Are there any "magic" ways to remove memory errors? - Overclock.net - An Overclocking Community

Forum Jump: 

Are there any "magic" ways to remove memory errors?

 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 7 (permalink) Old 05-24-2019, 04:21 PM - Thread Starter
New to Overclock.net
 
Join Date: Jul 2014
Posts: 99
Rep: 2 (Unique: 2)
Are there any "magic" ways to remove memory errors?

I have 4 sticks (2 sets, not from the same batch) of G.SKILL Trident Z F4-4400C19D-16GTZSW 19-19-19-39 which I am trying to tune as high as possible.

MAXIMUS X HERO (rated @ 4133MHz) with BIOS 1801 because 1901 wouldn't let the memory overclock past 4,000MHz
8700k @ 5.2GHz stable for some months delided on water
VCORE 1.48v
Uncore 4700

VDIMM 1.4v
VCCSA 1.2375v
VCCIO 1.2375v

I have tried different settings on tRFC and tREFI and tried raising the timings and the VDIMM up to 1.51v

I managed to boot into windows at 4533MHz but it wasn't stable at all
I then managed 4400MHz which ran windows fine but showed LOADS of errors in test 6 memtest86
I'm currently running 4200MHz with a few errors and not sure where to go next

If anyone has been down this road and found the magic bullet I would be keen to hear it
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	4200GSkill.JPG
Views:	8
Size:	82.6 KB
ID:	271230  


Battle PC
(15 items)
CPU
8700k @ 5.2ghZ
Motherboard
Maximus X Hero
GPU
EVGA 1080 Ti Superclock 2 Black
RAM
Kingston Predator KHX4000C19D4/8GX 4000MHz @ 16-16-16-37-2
Hard Drive
Sansung M.2 1TB 970 EVO
Power Supply
Corsair HX1200i
Cooling
EK 140D5 Pump, waterblocked CPU, Ram, GPU with 2x 360mm Radiators and Vardar Fans
Case
ThermalTake V51
Operating System
Windows 10 Lite
Monitor
Dell Computer DELL U3415W 34.1 inches 3440 x 1440 pixels @ 48-85 Hz
Keyboard
Corsair K95 RGB Platinum
Mouse
Asus Spatha Wireless Gaming
Mouse
Ligitech G602 wireless
Mousepad
1000mm x 500mm
Audio
Steelseries Siberia800 wireless Headset
▲ hide details ▲

Last edited by munternet; 05-24-2019 at 04:40 PM.
munternet is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 7 (permalink) Old 05-24-2019, 04:42 PM
New to Overclock.net
 
Monstieur's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2017
Posts: 71
Rep: 0
First just reduce the clock speed from XMP till it's stable and leave it on the stock timings and voltage. After that the CPU voltages will need to be tweaked for each increase in memory clock. You won't need to touch the memory timings or voltage till you cross XMP.
Monstieur is offline  
post #3 of 7 (permalink) Old 05-24-2019, 04:59 PM
9 Cans of Ravioli
 
The Pook's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Posts: 15,828
Rep: 972 (Unique: 598)
Set every timing manually, don't just set XMP + tRFC and tREFI. There are a ton of other timings too.

Though 4400C19D isn't on the QVL for your motherboard and you're running 4 sticks, plus your motherboard's QVL doesn't have any RAM over 4400. Probably should just temper your expectations a bit.

Intel i9 9900K Coffee Lake @ X8 5309mhz (+47.5%)
AMD FX-8320 Vishera @ X4 5022mhz (+43.5%)
Intel i5 4690K Haswell @ X4 5013mhz (+43.2%)
AMD X4 960T Zosma @ X6 4870mhz (+62.3%)
Intel i7 6700 Skylake @ X4 4709mhz (+38.5%)
Intel i5 6400 Skylake @ X4 4588mhz (+69.9%)
2 OP pls nerf
(24 items)
NUC U
(10 items)
CPU
i9 9900K
Motherboard
AsRock Z390 Taichi
GPU
MSI GTX 1080 Ti
RAM
G.Skill DDR4 4133 16GB
Hard Drive
Mushkin Pilot NVMe 1TB
Hard Drive
Samsung 860 Evo 1TB
Hard Drive
Sandisk Ultra II 480GB SSD
Hard Drive
Toshiba X300 5TB
Hard Drive
Western Digital EZRZ 3TB
Power Supply
Seasonic Focus Plus Gold 750w
Cooling
Corsair H115i Pro
Case
Fractal Design Meshify S2
Operating System
Windows 10 Education x64
Monitor
Acer XF270HU
Monitor
Dell E2311H
Keyboard
CoolerMaster MasterKeys Pro S
Mouse
Logitech G502
Audio
SMSL SA50 + FiiO E10K
Audio
Micca RB42
Audio
Polk Audio PSW111
Audio
Philips Fidelio X2
Audio
Philips SHP9500S
Audio
Audio Technica ATH-M50X
Audio
Monoprice Modern Retro
CPU
i3 8109U
Motherboard
Intel NUC8i3BEH
GPU
Iris Plus 655
RAM
Kingston 8GB DDR4 2400
Hard Drive
Dierka K1 120GB
Hard Drive
ADATA SU800 128GB M.2
Operating System
Windows 10 Professional
Operating System
MX Linux
Keyboard
Rii RKM709 Wireless
Mouse
Logitech M510
CPU
i7 860
Motherboard
Advantech AIMB 280 ITX
GPU
EVGA GTX 950 2GB
RAM
Kingston 2GB DDR3 1333
Hard Drive
Seagate Momentus 2.5" 500GB
Hard Drive
Western Digital Blue 2.5" 320GB
Power Supply
Silverstone SFX-L Gold 500w
Cooling
Arctic Alpine 11 GT 2
Case
Silverstone Milo Z ML07B
Operating System
Windows XP x86 SP3
Keyboard
Velocifire TKL01 Outemu Browns
Mouse
Logitech M512
▲ hide details ▲


The Pook is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #4 of 7 (permalink) Old 05-24-2019, 06:26 PM - Thread Starter
New to Overclock.net
 
Join Date: Jul 2014
Posts: 99
Rep: 2 (Unique: 2)
I thought I would take a punt on getting 2 double sets and trying to get it to the spec of the quad set.
The mrs would likely hit the roof if I bought it all at once

I will keep trying for a while

I noticed the ones on the QVL have a "B" at the end which denotes a timing modifier F4-4400C19Q-32GTZSWB
Q = Quad
32G
TZ = Trident Z
SW = Silver white
B = Timings modifier

Edit:I tried and tried to get it working on manual but no luck. I keep getting error 49 with a red LED. I thought I copied all the XMP data exactly. Even took photos.
I can still change quite a few things and have it running stable P95 on 4200 17-19-19-39 so far

Battle PC
(15 items)
CPU
8700k @ 5.2ghZ
Motherboard
Maximus X Hero
GPU
EVGA 1080 Ti Superclock 2 Black
RAM
Kingston Predator KHX4000C19D4/8GX 4000MHz @ 16-16-16-37-2
Hard Drive
Sansung M.2 1TB 970 EVO
Power Supply
Corsair HX1200i
Cooling
EK 140D5 Pump, waterblocked CPU, Ram, GPU with 2x 360mm Radiators and Vardar Fans
Case
ThermalTake V51
Operating System
Windows 10 Lite
Monitor
Dell Computer DELL U3415W 34.1 inches 3440 x 1440 pixels @ 48-85 Hz
Keyboard
Corsair K95 RGB Platinum
Mouse
Asus Spatha Wireless Gaming
Mouse
Ligitech G602 wireless
Mousepad
1000mm x 500mm
Audio
Steelseries Siberia800 wireless Headset
▲ hide details ▲

Last edited by munternet; 05-25-2019 at 04:54 AM.
munternet is offline  
post #5 of 7 (permalink) Old 05-25-2019, 08:30 PM - Thread Starter
New to Overclock.net
 
Join Date: Jul 2014
Posts: 99
Rep: 2 (Unique: 2)
Quote: Originally Posted by The Pook View Post
Set every timing manually, don't just set XMP + tRFC and tREFI. There are a ton of other timings too.
With XMP I can get P95 stable @ 4200 17-19-19-39.
I tried and tried to get it working on manual but no luck. I keep getting error 49 with a red LED. I thought I copied all the XMP data exactly. Even took photos.
I can still change quite a few things in XMP but I would like to get it on full manual as I have done in the past.

I noticed with XMP running
vccio is running @ 1.272 although it's set to 1.2375
vccsa is running @1.264 but set to 1.2375 also
I tried to input these values manually but still no boot
I must have missed a setting?
I can still alter other timings settings but I would prefer to get it running on manual mode first

I'm wondering if I will get more gains or should I call it a day
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	4.2GHzMem.JPG
Views:	3
Size:	59.6 KB
ID:	271470  


Battle PC
(15 items)
CPU
8700k @ 5.2ghZ
Motherboard
Maximus X Hero
GPU
EVGA 1080 Ti Superclock 2 Black
RAM
Kingston Predator KHX4000C19D4/8GX 4000MHz @ 16-16-16-37-2
Hard Drive
Sansung M.2 1TB 970 EVO
Power Supply
Corsair HX1200i
Cooling
EK 140D5 Pump, waterblocked CPU, Ram, GPU with 2x 360mm Radiators and Vardar Fans
Case
ThermalTake V51
Operating System
Windows 10 Lite
Monitor
Dell Computer DELL U3415W 34.1 inches 3440 x 1440 pixels @ 48-85 Hz
Keyboard
Corsair K95 RGB Platinum
Mouse
Asus Spatha Wireless Gaming
Mouse
Ligitech G602 wireless
Mousepad
1000mm x 500mm
Audio
Steelseries Siberia800 wireless Headset
▲ hide details ▲

Last edited by munternet; 05-25-2019 at 09:06 PM.
munternet is offline  
post #6 of 7 (permalink) Old 05-26-2019, 06:18 AM
New to Overclock.net
 
cplifj's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Posts: 203
Rep: 5 (Unique: 5)
question is , do you really need the max memory speed for the applications that you are running ? Most likely not and you can call it a day. the time it will cost you to maybe find something slightly faster won't be worth the trouble.
And not even 1 error should be allowed, not even a warning during rowhammer test should be ignored, it means your ram is running on/over the edge and will destroy your OS install in the run.

Bad ram and bios shadow functions....so many things go wrong eventually.
cplifj is offline  
post #7 of 7 (permalink) Old 05-26-2019, 10:13 PM - Thread Starter
New to Overclock.net
 
Join Date: Jul 2014
Posts: 99
Rep: 2 (Unique: 2)
Quote: Originally Posted by cplifj View Post
question is , do you really need the max memory speed for the applications that you are running ? Most likely not and you can call it a day. the time it will cost you to maybe find something slightly faster won't be worth the trouble.
And not even 1 error should be allowed, not even a warning during rowhammer test should be ignored, it means your ram is running on/over the edge and will destroy your OS install in the run.

Bad ram and bios shadow functions....so many things go wrong eventually.
It's not really do I need the extra speed, it's more about the overclocking really. I am interested in tinkering with PC performance and have a few mates that do the same and we have a bit of rivalry.
Much of the information I find on memory is either out of date or not easy to relate to my bios, but I will be delving deeper as I learn more.
I was wondering if my performance figures reflect my hardware or could I be doing better?

Cheers for the rowhammer info, running for about 1 hour so far

I have been running P95 with the 512-4096 settings and getting clean runs

Battle PC
(15 items)
CPU
8700k @ 5.2ghZ
Motherboard
Maximus X Hero
GPU
EVGA 1080 Ti Superclock 2 Black
RAM
Kingston Predator KHX4000C19D4/8GX 4000MHz @ 16-16-16-37-2
Hard Drive
Sansung M.2 1TB 970 EVO
Power Supply
Corsair HX1200i
Cooling
EK 140D5 Pump, waterblocked CPU, Ram, GPU with 2x 360mm Radiators and Vardar Fans
Case
ThermalTake V51
Operating System
Windows 10 Lite
Monitor
Dell Computer DELL U3415W 34.1 inches 3440 x 1440 pixels @ 48-85 Hz
Keyboard
Corsair K95 RGB Platinum
Mouse
Asus Spatha Wireless Gaming
Mouse
Ligitech G602 wireless
Mousepad
1000mm x 500mm
Audio
Steelseries Siberia800 wireless Headset
▲ hide details ▲
munternet is offline  
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the Overclock.net - An Overclocking Community forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.
User Name:
If you do not want to register, fill this field only and the name will be used as user name for your post.
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.
Password:
Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.
Email Address:

Log-in



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off