Hz
Keyboard
Corsair K95 RGB Platinum
Mouse
Asus Spatha Wireless Gaming
Mouse
Ligitech G602 wireless
Mousepad
1000mm x 500mm
Audio
Steelseries Siberia800 wireless Headset
▲ hide details ▲

Last edited by munternet; 04-27-2019 at 03:50 PM.
munternet is offline  
post #8 of 19 (permalink) Old 04-27-2019, 06:22 PM
New to Overclock.net
 
Nammi's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2013
Location: Sweden
Posts: 39
Rep: 4 (Unique: 4)
Ok so it didn't pass memory training. Assuming that the sticks weren't faulty and the IMC isn't a dud, either some timings/settings needed a tweak or more volts to the memory controller, to the ram or both.

Anyway I hope your friend has more luck with another kit, as the frequency range that he's aiming for especially at 32GB is asking quite a lot from the IMC and is not guaranteed to work. He should expect that some tweaking can be required.

Nammi is offline  
post #9 of 19 (permalink) Old 04-27-2019, 06:54 PM
9 Cans of Ravioli
 
The Pook's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Posts: 15,653
Rep: 961 (Unique: 593)
Quote: Originally Posted by munternet View Post
The q code display changes to different numbers for a while and then shows cc without the screen turning on.

The ram is getting returned and the supplier is going to help him get some suitable sticks.

Can anyone suggest 4 sticks of 4133+ MHz ram that have worked easily with the Asus Maximus XI Extreme? G.Skill seems to be the best priced locally.

Cheers

Pick something on the QVL. Look at both the motherboard's QVL and the RAM's QVL and make sure both are listed as validated. If it's on the QVL for both and it doesn't work, then it's faulty.

People blame the IMC far too often, it's almost never the issue.

Intel i9 9900K Coffee Lake @ X8 5309mhz (+47.5%)
AMD FX-8320 Vishera @ X4 5022mhz (+43.5%)
Intel i5 4690K Haswell @ X4 5013mhz (+43.2%)
AMD X4 960T Zosma @ X6 4870mhz (+62.3%)
Intel i7 6700 Skylake @ X4 4709mhz (+38.5%)
Intel i5 6400 Skylake @ X4 4588mhz (+69.9%)
2 OP pls nerf
(24 items)
NUC U
(10 items)
CPU
i9 9900K
Motherboard
AsRock Z390 Taichi
GPU
MSI GTX 1080 Ti
RAM
G.Skill DDR4 4133 16GB
Hard Drive
Mushkin Pilot NVMe 1TB
Hard Drive
Samsung 860 Evo 1TB
Hard Drive
Sandisk Ultra II 480GB SSD
Hard Drive
Toshiba X300 5TB
Hard Drive
Western Digital EZRZ 3TB
Power Supply
Seasonic Focus Plus Gold 750w
Cooling
Corsair H115i Pro
Case
Fractal Design Meshify S2
Operating System
Windows 10 Education x64
Monitor
Acer XF270HU
Monitor
Dell E2311H
Keyboard
CoolerMaster MasterKeys Pro S
Mouse
Logitech G502
Audio
SMSL SA50 + FiiO E10K
Audio
Micca RB42
Audio
Polk Audio PSW111
Audio
Philips Fidelio X2
Audio
Philips SHP9500S
Audio
Audio Technica ATH-M50X
Audio
Monoprice Modern Retro
CPU
i3 8109U
Motherboard
Intel NUC8i3BEH
GPU
Iris Plus 655
RAM
Kingston 8GB DDR4 2400
Hard Drive
Dierka K1 120GB
Hard Drive
ADATA SU800 128GB M.2
Operating System
Windows 10 Professional
Operating System
MX Linux
Keyboard
Rii RKM709 Wireless
Mouse
Logitech M510
CPU
i7 860
Motherboard
Advantech AIMB 280 ITX
GPU
EVGA GTX 950 2GB
RAM
Kingston 2GB DDR3 1333
Hard Drive
Seagate Momentus 2.5" 500GB
Hard Drive
Western Digital Blue 2.5" 320GB
Power Supply
Silverstone SFX-L Gold 500w
Cooling
Arctic Alpine 11 GT 2
Case
Silverstone Milo Z ML07B
Operating System
Windows XP x86 SP3
Keyboard
Velocifire TKL01 Outemu Browns
Mouse
Logitech M512
▲ hide details ▲


The Pook is online now  
post #10 of 19 (permalink) Old 04-27-2019, 09:04 PM - Thread Starter
New to Overclock.net
 
Join Date: Jul 2014
Posts: 76
Rep: 2 (Unique: 2)
Quote: Originally Posted by The Pook View Post
Pick something on the QVL. Look at both the motherboard's QVL and the RAM's QVL and make sure both are listed as validated. If it's on the QVL for both and it doesn't work, then it's faulty.

People blame the IMC far too often, it's almost never the issue.
Hey thanks.
I read that out to my friend on discord and he said to say "thanks very much"

I see you have reached another 500 posts counting this one. Now at 15,500

Battle PC
(15 items)
CPU
8700k @ 5.2ghZ
Motherboard
Maximus X Hero
GPU
EVGA 1080 Ti Superclock 2 Black
RAM
Kingston Predator KHX4000C19D4/8GX 4000MHz @ 16-16-16-37-2
Hard Drive
Sansung M.2 1TB 970 EVO
Power Supply
Corsair HX1200i
Cooling
EK 140D5 Pump, waterblocked CPU, Ram, GPU with 2x 360mm Radiators and Vardar Fans
Case
ThermalTake V51
Operating System
Windows 10 Lite
Monitor
Dell Computer DELL U3415W 34.1 inches 3440 x 1440 pixels @ 48-85 Hz
Keyboard
Corsair K95 RGB Platinum
Mouse
Asus Spatha Wireless Gaming
Mouse
Ligitech G602 wireless
Mousepad
1000mm x 500mm
Audio
Steelseries Siberia800 wireless Headset
▲ hide details ▲
munternet is offline  
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the Overclock.net - An Overclocking Community forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.
User Name:
If you do not want to register, fill this field only and the name will be used as user name for your post.
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.
Password:
Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.
Email Address:

Log-in



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off