Can you make 3200Mhz CL16 Ram run at 3200Mhz CL14 on this Kit - Overclock.net - An Overclocking Community

Forum Jump: 

Can you make 3200Mhz CL16 Ram run at 3200Mhz CL14 on this Kit

 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 9 (permalink) Old 12-01-2019, 03:00 PM - Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Nov 2019
Posts: 543
Can you make 3200Mhz CL16 Ram run at 3200Mhz CL14 on this Kit

I want to know if its possible to takes 3200Mhz CL16 to 3200Mhz CL14 ? By Im guessing upping the voltage to 1.45 or something... Thanks a bunch!

CPU
INTEL 10980XE @ NO STOCK
Motherboard
GIGABYTE X299X AORUS MASTER
GPU
GIGABYTE WF RTX 2080
RAM
CORSAIR DOMINATOR PLATINUM RGB @ 64GB 3200 CL16 QUAD CHANNEL B-DIE
Hard Drive
CORSAIR MP510 960GB M.2 GEN 3 SAMSUNG 950 PRO M.2 500GB 850 PRO 500GB CRUCIAL M4 500GB LaCie EXTERNAL 2TB PORSCHE DESIGN & 500GB eSATA
Power Supply
CORSAIR AX1600i TITANIUM @ CORSAIR 330r BLACKOUT EDITION CASE
Cooling
CORSAIR H115i PRO RGB @ NOCTUA NF-14's INTAKE NF-14 EXHAUST NF-P12
Monitor
AOC 40" CURVED 4k LG 55" C9 OLED G-SYNC 120HZ
Keyboard
LOGITECH 915 LINEAR WIRELESS
Mouse
LOGITECH G PRO WIRELESS LIZZARD GRIP 3M TAPE
Mousepad
STEELSERIES SMALL
Audio
LOGITECH G935 WIRELESS SCARLETT 2i2 AUDIO INTERFACE KRK ROKITS 10-3 Gen4 & SENNHEISER HD 650 & 4.5.0 BTNC SL GRAND 88 MIDI Controller CAKEWALK BY BANDLAB
▲ hide details ▲
Turtle Rig is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 9 (permalink) Old 12-05-2019, 09:32 AM
New to Overclock.net
 
StAndrew's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Posts: 354
Rep: 20 (Unique: 12)
I'd say no. B-die or bust.

Asus Prime Z370, Intel 8700k @5.0Ghz, Nvidia GTX 1080 Ti, 16GB @3400 CL14, Watercooling: x2 MCP355 pumps, x1 280 on front of case, x1 360 on top of case, x1 140 on back of case, x1 240 on bottom of case
StAndrew is offline  
post #3 of 9 (permalink) Old 12-05-2019, 09:34 AM
Vermin Supreme 2020
 
skupples's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: Bradentucky
Posts: 25,510
Rep: 737 (Unique: 388)
seems unlikely, even if its bdie. unless you're a memory OC master, which very few are. Shart's 10x more complicated than playing with VCCIO. unlike CPUs, where you can get away with bumping core, and volts for an OK tier stable OC. Memory simply doesn't play that way. Thus why XMP even ever became a thing in the first place.

Add me on Steam, same name
R.I.P. Zawarudo, may you OC angels' wings in heaven.
If something appears too good to be true, it probably is.
skupples is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #4 of 9 (permalink) Old 12-05-2019, 09:39 AM
Overclocker in training
 
ThrashZone's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2017
Location: Texas
Posts: 12,368
Rep: 186 (Unique: 111)
Hi,
Simply no.

It the set were capable of c14 timings it would be sold as c14 not c16.

Nothing with c16 timings as 16-18-18.. is b-die bottom line been said quite a few times now

If the C16 set was 3600C16 you could run it as 3200C14 timings and no problem but why would you it's 3600C16
But you might be able to run 3200C14 14-14-14.. with 3600C16 timings 16-16-16...

And no before you ask 3466C16 is no different with the same crappy 16-18-18.. timings

CPU
i9-9940x With Optimus SigV2 and Heatkiller VRM copper-plexi water block
Motherboard
ASUS x299 Rampage VI Apex
GPU
Titan Xp with copper-plexi Water Block
RAM
Trident Z 3600C16 4x8gb's b-die default timings 16-16-16-36 F4-3600C16Q-32GTZKK
Hard Drive
Samsung 970 Evo Plus 500gb M.2/ Samsung 850 Pro 256gb for os and 500gb evo for favorite games plus other wd hdd's for data and backup's
Optical Drive
LG Blu-Ray WH16NS40
Power Supply
evga 1200p2
Cooling
D5 pump reservoir combo/ GTX280/ VRM block/ GTX280/ D5 top/ CPU block/ GPU block/ Mora 360/ repeat.
Cooling
MO-RA3 360 PRO stainless steel (25022)
Case
corsair 450D with added 2nd floor to house radiator on top
Operating System
Win-7 pro & 10 pro Win-7 Primary os.
Monitor
ASUS VG248QE 24" 144Hz
Keyboard
Logitech G910 Orion spectrum
Mouse
Redragon Perdition
Audio
Built in realtek and Insignia 2.0 soundbar HSB318
CPU
10900k batch # X016E724 with Optimus Foundation water block
Motherboard
z490 ASUS Maximus XII Apex
GPU
EVGA 1080ti FTW3 with Water block
RAM
Trident-Z 3600c16 4x8gb kit 16-16-16-36 F4-3600C16Q-32GTZSW
Hard Drive
Samsung 970 evo 500gb
Hard Drive
Samsung 970 Evo 500gb M.2/ Samsung 850 Pro 256gb for os and 500gb evo for favorite games plus other wd hdd's for data and backup's
Optical Drive
LG Blu-Ray WH16NS40
Power Supply
EVGA 1000P2
Cooling
D5 reservior combo/ 240GTX/ 240GTX/ D5 Top/ CPU block/ Gpu block/ Mora 360LT/ back to reservoir
Cooling
Mora 360LT black 25000
Case
Corsair 450D with added 2nd floor to house radiator on top
Keyboard
Logitech G710+
Mouse
Red Dragon Perdition
CPU
i7-5930k with Heatkiller IV Pro Plexi-Copper and koolance vrm water blocks
Motherboard
X99 Sabertooth
GPU
EVGA 1080ti FTW3 with Water block
RAM
Trident-Z 3200C14 4x8gb's b-die default timings 14-14-14-34
Hard Drive
Samsung 970 Evo 500gb M.2/ Samsung 850 Pro 256gb for os and 500gb evo for favorite games plus other wd hdd's for data and backup's
Optical Drive
LG Blu-Ray WH16NS40
Power Supply
EVGA 1000-P2
Cooling
D5 reservior combo/ 240GTX/ Koolance VRM block/ 240GTX/ D5 Top/ CPU block/ Gpu block/ Mora 360LT/ back to reservoir
Cooling
Mora 360LT black 25000
Case
Corsair 450D with added 2nd floor to house radiator on top
Operating System
Win-7 and 10 pro Win-7 Primary os.
Monitor
AOC G2460PG 24"G-Sync 144Hz
Keyboard
Logitech G710+
Mouse
Red Dragon Perdition
Audio
Built in realtek and Insignia 2.0 soundbar HSB318
▲ hide details ▲

Last edited by ThrashZone; 12-05-2019 at 09:43 AM.
ThrashZone is offline  
post #5 of 9 (permalink) Old 12-05-2019, 09:42 AM
Vermin Supreme 2020
 
skupples's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: Bradentucky
Posts: 25,510
Rep: 737 (Unique: 388)
yeah, idk what's so hard for a 42-49 year old grown ass man to digest https://benzhaomin.github.io/bdiefinder/

Add me on Steam, same name
R.I.P. Zawarudo, may you OC angels' wings in heaven.
If something appears too good to be true, it probably is.
skupples is offline  
post #6 of 9 (permalink) Old 12-05-2019, 10:13 AM
New to Overclock.net
 
Imprezzion's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: Gorredijk, Holland
Posts: 2,805
Rep: 111 (Unique: 96)
Complicated yet simple answer. Yes you can. Can any kit do it? No.

Can any B-die do it? Probably. It's a total luck of the draw.

Then again, to be honest, 3200CL14 is not exactly hard to achieve even on mediocre Hynix chips. I haven't had any kit that can't do CL14. Secondary timings might have to be loose like 14-17-17-35-500-1T but it will work if the lottery is kind to you.

Cars:
-Crashed: (not my fault ) '94 Nissan 100NX GA16DE (a.k.a. NX1600). Renault Laguna Phase I facelift '99 1.6 K4M. (Broke a strut and smacked a tree).
-Sold: '00 Nissan Primera P11-144 QG18DE, '97 Honda Prelude F20A4, 03 Ignis Sport.
-Current daily: '07 Ford Focus 1.6 Futura.
-Current funcars: '03 Peugeot 206CC 2.0 RFN fully riced and tuned (Turbo coming soon)
Looking for: Gen 4 or 5 Honda Prelude, >92 Toyota Celica or >90 MR2.
Full-On Rainbowbarf
(16 items)
P45 power!
(9 items)
CPU
i9 9900K @ 5.1Ghz 1.248v (VR VOut)
Motherboard
MSI MEG Z390 ACE
GPU
RTX 2080 Ti Phoenix GS + G12 & Kraken X52 @ 2130/8100 1.093v (EVGA FTW3 BIOS)
RAM
Corsair Vengeance RGB B-Die @ 4200 16-17-17-34-320-2T 1.54v
Hard Drive
Samsung 850 EVO 500GB x2
Hard Drive
Samsung 970 Evo 1TB
Power Supply
Seasonic Prime Ultra Gold 1000w
Cooling
EK MLC-Phoenix 280 Kit
Case
Phanteks Enthoo Evolv X
Operating System
Windows 10 Pro X64
Monitor
Samsung S27B350H @ 1080p 75Hz OC
Monitor
Iiyama GB2788HS @ 144Hz
Keyboard
Logitech G710+
Mouse
Trust GXT31
Mousepad
Corsair MM300 Large
Audio
Steelseries Siberia V2
CPU
Intel Core 2 Quad Q6600 G0 @ 3Ghz (333x9)
Motherboard
MSI P45 Neo2-FR
GPU
MSI GTX760 Gaming X
RAM
6GB completely random 1 and 2GB sticks. All 4 different ones.
Hard Drive
A-Data 120GB SSD
Power Supply
AOpen 350w
Cooling
Some huge aluminum Xeon heatsink
Case
Cartboard box.
Operating System
W10 Pro x64
CPU
Intel Xeon E3-1270v1 @ 3.8Ghz
Motherboard
ASUS P8H61-i R2.0
GPU
Sapphire R9 280X Vapor-X @ 1230Mhz core.
RAM
16GB Kingston HyperX Savage 2400CL11 @ 1333CL6
Hard Drive
Kingston 240GB SSD
Power Supply
Corsair CX600
Cooling
Corsair H110i GTX
Case
Custom open test bench made from a cut-up CM690 v1
Operating System
W10 Pro X64
Monitor
Samsung 23" cheap thing
Keyboard
Cheapest one Aldi had
Mouse
Cheapest one Aldi had
Mousepad
The desk...
▲ hide details ▲
Imprezzion is offline  
post #7 of 9 (permalink) Old 06-30-2020, 08:21 AM
New to Overclock.net
 
Join Date: Jun 2020
Posts: 1
Rep: 0
I own 3200 CL 16 B-die

My lying eyes, I own a 3200 Cl 16 B-die kit. Whoever been said that, you are dead wrong.

ThrashZone: "Nothing with c16 timings as 16-18-18.. is b-die bottom line been said quite a few times now"
bodasactra is offline  
post #8 of 9 (permalink) Old 07-02-2020, 08:48 AM
New to Overclock.net
 
fra z's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2016
Posts: 883
Rep: 4 (Unique: 4)
Quote: Originally Posted by Turtle Rig View Post
I want to know if its possible to takes 3200Mhz CL16 to 3200Mhz CL14 ? By Im guessing upping the voltage to 1.45 or something... Thanks a bunch!
Hello,

I suppose it depends on the quality of the die you've got and what options you've got in the BIOS to tinker with! - Example, I'm starting to test some Crucial Ballistix 3600 Mhz rated @ 16_18_18_xx - (I think)_but I've managed to get it to boot up @ 15_16_16_xx (@_14_16_16_xx_there was no boot)__

15_15_15_xx was also attempted but did not boot (maybe more v-dim_it might)_or_a higher "final number" which I forget the parameter name because I'm not an OC master! so currently 16_18_18_xx_ has become 15_16_16_xx __subject to testing!

@_3866_on the Z170 Pro Gaming i7 there was boot @ 17_18_18 albeit with 660 clocks which may reduce a little____this did survive P95_29.4 for 32 minutes as a "will-it-won't-it" type of test !

So it depends on the RAM and the bios of the board - Have a go and change the primary timings.

Looking at the G-Skill website for the 3200 Mhz DDR4 Trident-Z - the 16_18_18 maybe a Hynix die ??? (I'm not sure but you need to test this out)_to see where the limit is, then you'll know
fra z is offline  
post #9 of 9 (permalink) Old 07-03-2020, 10:41 AM
New to Overclock.net
 
Join Date: Aug 2019
Posts: 410
Rep: 9 (Unique: 8)
My [email protected] can run [email protected] with some extra voltage so I definitely say yes. Depends on your memory though my last [email protected] kit couldn't do [email protected] with 1.5v even.
2600ryzen is online now  
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the Overclock.net - An Overclocking Community forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.
User Name:
If you do not want to register, fill this field only and the name will be used as user name for your post.
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.
Password:
Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.
Email Address:

Log-in



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off