Which is better 4x8gb or 2x16gb - Page 2 - Overclock.net - An Overclocking Community

Forum Jump: 

Which is better 4x8gb or 2x16gb

Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #11 of 17 (permalink) Old 09-12-2019, 09:03 AM
9 Cans of Ravioli
 
The Pook's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Posts: 16,730
Rep: 1097 (Unique: 634)
like already said your platform only supports dual channel, using 4 sticks will still only give you dual channel

If your mobo uses daisy chain DIMM topology then filling all four DIMM slots is going to limit the clocks your RAM can reach.

If your board uses T-Toplogy then using 4 sticks shouldn't be an issue.

Though regardless if your mobo is T-Toplogy or Daisy Chain, dual rank DIMMs will always OC worse than single rank.

Intel i9 9900K Coffee Lake @ X8 5309mhz (+47.5%)
AMD FX-8320 Vishera @ X4 5022mhz (+43.5%)
Intel i5 4690K Haswell @ X4 5013mhz (+43.2%)
AMD X4 960T Zosma @ X6 4870mhz (+62.3%)
Intel i7 6700 Skylake @ X4 4709mhz (+38.5%)
Intel i5 6400 Skylake @ X4 4588mhz (+69.9%)
2 OP pls nerf
(24 items)
NUC U
(10 items)
CPU
i9 9900K
Motherboard
AsRock Z390 Taichi
GPU
MSI GTX 1080 Ti
RAM
G.Skill DDR4 4133 32GB
Hard Drive
Mushkin Pilot NVMe 1TB
Hard Drive
HP EX950 NVMe 2TB
Hard Drive
Samsung 860 Evo 1TB
Hard Drive
Sandisk Ultra II 480GB SSD
Hard Drive
Toshiba X300 5TB
Hard Drive
Western Digital EZRZ 3TB
Power Supply
Seasonic Focus Plus Gold 750w
Cooling
Corsair H115i Pro
Case
Fractal Design Meshify S2
Operating System
Windows 10 Education x64
Monitor
Acer XF270HU
Monitor
Dell E2311H
Keyboard
CoolerMaster MasterKeys Pro S
Mouse
Logitech G502
Audio
SMSL SA50 + FiiO E10K
Audio
Micca RB42
Audio
Polk Audio PSW111
Audio
Philips Fidelio X2
Audio
Philips SHP9500S
Audio
Audio Technica ATH-M50X
CPU
i3 8109U
Motherboard
Intel NUC8i3BEH
GPU
Iris Plus 655
RAM
Kingston 8GB DDR4 2400
Hard Drive
Dierka K1 120GB
Hard Drive
ADATA SU800 128GB M.2
Operating System
Windows 10 Professional
Operating System
MX Linux
Keyboard
Rii RKM709 Wireless
Mouse
Logitech M510
CPU
i7 860
Motherboard
Advantech AIMB 280 ITX
GPU
EVGA GTX 950 2GB
RAM
Kingston 2GB DDR3 1333
Hard Drive
Seagate Momentus 2.5" 500GB
Hard Drive
Western Digital Blue 2.5" 320GB
Power Supply
Silverstone SFX-L Gold 500w
Cooling
Arctic Alpine 11 GT 2
Case
Silverstone Milo Z ML07B
Operating System
Windows XP x86 SP3
Keyboard
Velocifire TKL01 Outemu Browns
Mouse
Logitech M512
▲ hide details ▲


The Pook is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #12 of 17 (permalink) Old 09-12-2019, 09:05 AM
New to Overclock.net
 
skupples's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: Fort Lauderdale
Posts: 18,914
Rep: 551 (Unique: 312)
i think its more like, one side of the CPU is doing more work, because it can't split the task to both memory channels, so one memory channel is stuck doing all the lifting. Monitoring software may not properly discern this.

but yeah, feed it the standard. Also, what's your workload? 64gb isn't really a thing most folks chuck into their gaming or benchmark rigs.

don't make the mistake many many many of us have made, specially if your budget is tight. Don't buy into the extreme memory hype machine. 16gb is more than adequate for a general purpose PC. GP includes gaming, meme making, photoshop/other light Adobe products, crunching...

no need for 32gb+ unless you plan to do some actual heavy lifting.

R.I.P. Zawarudo, may you OC angels' wings in heaven.
If something appears too good to be true, it probably is.
skupples is offline  
post #13 of 17 (permalink) Old 09-12-2019, 09:06 AM
Overclocker in training
 
ThrashZone's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2017
Posts: 7,503
Rep: 71 (Unique: 55)
Hi,
You didn't say what frequency is on the 2x8gb kit you already have yet.
Nor which 3200 either shoot for C14
https://benzhaomin.github.io/bdiefinder/

CPU
i9-9940x With Heatkiller IV Pro and VRM Plexi-Copper water block
Motherboard
ASUS x299 Rampage VI Apex
GPU
Titan Xp with copper Water Block
RAM
Trident Z 3600C16 4x8gb's b-die default timings 16-16-16-36
Hard Drive
Samsung 970 Evo Plus 500gb M.2/ Samsung 850 Pro 256gb for os and 500gb evo for favorite games plus other wd hdd's for data and backup's
Optical Drive
LG Blu-Ray WH16NS40
Power Supply
evga 1200-P2
Cooling
2-280GTX Black Ice Nemesis rads with D5 pump-res combo and D5 top before and after rads.
Case
corsair 450D with added 2nd floor to house radiator on top
Operating System
Win-7 pro & 10 pro Win-7 Primary os.
Monitor
ASUS VG248QE 24" 144Hz
Keyboard
Logitech G910 Orion spectrum
Mouse
Redragon Perdition
Audio
Built in realtek and Insignia 2.0 soundbar HSB318
CPU
i7-5930k with Heatkiller IV Pro Plexi-Copper and koolance vrm water blocks
Motherboard
X99 Sabertooth
GPU
EVGA 1080ti FTW3 with Water block
RAM
Trident-Z 3200C14 4x8gb's b-die default timings 14-14-14-34
Hard Drive
Samsung 970 Evo 500gb M.2/ Samsung 850 Pro 256gb for os and 500gb evo for favorite games plus other wd hdd's for data and backup's
Power Supply
EVGA 1000-P2
Cooling
2-240 GTX Black Ice Nemesis rads/ D5 pump-res combo and D5 top before and after rads.
Case
Corsair 450D with added 2nd floor to house radiator on top
Operating System
Win-7 and 10 pro Win-7 Primary os.
Monitor
AOC G2460PG 24"G-Sync 144Hz
Mouse
Red Dragon Perdition
Audio
Built in realtek and Insignia 2.0 soundbar HSB318
Hard Drive
eLeaf MELO-3 4ml
Power Supply
SE US18650VTC6 3120mAh 30A 3.6V 18650 Li-ion Battery - GREENx4
Case
ANGIS Legion MOD 200w Geek Vape
Operating System
VapeWild RazzleBerry 50-50-0mg nic
▲ hide details ▲
ThrashZone is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #14 of 17 (permalink) Old 09-12-2019, 09:18 AM - Thread Starter
New to Overclock.net
 
JMattes's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Location: New York
Posts: 4,303
Rep: 76 (Unique: 69)
Quote: Originally Posted by ThrashZone View Post
Hi,
You didn't say what frequency is on the 2x8gb kit you already have yet.
Nor which 3200 either shoot for C14
https://benzhaomin.github.io/bdiefinder/
Currently I have only one Ballistix Sport LT 8gb 2666mhz stick.
Why I only bought one at the time for my machine IDK, was probably mining..
However getting a second 2666mhz stick is like $40.. which is nuts.

Laundromatic - Feb 2012 TC Champs!
Laundromatic - July 2012 TC Champs!


JMattes is offline  
post #15 of 17 (permalink) Old 09-12-2019, 09:18 AM
New to Overclock.net
 
Join Date: Mar 2019
Posts: 79
Rep: 3 (Unique: 3)
Quote: Originally Posted by JMattes View Post
So basically, 2 sticks over 4 sticks would be better as it offers less stress and may result in a higher OC for the system and better stability. But I can have 4 x 8gb sticks and they technically could preform the same as 2x16gb in stock environments.



Stupid Question:

Is there a huge draw back to just putting in 1x16gb for now and upgrading to a second when I get the money?
You can go with 1x16GB. Performance difference won't be noticeable daily life usage, because your memory is running at 3200Mhz (25.6GB/s bandwidth) .Though you may see slight performance difference in gaming. If you still want to get 4x8GB, go with it. There wont be performance difference between two vs four sticks. I guess you will not be manually overclocking it to 3200+. Enabling XMP will get it running at 3200mhz. Also check your motherboard manual, some allows you to use all 4 memory slots at full speed, but some motherboard limits speed to 2800mhz when 4 sticks are used.
TopM5 is offline  
post #16 of 17 (permalink) Old 09-12-2019, 09:30 AM
New to Overclock.net
 
ajlueke's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2017
Posts: 33
Rep: 3 (Unique: 3)
Quote: Originally Posted by JMattes View Post
I don't know much about ram and how motherboards work when using ram. I know theres (4) slots, but I think theres dual channel and quad channel.. So I rather buy the right ram the first time them mess up and have chips not being utilized.

Upgrading RAM on my Media Server mother board is ASUS Prime-Z270-AR
https://www.asus.com/us/Motherboards/PRIME-Z270-AR/

Trying to figure you if I should get 4x8gb sticks or 2x16gb sticks.
I think the 2x16gb is the way to go.

Looking at the Ballistix Spot LT 3200mhz

I could buy one 16gb chip for now and upgrade to a second in the future, but I think ram is best in pairs?
On a bit of a buget, but if I have to buy the full 32gb now, I will.
As others have mentioned, it is best to buy RAM in a complete kit that has been tested to work together. As for which is better, 2X16GB or 4X8GB, theoretically they are the same. In both instances you have 2 ranks per channel, so your overall bandwidth should be identical. In practice, it may be a bit easier to overclock 2X16GB, since the two interleaved ranks on each channel are going over a single motherboard trace (socket). So there shouldn't be any variations like there could be when using two different sockets. I haven't actually seen it make much difference though.
ajlueke is offline  
post #17 of 17 (permalink) Old 09-12-2019, 09:43 AM - Thread Starter
New to Overclock.net
 
JMattes's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Location: New York
Posts: 4,303
Rep: 76 (Unique: 69)
Thank you all for the insight and advise!

Laundromatic - Feb 2012 TC Champs!
Laundromatic - July 2012 TC Champs!


JMattes is offline  
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the Overclock.net - An Overclocking Community forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.
User Name:
If you do not want to register, fill this field only and the name will be used as user name for your post.
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.
Password:
Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.
Email Address:

Log-in



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off