Does XMP change ram readings? - Overclock.net - An Overclocking Community

Forum Jump: 

Does XMP change ram readings?

 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 5 (permalink) Old 06-16-2019, 11:09 PM - Thread Starter
New to Overclock.net
 
IMKR's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2013
Posts: 1,536
Rep: 38 (Unique: 28)
Does XMP change ram readings?

Does this change what your advertised RAM reading should be?

for example, if you have 2400 Mhz ram, your CPUZ should read DRAM freq of 1200 . and you double it to get the DDR speed of 2400.

if you have 2400 Mhz ram, and you enable XMP, should your bios RAM be set at 1200 or 2400?

IMKR is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 5 (permalink) Old 06-16-2019, 11:16 PM
The last VRM burner
 
Join Date: Mar 2018
Posts: 1,356
Rep: 18 (Unique: 12)
2400.

PC for all
(18 items)
CPU
i7 5775c @4.2GHz/3.8GHz
Motherboard
Gigabyte Z97X Gaming 5
GPU
Sapphire Radeon RX580 8GB Nitro+
RAM
2x KHX2400C11D3/8GX 11-12-12-32-1T-250
Hard Drive
Samsung 850 Pro
Hard Drive
Toshiba HDWD10 (P300)
Power Supply
Corsair CS650M
Cooling
Raijintek Tisis + Arctic Cooling MX4
Case
LianLi 330X
Operating System
Windows 10 64-bit Pro
Monitor
Benq GL2250 80Hz
Keyboard
Corsair Strafe Red
Mouse
SteelSeries Rival 310
Mousepad
SteelSeries QCk Mini
Audio
Audio in Motion SC808 + MUSES8820 + 2 2xLME49990
Audio
AKG M220
Other
NZXT Hue+
Other
Mayflash F300
▲ hide details ▲
BroadPwns is online now  
post #3 of 5 (permalink) Old 06-17-2019, 04:47 AM
New to Overclock.net
 
Join Date: May 2014
Location: Australia Northern VIC
Posts: 322
Rep: 22 (Unique: 21)
Quote: Originally Posted by IMKR View Post
if you have 2400 Mhz ram, and you enable XMP, should your bios RAM be set at 1200 or 2400?
1200MHz 2400 DDR
Dasa is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #4 of 5 (permalink) Old 06-17-2019, 04:02 PM
Hardware Rep
 
GSKILL SUPPORT's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2016
Posts: 79
Rep: 6 (Unique: 6)
XMP profile is the rated / advertised spec of the RAM. So if using a certified motherboard and capable CPU, once XMP Profile is enabled in BIOS, the system can recognize DDR4-2400 (1200MHz). Otherwise it is AUTO default DDR3-1333 (667MHz) or DDR4-2133 (1066MHz)

GSKILL SUPPORT is offline  
post #5 of 5 (permalink) Old 06-17-2019, 04:10 PM
Programmer
 
BradleyW's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: United Kingdom
Posts: 28,454
Rep: 1555 (Unique: 1017)
Quote: Originally Posted by IMKR View Post
Does this change what your advertised RAM reading should be?

for example, if you have 2400 Mhz ram, your CPUZ should read DRAM freq of 1200 . and you double it to get the DDR speed of 2400.

if you have 2400 Mhz ram, and you enable XMP, should your bios RAM be set at 1200 or 2400?
BIOS should read 2400. CPU-Z should read 1200.

Intel Core i9 9900K HT 5GHz
GIGABYTE Z390 Ultra
AMD ASUS STRIX OC VEGA 64
G-Skill Trident 2x8GB DDR4 4000MHz
Samsung EVO NVM.e 250GB
SeaSonic 1250W Gold
Corsair 900D + Custom Loop.


BradleyW is offline  
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the Overclock.net - An Overclocking Community forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.
User Name:
If you do not want to register, fill this field only and the name will be used as user name for your post.
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.
Password:
Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.
Email Address:

Log-in



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off