RAM won't work, no lights, MB says DRAM problem - Overclock.net - An Overclocking Community

Forum Jump: 

RAM won't work, no lights, MB says DRAM problem

Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 35 (permalink) Old 11-19-2019, 06:23 AM - Thread Starter
New to Overclock.net
 
skee9679's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2016
Posts: 26
Rep: 0
RAM won't work, no lights, MB says DRAM problem

Just finished upgrading to a Ryzen 7 3700X, Asus ROG Strix X570 MB, and Trident Z Neo DDR4-3600 RAM kit. Got everything put together, no issues, fired it up, the RAM won't light up, no MB beeps, and the LED indicated a DRAM problem on the motherboard lights and stays solid. Does this sound like a bad RAM kit or a bad motherboard to you guys? or should I RMA both of them?
skee9679 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 35 (permalink) Old 11-19-2019, 06:29 AM
Overclocking Enthusiast
 
ozlay's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: USA
Posts: 5,653
Rep: 276 (Unique: 219)
Try 1 stick at a time in different slots. And if that doesn't work. Try updating the bios using USB flashback.

In Loving Memory Of Kassandra

Kaby
Rikka
(9 items)
CPU
Intel I5-7600k
Motherboard
Asrock Z270M Extreme 4
GPU
Titan X
RAM
Gskill Royal
Hard Drive
970 Evo
Hard Drive
Optane 900p
Power Supply
Seasonic Prime Snow
Case
enthoo evolv matx tempered glass
Operating System
windows 10 pro
▲ hide details ▲


ozlay is offline  
post #3 of 35 (permalink) Old 11-19-2019, 06:34 AM
Senior OCN Member
 
shilka's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: Denmark
Posts: 38,607
Rep: 2756 (Unique: 1635)
As someone who just went through two broken Asus Crosshair VIII Hero X570 boards i would say it sounds like dead RAM slots just like my last Crosshair VIII Hero had
Got fed up with Asus and their poor quality control and went with an Asrock X570 Taichi instead

I bought the same CPU and RAM by the way

Dumpster fire
(27 items)
Seravee
(19 items)
CPU
Ryzen 3700x
Motherboard
Asrock x570 Taichi
GPU
MSI RTX 2070 Super Gaming X Trio
RAM
G Skill TridentZ
Hard Drive
Corsair Force MP510 1,92 TB
Hard Drive
Seagate IronWolf Pro ST14000NE0008
Hard Drive
Seagate Ironwolf ST12000VN0007
Hard Drive
Seagate IronWolf Pro ST12000NE0007
Hard Drive
WD Ultrastar DC HC530 14 TB
Hard Drive
Seagate IronWolf Pro ST16000NE000
Power Supply
Seasonic Prime Ultra Titanium 750 watt
Cooling
Noctua NH-U12S Chromax
Case
Phanteks Luxe 2
Operating System
Windows 10 Home 64 bit
Monitor
Asus PG279Q
Monitor
LG 55C8
Keyboard
Corsair Strafe RGB MK.2 with Cherry MX Silent
Mouse
Roccat Kone EMP
Mousepad
HyperX Fury S XL
Audio
Onkyo TX NR646
Audio
RHA L1 Dacamp
Audio
Sennheiser HD 599
Audio
Dali E 12 F
Audio
2x Dali Opticon 1
Audio
2x Dali Opticon 2
Audio
Dali Opticon Vokal
Other
Vegas MBA 60cm LED Strip
CPU
Intel Core I7 6850K
Motherboard
Gigabyte X99 Ultra Gaming
GPU
GTX 1060 3 GB wth blower style cooler
RAM
Kingston HyperX DDR4 Savage 3000 MHz
Hard Drive
Samsung 840 Evo 500 GB
Hard Drive
Samsung 860 Evo 1 TB
Optical Drive
LG CH12NS30
Power Supply
EVGA SuperNova G2 750 watt
Cooling
Noctua NH-D15S
Case
Phanteks Enthoo Luxe Tempered Glass
Operating System
Windows 7 Ultimate 64 bit
Operating System
Windows 10 Home 64 bit
Monitor
LG 24MP59G-P
Keyboard
Corsair Gaming STRAFE RGB Mechanical
Mouse
Roccat Kone EMP
Mouse
Logitech MX518 Hero
Mousepad
Roccat Sense Metor
Audio
Sennheiser HD 598
Other
CableMod 30 CM Magnetic Red LED strip
▲ hide details ▲
shilka is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #4 of 35 (permalink) Old 11-19-2019, 06:48 AM - Thread Starter
New to Overclock.net
 
skee9679's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2016
Posts: 26
Rep: 0
@ozlay : Thank you for the suggestion. I had thought of switching slots and trying one stick at a time, but it had not occurred to me that it could be a BIOS issue. I will give that a shot. @shilka : Sorry to hear about your troubles. I have never had a problem with Asus before, but there's a first for everything. On the other hand, I'm upgrading from an Asrock Killer Fatality 990FX MB; I had problems with it. Nothing catastrophic but the onboard LAN died and the VRMs and heatsinks were garbage, made overclocking tough. I ended up buying a little Intel PCI LAN card and running at stock speed and settings. How do you like the Trident Z Neo RAM so far?
skee9679 is offline  
post #5 of 35 (permalink) Old 11-19-2019, 06:55 AM
Senior OCN Member
 
shilka's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: Denmark
Posts: 38,607
Rep: 2756 (Unique: 1635)
Quote: Originally Posted by skee9679 View Post
@ozlay : Thank you for the suggestion. I had thought of switching slots and trying one stick at a time, but it had not occurred to me that it could be a BIOS issue. I will give that a shot. @shilka : Sorry to hear about your troubles. I have never had a problem with Asus before, but there's a first for everything. On the other hand, I'm upgrading from an Asrock Killer Fatality 990FX MB; I had problems with it. Nothing catastrophic but the onboard LAN died and the VRMs and heatsinks were garbage, made overclocking tough. I ended up buying a little Intel PCI LAN card and running at stock speed and settings. How do you like the Trident Z Neo RAM so far?
I have not had a chance to use the system yet because almost everything i bought has been broken or dead
Ordered most of the parts 3 weeks ago and i spent almost all that time going back and forth to the PC shop with broken and then broken replacement parts and its a 45 min bus ride each way

Ordered the Asrock X570 Taichi last monday because i got fed up with Asus and i just got a text from the shop a few min ago that said they finished all the testing i paid extra for
I will be picking up the 3700x the G Skill Trident Z Neo Asrock X570 Taichi tomorrow and since they said its ready for pickup i assume that the testing found no faults this time

Edit: Asus has gotten a lot worse over the last few years where Asrock has gotten a lot better

Dumpster fire
(27 items)
Seravee
(19 items)
CPU
Ryzen 3700x
Motherboard
Asrock x570 Taichi
GPU
MSI RTX 2070 Super Gaming X Trio
RAM
G Skill TridentZ
Hard Drive
Corsair Force MP510 1,92 TB
Hard Drive
Seagate IronWolf Pro ST14000NE0008
Hard Drive
Seagate Ironwolf ST12000VN0007
Hard Drive
Seagate IronWolf Pro ST12000NE0007
Hard Drive
WD Ultrastar DC HC530 14 TB
Hard Drive
Seagate IronWolf Pro ST16000NE000
Power Supply
Seasonic Prime Ultra Titanium 750 watt
Cooling
Noctua NH-U12S Chromax
Case
Phanteks Luxe 2
Operating System
Windows 10 Home 64 bit
Monitor
Asus PG279Q
Monitor
LG 55C8
Keyboard
Corsair Strafe RGB MK.2 with Cherry MX Silent
Mouse
Roccat Kone EMP
Mousepad
HyperX Fury S XL
Audio
Onkyo TX NR646
Audio
RHA L1 Dacamp
Audio
Sennheiser HD 599
Audio
Dali E 12 F
Audio
2x Dali Opticon 1
Audio
2x Dali Opticon 2
Audio
Dali Opticon Vokal
Other
Vegas MBA 60cm LED Strip
CPU
Intel Core I7 6850K
Motherboard
Gigabyte X99 Ultra Gaming
GPU
GTX 1060 3 GB wth blower style cooler
RAM
Kingston HyperX DDR4 Savage 3000 MHz
Hard Drive
Samsung 840 Evo 500 GB
Hard Drive
Samsung 860 Evo 1 TB
Optical Drive
LG CH12NS30
Power Supply
EVGA SuperNova G2 750 watt
Cooling
Noctua NH-D15S
Case
Phanteks Enthoo Luxe Tempered Glass
Operating System
Windows 7 Ultimate 64 bit
Operating System
Windows 10 Home 64 bit
Monitor
LG 24MP59G-P
Keyboard
Corsair Gaming STRAFE RGB Mechanical
Mouse
Roccat Kone EMP
Mouse
Logitech MX518 Hero
Mousepad
Roccat Sense Metor
Audio
Sennheiser HD 598
Other
CableMod 30 CM Magnetic Red LED strip
▲ hide details ▲
shilka is offline  
post #6 of 35 (permalink) Old 11-19-2019, 07:11 AM - Thread Starter
New to Overclock.net
 
skee9679's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2016
Posts: 26
Rep: 0
That sucks man, that's some bad luck there. I've got the same issue, Microcenter is on the other side of town from where I live, 40 minute drive. Really don't want to have to drive down there again if I can help it. And I hate that side of town too lol. If it does turn out to be a bad mobo I might just switch to a different manufacturer now that you're telling me that. Still not sure if I want to go with Asrock though, but I'll explore it. I've heard the MSI x570 boards are garbage though too, so not sure what I'd switch to.
skee9679 is offline  
post #7 of 35 (permalink) Old 11-19-2019, 08:18 AM
Senior OCN Member
 
shilka's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: Denmark
Posts: 38,607
Rep: 2756 (Unique: 1635)
Quote: Originally Posted by skee9679 View Post
That sucks man, that's some bad luck there. I've got the same issue, Microcenter is on the other side of town from where I live, 40 minute drive. Really don't want to have to drive down there again if I can help it. And I hate that side of town too lol. If it does turn out to be a bad mobo I might just switch to a different manufacturer now that you're telling me that. Still not sure if I want to go with Asrock though, but I'll explore it. I've heard the MSI x570 boards are garbage though too, so not sure what I'd switch to.
Only reason why i went with Asrock is because Asus and Asrock are the only two brands left that has 8 SATA ports on their boards MSI and Gigabyte does not have a single board with more than 6 SATA ports

Since i use my PC both as a gaming rig and as a home/media sever i already have 5 HDD´s and i will be buying more next year so i need more than just 6 SATA ports and i dont want to deal with having to buy a PCI-E board with SATA ports

If TRX40 was not such a bad platform for gaming and having so high a cost i should have gone with that since Gigabyte has a TRX40 board with 10 SATA ports
Edit: is the error you are getting the 0d error? if so you got a board with dead RAM slots

Dumpster fire
(27 items)
Seravee
(19 items)
CPU
Ryzen 3700x
Motherboard
Asrock x570 Taichi
GPU
MSI RTX 2070 Super Gaming X Trio
RAM
G Skill TridentZ
Hard Drive
Corsair Force MP510 1,92 TB
Hard Drive
Seagate IronWolf Pro ST14000NE0008
Hard Drive
Seagate Ironwolf ST12000VN0007
Hard Drive
Seagate IronWolf Pro ST12000NE0007
Hard Drive
WD Ultrastar DC HC530 14 TB
Hard Drive
Seagate IronWolf Pro ST16000NE000
Power Supply
Seasonic Prime Ultra Titanium 750 watt
Cooling
Noctua NH-U12S Chromax
Case
Phanteks Luxe 2
Operating System
Windows 10 Home 64 bit
Monitor
Asus PG279Q
Monitor
LG 55C8
Keyboard
Corsair Strafe RGB MK.2 with Cherry MX Silent
Mouse
Roccat Kone EMP
Mousepad
HyperX Fury S XL
Audio
Onkyo TX NR646
Audio
RHA L1 Dacamp
Audio
Sennheiser HD 599
Audio
Dali E 12 F
Audio
2x Dali Opticon 1
Audio
2x Dali Opticon 2
Audio
Dali Opticon Vokal
Other
Vegas MBA 60cm LED Strip
CPU
Intel Core I7 6850K
Motherboard
Gigabyte X99 Ultra Gaming
GPU
GTX 1060 3 GB wth blower style cooler
RAM
Kingston HyperX DDR4 Savage 3000 MHz
Hard Drive
Samsung 840 Evo 500 GB
Hard Drive
Samsung 860 Evo 1 TB
Optical Drive
LG CH12NS30
Power Supply
EVGA SuperNova G2 750 watt
Cooling
Noctua NH-D15S
Case
Phanteks Enthoo Luxe Tempered Glass
Operating System
Windows 7 Ultimate 64 bit
Operating System
Windows 10 Home 64 bit
Monitor
LG 24MP59G-P
Keyboard
Corsair Gaming STRAFE RGB Mechanical
Mouse
Roccat Kone EMP
Mouse
Logitech MX518 Hero
Mousepad
Roccat Sense Metor
Audio
Sennheiser HD 598
Other
CableMod 30 CM Magnetic Red LED strip
▲ hide details ▲

Last edited by shilka; 11-19-2019 at 01:50 PM.
shilka is offline  
post #8 of 35 (permalink) Old 11-19-2019, 09:44 AM - Thread Starter
New to Overclock.net
 
skee9679's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2016
Posts: 26
Rep: 0
Quote: Originally Posted by shilka View Post
Edit: is the error you are getting the 0d error? if so you got a board with dead RAM slots
Not sure what you mean by 0d error. I'm guessing you're referring to an error code that appears on the screen? In this case, the RAM does not light up as it should when the system powers on, no video appears, and there is no sound from the system speaker as one would expect during the POST to indicate a problem: the yellow Q-LED indicator on the upper right corner of the board lights and remains solid (there are 4; DRAM, CPU, VGA, and BOOT), which according to the manual indicates a problem with DRAM.
I'm hoping the BIOS flash works, but I'm fairly certain it won't. Two bad RAM sticks in one package seems highly unlikely. I could see one, that happens and has happened to me before, but not two. I also doubt the motherboard shipped with a BIOS version that wouldn't support memory that is on their QVL (it also shows it as compatible on G.Skill's "Ram Configurator"). My gut says dead slots. Now it's down to convincing my boss to cut me loose early to give me more time to tear my build apart and schlepp across town to exchange this turd.
skee9679 is offline  
post #9 of 35 (permalink) Old 11-19-2019, 09:50 AM
Senior OCN Member
 
shilka's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: Denmark
Posts: 38,607
Rep: 2756 (Unique: 1635)
Quote: Originally Posted by skee9679 View Post
Not sure what you mean by 0d error. I'm guessing you're referring to an error code that appears on the screen? In this case, the RAM does not light up as it should when the system powers on, no video appears, and there is no sound from the system speaker as one would expect during the POST to indicate a problem: the yellow Q-LED indicator on the upper right corner of the board lights and remains solid (there are 4; DRAM, CPU, VGA, and BOOT), which according to the manual indicates a problem with DRAM.
I'm hoping the BIOS flash works, but I'm fairly certain it won't. Two bad RAM sticks in one package seems highly unlikely. I could see one, that happens and has happened to me before, but not two. I also doubt the motherboard shipped with a BIOS version that wouldn't support memory that is on their QVL (it also shows it as compatible on G.Skill's "Ram Configurator"). My gut says dead slots. Now it's down to convincing my boss to cut me loose early to give me more time to tear my build apart and schlepp across town to exchange this turd.
The 0d error refereres to the number you get on the built in LED screen on the board if your board has one that is

The first C8H i got had a short circuited USB 3.0 headers so the board would just shut down after 15 seconds
The second C8H has two dead RAM slots i tried a really old 2133 MHz kit my 3000 MHz kit from the PC i have now and the brand new 3600 MHz and the board would give the 0d error no matter what

Took it out to the shop the guy at the counter just said its dead RAM slots and that he was tired of getting Asus boards with dead RAM slots so he just grabbed the board and took it out back
He came back about 5 min later and said yep dead RAM slots and with that i was done with Asus and asked for an Asrock X570 Taichi instead

Edit: if you dont want to give Asrock another go depite they have gotten better i would suggest Gigabyte instead

By the way that old Asrock board you have or had i had one about 10 years ago and it was god awful and that board was the reason i stopped buying Asrock and went to Asus and Gigabyte instead
Now we have come full circle and now its Asus that sucks and Asrock that are better

Dumpster fire
(27 items)
Seravee
(19 items)
CPU
Ryzen 3700x
Motherboard
Asrock x570 Taichi
GPU
MSI RTX 2070 Super Gaming X Trio
RAM
G Skill TridentZ
Hard Drive
Corsair Force MP510 1,92 TB
Hard Drive
Seagate IronWolf Pro ST14000NE0008
Hard Drive
Seagate Ironwolf ST12000VN0007
Hard Drive
Seagate IronWolf Pro ST12000NE0007
Hard Drive
WD Ultrastar DC HC530 14 TB
Hard Drive
Seagate IronWolf Pro ST16000NE000
Power Supply
Seasonic Prime Ultra Titanium 750 watt
Cooling
Noctua NH-U12S Chromax
Case
Phanteks Luxe 2
Operating System
Windows 10 Home 64 bit
Monitor
Asus PG279Q
Monitor
LG 55C8
Keyboard
Corsair Strafe RGB MK.2 with Cherry MX Silent
Mouse
Roccat Kone EMP
Mousepad
HyperX Fury S XL
Audio
Onkyo TX NR646
Audio
RHA L1 Dacamp
Audio
Sennheiser HD 599
Audio
Dali E 12 F
Audio
2x Dali Opticon 1
Audio
2x Dali Opticon 2
Audio
Dali Opticon Vokal
Other
Vegas MBA 60cm LED Strip
CPU
Intel Core I7 6850K
Motherboard
Gigabyte X99 Ultra Gaming
GPU
GTX 1060 3 GB wth blower style cooler
RAM
Kingston HyperX DDR4 Savage 3000 MHz
Hard Drive
Samsung 840 Evo 500 GB
Hard Drive
Samsung 860 Evo 1 TB
Optical Drive
LG CH12NS30
Power Supply
EVGA SuperNova G2 750 watt
Cooling
Noctua NH-D15S
Case
Phanteks Enthoo Luxe Tempered Glass
Operating System
Windows 7 Ultimate 64 bit
Operating System
Windows 10 Home 64 bit
Monitor
LG 24MP59G-P
Keyboard
Corsair Gaming STRAFE RGB Mechanical
Mouse
Roccat Kone EMP
Mouse
Logitech MX518 Hero
Mousepad
Roccat Sense Metor
Audio
Sennheiser HD 598
Other
CableMod 30 CM Magnetic Red LED strip
▲ hide details ▲

Last edited by shilka; 11-19-2019 at 12:04 PM.
shilka is offline  
post #10 of 35 (permalink) Old 11-19-2019, 11:56 AM - Thread Starter
New to Overclock.net
 
skee9679's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2016
Posts: 26
Rep: 0
That makes sense now. Unfortunately my board doesn't have the LED error code display, just the lights. I do wish I had another RAM kit to plug into this thing to see, but unfortunately all I have on hand for RAM other than the RAM in question is DDR3 or older.

I may give Asus one more shot, take the new board home and see if it works. Any more problems with Asus and I'm done with them. This is their first strike with me, so I feel bad cutting them off, but if it happens again, they're done lol. I'm going to start doing my research on the Asrock and Gigabyte now that you've been telling me they're better. Like you said, that Killer Fatality 990FX chipset board was god awful. It was why I didn't go back to them this time around. I'm pretty annoyed though that it didn't work out of the box. If I can talk them into a good deal I may just switch.
skee9679 is offline  
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the Overclock.net - An Overclocking Community forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.
User Name:
If you do not want to register, fill this field only and the name will be used as user name for your post.
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.
Password:
Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.
Email Address:

Log-in



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off