Bad memory slot on ASUS ROG Strix Z390-E Gaming MB - Overclock.net - An Overclocking Community

Forum Jump: 

Bad memory slot on ASUS ROG Strix Z390-E Gaming MB

 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 6 (permalink) Old 11-13-2019, 12:57 PM - Thread Starter
New to Overclock.net
 
Ripple's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: Underground
Posts: 157
Rep: 8 (Unique: 6)
Bad memory slot on ASUS ROG Strix Z390-E Gaming MB

I have a G.Skill DDR-4000 16GB kit that has been running fine for the past ten months but now I have been getting random MEMORY_MANAGEMENT BSOD errors so I tested both modules in slot A2 and passed MemTest86 twice with zero errors. Then tested with both in A2/B2 as recommended in the MB manual and resulted in 33 errors in the first 10 minutes of testing. Can I try both modules in B1/B2 slots? I found conflicting information in searching so I am asking now. Will this work? Thanks in advance.

Ripple is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 6 (permalink) Old 11-13-2019, 01:23 PM
Senior OCN Member
 
shilka's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: Denmark
Posts: 38,606
Rep: 2756 (Unique: 1635)
If you are getting lots of errors with RAM in one slot but not the others the RAM slot is probably broken or dying

Dumpster fire
(27 items)
Seravee
(19 items)
CPU
Ryzen 3700x
Motherboard
Asrock x570 Taichi
GPU
MSI RTX 2070 Super Gaming X Trio
RAM
G Skill TridentZ
Hard Drive
Corsair Force MP510 1,92 TB
Hard Drive
Seagate IronWolf Pro ST14000NE0008
Hard Drive
Seagate Ironwolf ST12000VN0007
Hard Drive
Seagate IronWolf Pro ST12000NE0007
Hard Drive
WD Ultrastar DC HC530 14 TB
Hard Drive
Seagate IronWolf Pro ST16000NE000
Power Supply
Seasonic Prime Ultra Titanium 750 watt
Cooling
Noctua NH-U12S Chromax
Case
Phanteks Luxe 2
Operating System
Windows 10 Home 64 bit
Monitor
Asus PG279Q
Monitor
LG 55C8
Keyboard
Corsair Strafe RGB MK.2 with Cherry MX Silent
Mouse
Roccat Kone EMP
Mousepad
HyperX Fury S XL
Audio
Onkyo TX NR646
Audio
RHA L1 Dacamp
Audio
Sennheiser HD 599
Audio
Dali E 12 F
Audio
2x Dali Opticon 1
Audio
2x Dali Opticon 2
Audio
Dali Opticon Vokal
Other
Vegas MBA 60cm LED Strip
CPU
Intel Core I7 6850K
Motherboard
Gigabyte X99 Ultra Gaming
GPU
GTX 1060 3 GB wth blower style cooler
RAM
Kingston HyperX DDR4 Savage 3000 MHz
Hard Drive
Samsung 840 Evo 500 GB
Hard Drive
Samsung 860 Evo 1 TB
Optical Drive
LG CH12NS30
Power Supply
EVGA SuperNova G2 750 watt
Cooling
Noctua NH-D15S
Case
Phanteks Enthoo Luxe Tempered Glass
Operating System
Windows 7 Ultimate 64 bit
Operating System
Windows 10 Home 64 bit
Monitor
LG 24MP59G-P
Keyboard
Corsair Gaming STRAFE RGB Mechanical
Mouse
Roccat Kone EMP
Mouse
Logitech MX518 Hero
Mousepad
Roccat Sense Metor
Audio
Sennheiser HD 598
Other
CableMod 30 CM Magnetic Red LED strip
▲ hide details ▲
shilka is offline  
post #3 of 6 (permalink) Old 11-14-2019, 01:00 PM
Hardware Rep
 
GSKILL SUPPORT's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2016
Posts: 102
Rep: 8 (Unique: 8)
Both modules worked fine with XMP Profile enabled in slot A2?

You can surely test A1 A2 and B1 B2, however that is only single channel so you would still need to test other hardware to see why A2 B2 is not working properly.

GSKILL SUPPORT is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #4 of 6 (permalink) Old 11-19-2019, 03:50 PM - Thread Starter
New to Overclock.net
 
Ripple's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: Underground
Posts: 157
Rep: 8 (Unique: 6)
Quote: Originally Posted by GSKILL SUPPORT View Post
Both modules worked fine with XMP Profile enabled in slot A2?

You can surely test A1 A2 and B1 B2, however that is only single channel so you would still need to test other hardware to see why A2 B2 is not working properly.
Yes, both modules worked fine in slot A2 with XMP Profile enabled. And both modules work fine in single channel mode. Not sure why dual channel is not working. Will test other hardware.

Thanks.

Ripple is offline  
post #5 of 6 (permalink) Old 11-19-2019, 04:12 PM
Hardware Rep
 
GSKILL SUPPORT's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2016
Posts: 102
Rep: 8 (Unique: 8)
Double check installation, reseat CPU and RAM.

Do you happen to have any other RAM to test with? With that you can rule out a memory issue to either motherboard or CPU. Unfortunately with these main components it resorts to trying another one for troubleshooting.

GSKILL SUPPORT is offline  
post #6 of 6 (permalink) Old 11-19-2019, 04:29 PM
New to Overclock.net
 
Join Date: Aug 2019
Location: Kentucky
Posts: 121
Rep: 4 (Unique: 4)
If you've recently changed the Ram on that board it could have damaged the slot. I have a Strix Z390 board that I had to RMA almost a month after a RAM upgrade and the board was only 4 or 5 months old.


I've also had memory issues on a Maximus board as well that I had to RMA the board over, it was a brand new board.


I know how to install RAM, tabs aligned, notch lined-up, straight down, even pressure until it clicks into place. I've never had a RAM issue with a MB until this year. I've been assembling computers off-and-on for 30 years now and have built 6 in the last 2 years alone, 4 Asus boards, an ASRock board, and a Gigabyte board. The two I had to RMA this year are the first I've ever had to do that with.



Asus quality seems to be lacking lately, and not just with their MBs. I know people that have been having issues with their routers as well.

Open Air Build
(13 items)
CPU
i9
Motherboard
ASUS ROG Strix Z390-H Gaming
GPU
MSI GEFORCE GTX1080 TI GAMING X 11G
RAM
Corsair Vengeance LPX DDR4 DRAM 3000MHz
Hard Drive
Samsung 970 EVO
Hard Drive
WD Blue
Power Supply
EVGA SuperNOVA
Cooling
All PrimoChill parts (Rad 360, Pumps D5, Fittings, and Acrylic Tubing), Byskey CPU&GPU Blocks
Case
Praxis Wet Bench
Operating System
Windows 10 Pro
Monitor
Asus Predrator
Other
Thermaltake Commander F6 Fan Controller
Other
DIY Sleeved Cables
▲ hide details ▲
smilinjohn is offline  
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the Overclock.net - An Overclocking Community forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.
User Name:
If you do not want to register, fill this field only and the name will be used as user name for your post.
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.
Password:
Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.
Email Address:

Log-in



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off