2 x Dual channel memory on X99 - Overclock.net - An Overclocking Community

Forum Jump: 

2 x Dual channel memory on X99

 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 6 (permalink) Old 10-19-2019, 01:55 PM - Thread Starter
New to Overclock.net
 
Darylrese's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2011
Location: Portsmouth, United Kingdom
Posts: 4,080
Rep: 123 (Unique: 102)
Hi all...I have X99 motherboard and need to buy some new memory. If I buy a dual channel kit now and add another identical kit later on, will it run in quad channel on X99?

Strangely 2 x dual channel kits of the same memory is £160, where as the quad kit is £202 for the same memory capacity and speed. Is it really worth spending the extra £50 on the quad channel kit over 2 x dual?
Darylrese is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 6 (permalink) Old 10-19-2019, 02:00 PM
New to Overclock.net
 
skupples's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: Fort Lauderdale
Posts: 20,419
Rep: 588 (Unique: 329)
you shouldn't have much issue adding a second "identical" kit later (ICs could be different by then) as long as they're rated to the same speed, and you don't plan to OC beyond default xmp.

R.I.P. Zawarudo, may you OC angels' wings in heaven.
If something appears too good to be true, it probably is.
skupples is offline  
post #3 of 6 (permalink) Old 10-19-2019, 02:08 PM - Thread Starter
New to Overclock.net
 
Darylrese's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2011
Location: Portsmouth, United Kingdom
Posts: 4,080
Rep: 123 (Unique: 102)
Quote: Originally Posted by skupples View Post
you shouldn't have much issue adding a second "identical" kit later (ICs could be different by then) as long as they're rated to the same speed, and you don't plan to OC beyond default xmp.
Thanks! Nope, I just want to run at default XMP. The kits would be the same, just means I could get one now and another for Christmas for example just to split up the cost. Seems silly the quad channel kit of the same memory is £50 more aswell?
Darylrese is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #4 of 6 (permalink) Old 10-19-2019, 02:18 PM
New to Overclock.net
 
skupples's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: Fort Lauderdale
Posts: 20,419
Rep: 588 (Unique: 329)
that's strange, at least from my USA perspective.

how much more is it? Your mobile symbol isn't translating.

R.I.P. Zawarudo, may you OC angels' wings in heaven.
If something appears too good to be true, it probably is.
skupples is offline  
post #5 of 6 (permalink) Old 10-19-2019, 02:27 PM - Thread Starter
New to Overclock.net
 
Darylrese's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2011
Location: Portsmouth, United Kingdom
Posts: 4,080
Rep: 123 (Unique: 102)
Quote: Originally Posted by skupples View Post
that's strange, at least from my USA perspective.

how much more is it? Your mobile symbol isn't translating.
2 x 8GB 3200mhz 16GB is 84GBP
4 x 8GB 3200mhz 32GB is 202GBP

So two of them is a fair bit cheaper and equals the same, just not in 1 kit
Darylrese is offline  
post #6 of 6 (permalink) Old 10-19-2019, 07:32 PM
New to Overclock.net
 
D-EJ915's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Posts: 226
Rep: 7 (Unique: 7)
I've always gotten two of the same 2x stick kits for my quad channel and not had any problems yet.

Kanna
(13 items)
Dark X299
(7 items)
Mitty
(11 items)
CPU
Intel i7-7820X
Motherboard
Asrock X299 OC Formula
GPU
Asus Strix 1080 Ti
RAM
G.Skill DDR C14 3200MHz XMP 4x8GB
Hard Drive
Intel P3520 NVMe PCIE AIC 1.2TB
Power Supply
Seasonic X-1250 1250 Watt PSU
Cooling
NZXT Kraken 62
Case
NZXT S340
Operating System
Windows 10 x64
Monitor
Asus PA329Q 32" 4k 60Hz
Keyboard
Corsair K70 RGB Lux
Mouse
Logitech G600
Audio
HDMI to my Yamaha CX-A5000 preamplifier and studio monitors.
CPU
Intel i9-9900X
Motherboard
EVGA X299 Dark
GPU
EVGA Geforce GTX 1080 Ti
RAM
G.Skill 4x8GB C14 3200MHz
Hard Drive
Samsung Pro 840 250 GB
Power Supply
EVGA Supernova G3 1300
Cooling
Phanteks PH-TC14PE
CPU
Intel i7-3930k
Motherboard
Asrock Fatal1ty X79 Champion
GPU
EVGA GTX 780 Ti
RAM
Mushkin Redline
Hard Drive
WD Velociraptor
Optical Drive
Asus DVD±RW
Power Supply
Seasonic X-1250
Cooling
Corsair H100i V2
Case
Fractal ARC MIDI
Operating System
Windows 7 Pro x64
Audio
Asus Xonar DX
▲ hide details ▲
D-EJ915 is offline  
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the Overclock.net - An Overclocking Community forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.
User Name:
If you do not want to register, fill this field only and the name will be used as user name for your post.
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.
Password:
Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.
Email Address:

Log-in



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off