What memory speed is compatible with 2nd gen Ryzen? - Overclock.net - An Overclocking Community

Forum Jump: 

What memory speed is compatible with 2nd gen Ryzen?

Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 11 (permalink) Old 10-17-2019, 01:57 PM - Thread Starter
New to Overclock.net
 
Join Date: Oct 2019
Posts: 2
Rep: 0
What memory speed is compatible with 2nd gen Ryzen?

So, everybody says "RYZEN NEEDS FAST MEMORY, AT LEAST 3000MHz!!!", but AMD says, that 2nd gen ryzen supports max. 2933MHz. So I want to ask: What will happen if I put there for example a 3200MHz module? Will it work? If yes, then at what speed?
JENYK KONYK is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 11 (permalink) Old 10-17-2019, 02:14 PM
The last VRM burner
 
Join Date: Mar 2018
Posts: 1,793
Rep: 33 (Unique: 18)
It will explode and take your pets hostage.

Ryzen 2 3200mhz in Google and check, damn...

PC for all
(21 items)
CPU
i7 5775c @4.2GHz/3.8GHz
Motherboard
Gigabyte Z97X Gaming 5
GPU
Soon to be 2070 Super FE
RAM
KHX24C11T3K2/16X 11-12-12-32-1T-250
Hard Drive
Corsair MP510
Hard Drive
Samsung Evo 860
Power Supply
SeaSonic Focus Plus 750W
Cooling
Raijintek Tisis lapped+ Thermal Grizzly Kryonaut
Cooling
Arctic P12 PWM x2
Cooling
Arctic P14 x4
Case
LianLi 330X
Operating System
Windows 10 64-bit Pro
Monitor
Samsung C24FG73FQUX
Monitor
Benq GL2250 80Hz
Keyboard
Corsair Strafe Red Silent
Mouse
SteelSeries Rival 600
Mousepad
Artisan FX Raiden
Audio
Audio in Motion SC808 + MUSES8820 + 2x 2xLME49990
Audio
AKG M220
Other
NZXT Hue+
Other
Mayflash F300 Arcade Stick
▲ hide details ▲
BroadPwns is offline  
post #3 of 11 (permalink) Old 10-18-2019, 12:33 PM - Thread Starter
New to Overclock.net
 
Join Date: Oct 2019
Posts: 2
Rep: 0
I checked and I saw what I saw. 3rd gen supports 3200MHz, 2nd gen only 2933MHz. But anyways, what will happen if I put there faster memory than the CPU should support?
JENYK KONYK is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #4 of 11 (permalink) Old 10-18-2019, 12:46 PM
sudo apt install sl
 
WannaBeOCer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Posts: 5,681
Rep: 178 (Unique: 123)
Quote: Originally Posted by JENYK KONYK View Post
I checked and I saw what I saw. 3rd gen supports 3200MHz, 2nd gen only 2933MHz. But anyways, what will happen if I put there faster memory than the CPU should support?
Any speed above the stated supported speed is considered overclocking. Good luck and hope you have a chip with a decent IMC.

Silent
(20 items)
CPU
Core i9 9900K... CoffeeTime! @ 5.1Ghz w/ 1.36v
Motherboard
Maximus VIII Formula
GPU
Radeon VII @ 2100Mhz/1250Mhz w/ 1218mV
RAM
TeamGroup Xtreem 32GB 3200Mhz CL15
Hard Drive
HP EX950 2TB
Hard Drive
Samsung 850 Evo 1TB
Hard Drive
Samsung 850 Evo 1TB
Power Supply
EVGA SuperNova 1200w P2
Cooling
EK Supremacy Full Copper Clean
Cooling
XSPC D5 Photon v2
Cooling
Black Ice Gen 2 GTX360 x2
Cooling
EK-Vector Radeon VII - Copper + Plexi
Case
Thermaltake Core X5 Tempered Glass Edition
Operating System
Clear Linux
Monitor
Acer XF270HUA
Keyboard
Cherry MX Board 6.0
Mouse
Logitech G600
Mouse
Alugraphics GamerArt
Audio
Definitive Technology Incline
Audio
SMSL M8A
▲ hide details ▲
WannaBeOCer is online now  
post #5 of 11 (permalink) Old 10-18-2019, 12:46 PM
Not New to Overclock.net
 
Diablosbud's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Location: The Infernal Gate
Posts: 1,681
Rep: 80 (Unique: 63)
The official support for Ryzen 2000 is only 2933 MHz. But that doesn't mean you can't run higher, it's just not guarunteed.

Worst case the 3200 MHz doesn't run and you just return it. But it will probably run fine.

CPU
AMD Ryzen 5 1600 3.875 GHz
Motherboard
ASUS Prime X370-Pro
GPU
EVGA GTX 1080 FTW2 2114 MHz 356 GB/s
RAM
G.SKILL 2x8GB 3126 MHz 12-13-13-32-1T 48 tRC
Hard Drive
Samsung 850 EVO 500 GB
Power Supply
Seasonic Platinum 660XP
Cooling
Noctua NH-D15
Cooling
2 x Cougar CF-V12HP Top Intake
Cooling
Noctua NF-F12 2000 RPM Rear Exhaust
Cooling
2 x Phanteks F140SP Front Intake
Cooling
Thermal Grizzly Kryonaut TIM
Case
Corsair Carbide Air 540
Operating System
Windows 10 Enterprise 64-bit
Monitor
ASUS MG279Q 1440p IPS 150 Hz OC
Keyboard
Ducky Shine 5 MX Brown
Mouse
Logitech G203 Prodigy
Audio
Schiit Asgard 2
Audio
OPPO PM-3
Audio
HIFIMAN HE-560
Audio
Cambridge DacMagic 100
CPU
AMD Phenom 9650 2.83 GHz
Motherboard
Foxconn A74MX-K
RAM
OCZ 1x1GB DDR2 533 MHz 5-4-4-15-1T 15 tRC
Hard Drive
Samsung 840 Pro 128 GB
Power Supply
OCZ StealthXStream 2 500W
Cooling
Ryzen Wraith + Zip Ties
Cooling
Corsair AF140 Quiet Edition
▲ hide details ▲


Diablosbud is offline  
post #6 of 11 (permalink) Old 10-18-2019, 12:48 PM
Retired Staff
 
JedixJarf's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Coruscant
Posts: 9,432
Rep: 305 (Unique: 244)
From what I've seen most chips will do 3200 on the mem.


JedixJarf is offline  
post #7 of 11 (permalink) Old 10-18-2019, 12:57 PM
New to Overclock.net
 
rdr09's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: From the US but lives in Africa
Posts: 18,774
Rep: 867 (Unique: 634)
I have a mdie 3200CL16 and bdie 3200 CL14 kits from gskill. Both can oc to 3733 CL16/CL14 on Gen1+ and Gen2 using DRAM Calculator. I use DOCP and set them at 3333 MHz.

2nd AMD Build
(10 items)
CPU
2700
Motherboard
X470
GPU
290
RAM
3200 CL14
Hard Drive
1000
Power Supply
700
Case
212
Operating System
10/64
Monitor
40 1080
Keyboard
M100
▲ hide details ▲
rdr09 is online now  
post #8 of 11 (permalink) Old 10-19-2019, 03:31 PM
New to Overclock.net
 
Join Date: Sep 2019
Posts: 29
Rep: 0
This kit works like a charm (samsung b die) i had them running 3333MHz cl 14 14 14 28 42 and tight subtimings on a First gen ryzen 1600x.
https://www.amazon.com/G-SKILL-Flare.../dp/B06XFT7DF9
Tapper is offline  
post #9 of 11 (permalink) Old 10-20-2019, 01:50 PM
New to Overclock.net
 
wingman99's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Posts: 3,588
Rep: 62 (Unique: 45)
Purchase some G.SKILL 3200 AMD memory, then overclock after testing a 3200 speed.

i5 8600K OC 5.0GHz
Noctua NH-U14S
Motherboard Gigabyte Z370-HD3
G.SKILL Ripjaws v 16GB F4-3200C14D-16GVK XMP Speed 3200 14-14-14-34
EVGA GeForce RTX 2070 XC ULTRA GAMING
ASUS VG279Q 27" 1920x1080p 144Hz IPS panel G-Sync compatible
wingman99 is online now  
post #10 of 11 (permalink) Old 10-22-2019, 05:54 PM
New to Overclock.net
 
Join Date: May 2014
Location: Australia Northern VIC
Posts: 357
Rep: 22 (Unique: 21)
Even 2933 is not guaranteed if you are running 2x16GB 4x8GB or worse yet 4x16GB but with a good MB and latest BIOS the odds are better than they were.
Dasa is offline  
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the Overclock.net - An Overclocking Community forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.
User Name:
If you do not want to register, fill this field only and the name will be used as user name for your post.
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.
Password:
Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.
Email Address:

Log-in



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off