System reboots (only in Idle) after RAM OC. - Overclock.net - An Overclocking Community

Forum Jump: 

System reboots (only in Idle) after RAM OC.

Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 16 (permalink) Old 08-21-2019, 01:38 AM - Thread Starter
New to Overclock.net
 
Join Date: Jul 2018
Posts: 47
Rep: 0
System reboots (only in Idle) after RAM OC.

System:


3800x
Aorus Master
2x 16GB Samsung B-Die DR (16 16 16 36 3600Mhz)



Hello all,



i OC't my RAM recently and it runs Kahru RAM-Test overnight (16000%) without Errors. I have one problem tho as stated in the Title...sometimes when i just go afk for 20-30min, i come back to find a rebooted system. Any idea what voltage (or whatever else) to tweak to get it Idle stable (lol)?


Thank you and sorry if this is the wrong sub-board, i am still fairly new to OC.net.
Yuke is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 16 (permalink) Old 08-21-2019, 02:14 AM
New to Overclock.net
 
Join Date: May 2014
Location: Australia Northern VIC
Posts: 348
Rep: 22 (Unique: 21)
What is tREFI at? if you have tweaked it try returning it to auto.
Dasa is offline  
post #3 of 16 (permalink) Old 08-21-2019, 08:36 AM - Thread Starter
New to Overclock.net
 
Join Date: Jul 2018
Posts: 47
Rep: 0
Hello,


im using the XMP timings and just went up from 3600mhz to 3800mhz while matching the IF clock. Didnt want to make too many changes at once and it worked pretty straight forward on my old Intel system.



Not sure if this already influences tREFI you mentioned (still reading into this).
Yuke is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #4 of 16 (permalink) Old 08-21-2019, 08:41 AM
New to Overclock.net
 
Join Date: Feb 2017
Location: Sweden
Posts: 800
Rep: 28 (Unique: 25)
Increase CLDO VDDP or/and CLDO VDDG to see if that helps.

I noticed random reboots when I had too little CLDO VDDP in idle usage. (I was undervolting and all seemed ok until the random reboots, 900-950mv should be good enough)

Gigabyte X570 AORUS XTREME, Ryzen 7 3800X 4.45Ghz, 4266/1900 MEM/FCLK, 16.26.19.48.76.tRFC 650 1T 1.58V
4x8Gb Kingston HX434C19FB2K2/16 3466C19 1.2V (Micron E-die 16nm)
OLD: Biostar x470GT8 Ryzen 7 1700 @ ~4.0Ghz CPU, 3200Mhz RAM ...
Nighthog is offline  
post #5 of 16 (permalink) Old 08-21-2019, 12:30 PM - Thread Starter
New to Overclock.net
 
Join Date: Jul 2018
Posts: 47
Rep: 0
ill give it a try, thanks.


:edit:


Just saw your sig, did you really manage to get an all core 4.4ghz OC while also having the mclk/fclk @ 1900Mhz?


How the hell...i cant even boot when setting an all core OC lol. Only if i drop my fclk/mclk to 1600 again...is there some weird trick to it? I know my silicon can handle the 4.4, but only boots without memory OC for some reason.

Last edited by Yuke; 08-21-2019 at 12:51 PM.
Yuke is offline  
post #6 of 16 (permalink) Old 08-23-2019, 02:10 AM - Thread Starter
New to Overclock.net
 
Join Date: Jul 2018
Posts: 47
Rep: 0
Quote: Originally Posted by Nighthog View Post
Increase CLDO VDDP or/and CLDO VDDG to see if that helps.

I noticed random reboots when I had too little CLDO VDDP in idle usage. (I was undervolting and all seemed ok until the random reboots, 900-950mv should be good enough)

Hello again,


im at V-SOC = 1125mV, VDDP = 1100mV and VDDG = 1075mV now .... Karhu and HCI-Mem run without errors for a whole day. BUT sadly it still just reboots under idle conditions. Its driving me crazy.


Any other ideas?


I couldnt find PLL/VTT voltage to set in my Gigabyte BIOS. Not sure if this could be a problem.
Yuke is offline  
post #7 of 16 (permalink) Old 08-23-2019, 03:18 AM
New to Overclock.net
 
Join Date: Feb 2017
Location: Sweden
Posts: 800
Rep: 28 (Unique: 25)
I presume you are using the latest BIOS.

I was sure it would of been the VDDP voltage but you have it up there high already so should not be it now.
I ran into issues running 1900FCLK with too high VDDP not wanting to boot (why I went for low values), same thing with too high VSOC gave memory errors @ 1900FCLK.

But your not up there @ that speed and I've seen other need small increases compared to stock to get their stuff to work.

VDDP 1000mv , vsoc should not be an issue as you have it.
Have you tried LLC settings? Might be CPU voltage related. Maybe a slight LLC boost for Vdroop might help the issue?

You have PBO AUTO/disabled? PBO isn't guaranteed to be stable so best to leave that OFF when you troubleshoot ot try LLC as I suggested to get a slight voltage boost.
Offset might do it as well but isn't really recommended as your CPU might overvolt too high then.

There are a few diffrent voltages to try avaiable like CPU VDDP, PL18 and then DDRVPP or what it was called @ 2.500V stock?
There are things like procODT & the Bus Strength values that might need adjustment. Though they are usually to fix stability/errors not random reboots but doesn't hurt to try if not finding other stuff to fix it.

Gigabyte X570 AORUS XTREME, Ryzen 7 3800X 4.45Ghz, 4266/1900 MEM/FCLK, 16.26.19.48.76.tRFC 650 1T 1.58V
4x8Gb Kingston HX434C19FB2K2/16 3466C19 1.2V (Micron E-die 16nm)
OLD: Biostar x470GT8 Ryzen 7 1700 @ ~4.0Ghz CPU, 3200Mhz RAM ...
Nighthog is offline  
post #8 of 16 (permalink) Old 08-23-2019, 04:20 AM - Thread Starter
New to Overclock.net
 
Join Date: Jul 2018
Posts: 47
Rep: 0
Quote: Originally Posted by Nighthog View Post
I presume you are using the latest BIOS.

I was sure it would of been the VDDP voltage but you have it up there high already so should not be it now.
I ran into issues running 1900FCLK with too high VDDP not wanting to boot (why I went for low values), same thing with too high VSOC gave memory errors @ 1900FCLK.

But your not up there @ that speed and I've seen other need small increases compared to stock to get their stuff to work.

VDDP 1000mv , vsoc should not be an issue as you have it.
Have you tried LLC settings? Might be CPU voltage related. Maybe a slight LLC boost for Vdroop might help the issue?

You have PBO AUTO/disabled? PBO isn't guaranteed to be stable so best to leave that OFF when you troubleshoot ot try LLC as I suggested to get a slight voltage boost.
Offset might do it as well but isn't really recommended as your CPU might overvolt too high then.

There are a few diffrent voltages to try avaiable like CPU VDDP, PL18 and then DDRVPP or what it was called @ 2.500V stock?
There are things like procODT & the Bus Strength values that might need adjustment. Though they are usually to fix stability/errors not random reboots but doesn't hurt to try if not finding other stuff to fix it.

Trying out LLC for VSOC atm. Not sure if i even get over 1.1V to be honest. My HWINFO64 shows VCORE SOC between 1.104 and 1.116V and i have it set to 1125mV + LLC at "High".


Ill deactivate PBO even if i didnt see much different when using it and not using it.



Thanks for the advice.
Yuke is offline  
post #9 of 16 (permalink) Old 08-23-2019, 04:37 AM
New to Overclock.net
 
Join Date: Feb 2017
Location: Sweden
Posts: 800
Rep: 28 (Unique: 25)
If you find the Gear Down Mode setting under memory settings, try enabled if it's disabled.

Disabled is usually trouble for most people. Enabled guarantees lots of extra stability but you loose a little performance/latency.

I can get "disabled" for GDM to work in all stability testing etc but it still is unstable and returns bad stuff here and there when regularly using the computer rather than stability testing under heavier loads.

Gigabyte X570 AORUS XTREME, Ryzen 7 3800X 4.45Ghz, 4266/1900 MEM/FCLK, 16.26.19.48.76.tRFC 650 1T 1.58V
4x8Gb Kingston HX434C19FB2K2/16 3466C19 1.2V (Micron E-die 16nm)
OLD: Biostar x470GT8 Ryzen 7 1700 @ ~4.0Ghz CPU, 3200Mhz RAM ...
Nighthog is offline  
post #10 of 16 (permalink) Old 08-23-2019, 04:50 AM - Thread Starter
New to Overclock.net
 
Join Date: Jul 2018
Posts: 47
Rep: 0
Yeah, i already have GDM = on


Latency between 63.0 and 63.8ns is more than enough for my taste, just want to get rid of this nasty rebooting out of nowhere.


I also already have 53.3 Ohm Termination...at XMP stock Ryzen-Master showed me 48 Ohm...so dunno if i should try this out.
Yuke is offline  
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the Overclock.net - An Overclocking Community forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.
User Name:
If you do not want to register, fill this field only and the name will be used as user name for your post.
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.
Password:
Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.
Email Address:

Log-in



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off