best bang for the buck RAM for Ryzen 7 3700X system - Overclock.net - An Overclocking Community

Forum Jump: 

best bang for the buck RAM for Ryzen 7 3700X system

Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 18 (permalink) Old 07-17-2019, 04:37 AM - Thread Starter
New to Overclock.net
 
kevindd992002's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: Philippines
Posts: 10,974
Rep: 85 (Unique: 67)
best bang for the buck RAM for Ryzen 7 3700X system

So I'll be building an ITX system for my Sister which will be used for light/medium rendering (3D and other stuff).

Which RAM should I be getting? Initially, I plan on going with a 16GB kit that's around the 3600MHz CL14 range as that seems to have a good performace/price ratio and will help the 3700x a lot but would you guys recommend spending more for a 32GB kit? I'm all ears on this one.

Thanks.

kevindd992002 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 18 (permalink) Old 07-17-2019, 11:53 AM
Hardware Rep
 
GSKILL SUPPORT's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2016
Posts: 83
Rep: 6 (Unique: 6)
What motherboard model?

32GB just depends on whether you think you may use 14GB+ simultaneously

GSKILL SUPPORT is offline  
post #3 of 18 (permalink) Old 07-18-2019, 01:14 AM - Thread Starter
New to Overclock.net
 
kevindd992002's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: Philippines
Posts: 10,974
Rep: 85 (Unique: 67)
Quote: Originally Posted by GSKILL SUPPORT View Post
What motherboard model?

32GB just depends on whether you think you may use 14GB+ simultaneously
I actually still don't have a motherboard choice but it will surely be an X570 board for the 3700X. I don't know anything about rendering but would light/medium rendering use more than 14+ GB?

kevindd992002 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #4 of 18 (permalink) Old 07-18-2019, 03:19 PM
Hardware Rep
 
GSKILL SUPPORT's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2016
Posts: 83
Rep: 6 (Unique: 6)
16GB should be sufficient as you can manage and scale your work load / memory used.

GSKILL SUPPORT is offline  
post #5 of 18 (permalink) Old 07-20-2019, 11:49 AM - Thread Starter
New to Overclock.net
 
kevindd992002's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: Philippines
Posts: 10,974
Rep: 85 (Unique: 67)
Quote: Originally Posted by GSKILL SUPPORT View Post
16GB should be sufficient as you can manage and scale your work load / memory used.
Ok. Which ones of your 16GB RAM kits are b dies? I'm hoping to go with 3200MHz and just overclock it to 3600MHz.

kevindd992002 is offline  
post #6 of 18 (permalink) Old 07-20-2019, 12:31 PM
New to Overclock.net
 
rdr09's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: From the US but lives in Africa
Posts: 18,447
Rep: 862 (Unique: 630)
Quote: Originally Posted by kevindd992002 View Post
Ok. Which ones of your 16GB RAM kits are b dies? I'm hoping to go with 3200MHz and just overclock it to 3600MHz.
Use this . . .


https://benzhaomin.github.io/bdiefinder/

Afaik, when its 3200 CL14 its B-die.

https://www.newegg.com/g-skill-16gb-...-217-_-Product

This is what i have . . . OOS

https://www.newegg.com/g-skill-16gb-...G.Skill+FlareX

Saw this in another forum.
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	3533 CL 14.JPG
Views:	25
Size:	111.1 KB
ID:	282092  


[email protected] 6 http://valid.canardpc.com/show_oc.php?id=2211392 4.6 @ 4 http://valid.canardpc.com/show_oc.php?id=2216580
5.0 @ 8 http://valid.canardpc.com/show_oc.php?id=2511322
2nd AMD Build
(10 items)
CPU
2700
Motherboard
X470
GPU
290
RAM
3200 CL14
Hard Drive
1000
Power Supply
700
Case
212
Operating System
10/64
Monitor
40 1080
Keyboard
M100
▲ hide details ▲
rdr09 is offline  
post #7 of 18 (permalink) Old 07-20-2019, 05:02 PM
New to Overclock.net
 
Join Date: May 2014
Location: Australia Northern VIC
Posts: 333
Rep: 22 (Unique: 21)
For heavy 3drendering I would suggest 2x16GB 3200c16 with 3900x as more cores is probably more worthwhile than the bit higher performance per core faster RAM would bring.

For light\medium it is impossible to know exactly what that entails and if she will make use of over 16GB RAM or if it will be a waist this is something you need to check when she is working.
How much RAM is she actually using?
What is the software and how does it scale with extra cores?
Dasa is offline  
post #8 of 18 (permalink) Old 07-20-2019, 06:06 PM - Thread Starter
New to Overclock.net
 
kevindd992002's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: Philippines
Posts: 10,974
Rep: 85 (Unique: 67)
Quote: Originally Posted by rdr09 View Post
Use this . . .


https://benzhaomin.github.io/bdiefinder/

Afaik, when its 3200 CL14 its B-die.

https://www.newegg.com/g-skill-16gb-...-217-_-Product

This is what i have . . . OOS

https://www.newegg.com/g-skill-16gb-...G.Skill+FlareX

Saw this in another forum.
Is getting a Flare X for AMD still even a thing now?
Quote: Originally Posted by Dasa View Post
For heavy 3drendering I would suggest 2x16GB 3200c16 with 3900x as more cores is probably more worthwhile than the bit higher performance per core faster RAM would bring.

For light\medium it is impossible to know exactly what that entails and if she will make use of over 16GB RAM or if it will be a waist this is something you need to check when she is working.
How much RAM is she actually using?
What is the software and how does it scale with extra cores?
Those questions, I can't really answer now nor can she (she's not computer-savvy). I can let her try rendering though and see how much RAM my Father's desktop (has 32GB) uses.

Sent from my SM-G950F using Tapatalk

kevindd992002 is offline  
post #9 of 18 (permalink) Old 07-20-2019, 06:45 PM
New to Overclock.net
 
Jedi Mind Trick's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: Chicago
Posts: 1,406
Rep: 78 (Unique: 66)
Quote: Originally Posted by kevindd992002 View Post
Is getting a Flare X for AMD still even a thing now?Those questions, I can't really answer now nor can she (she's not computer-savvy). I can let her try rendering though and see how much RAM my Father's desktop (has 32GB) uses.

Sent from my SM-G950F using Tapatalk
Not sure if the Flare X is a 'thing' for the 3xxx series, but I have both of those kits (3 sets of the Flare X and 1 of the Ripjaws V) and they all perform more or less identically (not sure why they wouldn't).

I am not 100% sure if B die is 'worth' it, I only got it because it was open box at my local Microcenter. I've seen 3000mhz/3200mhz 16gb kits for ~$60, while B-die is still ~$120. Yes it is better, but I don't think it is 2x better.
Jedi Mind Trick is offline  
post #10 of 18 (permalink) Old 07-21-2019, 03:36 AM
New to Overclock.net
 
rdr09's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: From the US but lives in Africa
Posts: 18,447
Rep: 862 (Unique: 630)
Quote: Originally Posted by kevindd992002 View Post
Is getting a Flare X for AMD still even a thing now?

Sent from my SM-G950F using Tapatalk
For her use case, it is not needed.

[email protected] 6 http://valid.canardpc.com/show_oc.php?id=2211392 4.6 @ 4 http://valid.canardpc.com/show_oc.php?id=2216580
5.0 @ 8 http://valid.canardpc.com/show_oc.php?id=2511322
2nd AMD Build
(10 items)
CPU
2700
Motherboard
X470
GPU
290
RAM
3200 CL14
Hard Drive
1000
Power Supply
700
Case
212
Operating System
10/64
Monitor
40 1080
Keyboard
M100
▲ hide details ▲
rdr09 is offline  
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the Overclock.net - An Overclocking Community forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.
User Name:
If you do not want to register, fill this field only and the name will be used as user name for your post.
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.
Password:
Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.
Email Address:

Log-in



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off