New build single or dual channel memory? - Overclock.net - An Overclocking Community

Forum Jump: 

New build single or dual channel memory?

Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 24 (permalink) Old 12-03-2019, 02:05 AM - Thread Starter
New to Overclock.net
 
sd_dracula's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Ireland
Posts: 397
Rep: 1 (Unique: 1)
New build single or dual channel memory?

I have just put together a new 9700k build with a Gigabyte Aorus ELite mobo, 2 x 8 GB Corsair Vengeance 3200mhz DDR4 and a most massive noctua nh-d15 chromax black cooler inside a Corsair 450D case.
A bit of a conundrum however due to the cooler, when I put both fans on it it covers exactly 2 of the memory slots and my RAM sticks can only go in the B1 and B2 locations (can't see how this noctua design isn't affecting 90% of the boards out there)
As soon as I booted it up the bios said I should use A1 and B1 for a proper dual channel setup or performance is lost.

The way I see it there are three options:

1. Remove the first fan and leave the middle one only on the cpu cooler and then I can use A1/B1 slots but also lose on cooling a little (I also have a Noctua NF-P12 Redux exhaust fan at the rear of the case and 2 x Noctua nf-p14s-redux intake fans at the front)
2. Replace my 2 x 8GB sticks with just one 16GB stick and run single channel vs dual, this time possibly losing on performance (if gaming is not affected then I don't really care)
3. Do nothing and leave the 2 x 8GB sticks in single channel mode as they currently are.

What do you guys think?


Last edited by sd_dracula; 12-03-2019 at 02:13 AM.
sd_dracula is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 24 (permalink) Old 12-03-2019, 02:18 AM
New to Overclock.net
 
Join Date: Dec 2018
Posts: 343
Rep: 6 (Unique: 6)
Can't you just move the fan up like this to have some clearance for ram slots?


Ryzen gen.3
(6 items)
CPU
Ryzen 5 3600
Motherboard
ASRock X370 Taichi
GPU
Palit GTX 1080 GameRock
RAM
Corsair Vengeance LPX
Hard Drive
Intel 760p
Case
Fractal Design Define R5
▲ hide details ▲
garych is offline  
post #3 of 24 (permalink) Old 12-03-2019, 02:30 AM
The last VRM burner
 
Join Date: Mar 2018
Posts: 1,880
Rep: 34 (Unique: 19)
Buy a 120mm fan. Single Channel affects gaming as well. https://www.purepc.pl/pamieci_ram/te...cl18?page=0,15

PC for all
(21 items)
CPU
i7 5775c @4.2GHz/3.8GHz
Motherboard
Gigabyte Z97X Gaming 5
GPU
Soon to be 2070 Super FE
RAM
KHX24C11T3K2/16X 11-12-12-32-1T-250
Hard Drive
Corsair MP510
Hard Drive
Samsung Evo 860
Power Supply
SeaSonic Focus Plus 750W
Cooling
Raijintek Tisis lapped+ Thermal Grizzly Kryonaut
Cooling
Arctic P12 PWM x2
Cooling
Arctic P14 x4
Case
LianLi 330X
Operating System
Windows 10 64-bit Pro
Monitor
Samsung C24FG73FQUX
Monitor
Benq GL2250 80Hz
Keyboard
Corsair Strafe Red Silent
Mouse
SteelSeries Rival 600
Mousepad
Artisan FX Raiden
Audio
Audio in Motion SC808 + MUSES8820 + 2x 2xLME49990
Audio
AKG M220
Other
NZXT Hue+
Other
Mayflash F300 Arcade Stick
▲ hide details ▲
BroadPwns is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #4 of 24 (permalink) Old 12-03-2019, 03:34 AM
New to Overclock.net
 
8051's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2014
Posts: 2,953
Rep: 25 (Unique: 19)
If he were to go w/a single channel of RAM would that make it easier to achieve higher RAM overclocks?
8051 is offline  
post #5 of 24 (permalink) Old 12-03-2019, 03:38 AM
New to Overclock.net
 
8051's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2014
Posts: 2,953
Rep: 25 (Unique: 19)
Quote: Originally Posted by BroadPwns View Post
Buy a 120mm fan. Single Channel affects gaming as well. https://www.purepc.pl/pamieci_ram/te...cl18?page=0,15
It's weird that 4x DIMM configurations take the top three spots.
8051 is offline  
post #6 of 24 (permalink) Old 12-03-2019, 03:48 AM
New to Overclock.net
 
Join Date: Dec 2019
Posts: 5
Rep: 0
Quote: Originally Posted by 8051 View Post
If he were to go w/a single channel of RAM would that make it easier to achieve higher RAM overclocks?
No. Using single channel simply cuts in half rate of accessing RAM. Have to access one bank at a time and do two sequential accesses to get the same amount of data. Each bank still needs the same time to recover from a fetch.
Zver1 is offline  
post #7 of 24 (permalink) Old 12-03-2019, 03:50 AM
New to Overclock.net
 
Join Date: Dec 2018
Posts: 343
Rep: 6 (Unique: 6)
Quote: Originally Posted by 8051 View Post
It's weird that 4x DIMM configurations take the top three spots.
Because the system used in that test is on x299 platform and has 4 channel memory support, of course it will be faster.

Ryzen gen.3
(6 items)
CPU
Ryzen 5 3600
Motherboard
ASRock X370 Taichi
GPU
Palit GTX 1080 GameRock
RAM
Corsair Vengeance LPX
Hard Drive
Intel 760p
Case
Fractal Design Define R5
▲ hide details ▲
garych is offline  
post #8 of 24 (permalink) Old 12-03-2019, 03:57 AM
The last VRM burner
 
Join Date: Mar 2018
Posts: 1,880
Rep: 34 (Unique: 19)
Quote: Originally Posted by garych View Post
Because the system used in that test is on x299 platform and has 4 channel memory support, of course it will be faster.

This.


But there are also some documented claims that going for 4 sticks on Ryzen improves its performance as well. There was no analyse of why is it happening so I'd take that with a grain of salt.

PC for all
(21 items)
CPU
i7 5775c @4.2GHz/3.8GHz
Motherboard
Gigabyte Z97X Gaming 5
GPU
Soon to be 2070 Super FE
RAM
KHX24C11T3K2/16X 11-12-12-32-1T-250
Hard Drive
Corsair MP510
Hard Drive
Samsung Evo 860
Power Supply
SeaSonic Focus Plus 750W
Cooling
Raijintek Tisis lapped+ Thermal Grizzly Kryonaut
Cooling
Arctic P12 PWM x2
Cooling
Arctic P14 x4
Case
LianLi 330X
Operating System
Windows 10 64-bit Pro
Monitor
Samsung C24FG73FQUX
Monitor
Benq GL2250 80Hz
Keyboard
Corsair Strafe Red Silent
Mouse
SteelSeries Rival 600
Mousepad
Artisan FX Raiden
Audio
Audio in Motion SC808 + MUSES8820 + 2x 2xLME49990
Audio
AKG M220
Other
NZXT Hue+
Other
Mayflash F300 Arcade Stick
▲ hide details ▲
BroadPwns is offline  
post #9 of 24 (permalink) Old 12-03-2019, 04:01 AM
OG AMD
 
Redwoodz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Silicon Valley
Posts: 8,457
Rep: 588 (Unique: 461)
Quote: Originally Posted by Zver1 View Post
No. Using single channel simply cuts in half rate of accessing RAM. Have to access one bank at a time and do two sequential accesses to get the same amount of data. Each bank still needs the same time to recover from a fetch.
Yes and no. Yes in general single dimms will always clock higher than 2 dimms, 2 dimms will always clock higher than 4.

However that does not mean the rest of the system(imc,mobo) can clock higher. If you can max out the system they will be the same.
Single channel gets stomped by dual channel even if it is clocked higher.

The Corsair 450D should have enough cpu cooler clearance to move the first fan up enough to install dimm under it, that is how most users use the Noctua NH D15.

https://valid.x86.fr/cache/banner/4d8m5e-6.png
AMD Athlon II 450 @4.74GHz http://valid.canardpc.com/show_oc.php?id=2204588
AMD MaxxMemm Rankings
960T @ 4.6GHz http://valid.canardpc.com/show_oc.php?id=2171450
RedwoodCustomPC
AM4
(4 items)
RCPC#1
(17 items)
Professional
(13 items)
CPU
Ryzen 2200G
Motherboard
ASRock X470 Taichi
GPU
MSI RX570 Armor MKII 8GB
Power Supply
GSKill Ripjaws PS850G
CPU
AMD Phenom II X6 960T
Motherboard
Asus M4A88T-VEVO
GPU
Asus Strix R7 370
RAM
SuperTalent Perfomance
RAM
GSkill Snipers
Hard Drive
Monster Daytona
Hard Drive
Seagate Barracuda 500GB 7,200 RPM 16Mb cache
Optical Drive
Memorex DVD/RW
Power Supply
Corsair GS500
Cooling
Corsair H60
Case
In Win H-Frame
Operating System
Windows 8N
Monitor
IBM 9494 19" LCD
Keyboard
IBM
Mouse
OCZ Behemoth
Mouse
Wolfking
Audio
JBL Creature
CPU
Phenom II X6 1100t
Motherboard
MSI 890FX GD65
GPU
MSI Radeon HD5670
RAM
GSkill RipjawsX DDR3 PC3 12800 2x4GB CL8
Hard Drive
WD Black 1TB SATA III
Optical Drive
Samsung BD
Power Supply
Kingwin Lazer Platinum 500w
Cooling
Zalman 9900MAX
Case
Fractal Design R3
Operating System
Windows 7 64 Professional
Monitor
AOC 22" LED
Keyboard
Logitech
Other
Samsung 470 SSD 128GB
▲ hide details ▲


Redwoodz is offline  
post #10 of 24 (permalink) Old 12-03-2019, 05:01 AM
New to Overclock.net
 
deepor's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Posts: 4,779
Rep: 475 (Unique: 321)
@sd_dracula :

Your idea (1) about using just the middle fan is the best one. In my experience with an NH-D14, the cooler has practically the same cooling performance when you skip the second fan, so don't feel bad about not using it.

Your (2) and (3) single channel idea is kind of terrible. Your memory bandwidth is cut into half that way. That said, in many real programs there's no performance difference, but there are examples like video work where you lose something around 5%. I guess that would be like dropping from a 5.0GHz to a 4.8GHz overclock?

Maybe your case has a good, free spot for a case fan where you could put the unused fan? Like, you could put it as an intake or exhaust onto the top panel. Intake would maybe work in the forward spot at the top panel, and exhaust in the spot towards the back.
deepor is online now  
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the Overclock.net - An Overclocking Community forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.
User Name:
If you do not want to register, fill this field only and the name will be used as user name for your post.
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.
Password:
Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.
Email Address:

Log-in



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off